[Release] Windows Media Connect 2

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

[Release] Windows Media Connect 2

Post by orcoxp » Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:19 pm

EDIT: Pack seems to be working now...feel free to test it.
http://rapidshare.de/files/7662249/Addo ... P.cab.html
I have created the pack and it seems to work...almost.

The files are copied and the shortcut is created but the program doesn't work.

After an install is seems to take two commands to repair it.

WMCCDS.EXE /INSTALL
REGSVR32 %PATH%\WMCSCI.DLL

These commands are in the INF file but they don't seem to work.

I have looked at the WMP pack but I can seem to determine what Booogy did to resolve the WMPBAND.DLL problem.

Here is my current pack...
http://rapidshare.de/files/7662249/Addo ... P.cab.html

Can someone maybe provide me some assistance on this?
NOTE: THIS PACK REQUIRES WMFDIST TO WORK...WMF COMES WITH the WMP10 ADDON PACK
Last edited by orcoxp on Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:18 am, edited 3 times in total.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Nov 13, 2005 4:52 pm

bump
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:03 pm

Well the last time I installed it seems to have worked for some reason...maybe it was a problem with the WMP10 pack...that's the only thing that's changed.

Nice to know that I am the only one interested in this thread
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

tbone2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:04 am
Contact:

Post by tbone2 » Tue Nov 15, 2005 3:49 am

how did i miss this post? could I try your cab? links broken

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:56 am

Updated first post
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:35 am

Has anyone had a chance to test this on a live system?
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:58 pm

the download from MS site is about 6.5 mb ..how cum the addon is so small..

User avatar
warrior1109
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by warrior1109 » Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:16 pm

orcoxp wrote:Has anyone had a chance to test this on a live system?
I do ALL testing on live system, this addon seems to be working so far without any problems.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:10 am

the download from m$ site contains also wmfdist.exe which is more then 5mb....so thats why the addon is so small.............

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:23 am

ok thx mate.. just installing and testing in vmare

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:02 pm

I haven't been able to get this one to run, but I also haven't spent a ton of time troubleshooting it. Can anyone tell me if the UPnP service must be running in order to run this?

It does install without incident and the Control Panel applet shows up as well.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:07 am

No it does not...but I did notice that the wmfdist has to be installed so make sure you are using the WMP10 pack also.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Nov 27, 2005 5:44 pm

Thanks orcoxp. Btw, Ryan will include WMC2 in his next version of the WMP10 Addon (> 2.0).

yingkit2005
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:10 am

Post by yingkit2005 » Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:04 am

orcoxp wrote:No it does not...but I did notice that the wmfdist has to be installed so make sure you are using the WMP10 pack also.
i think that you don't need to do this pack addons
because Microsoft was released new hotfix on this and it can integrate to windows xp cd!

Hotfix (KB909993) 8) Download:

Download Windows Media Connect 2.0(KB909993)

More detail

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:35 am

is the same and it was released on oct 14th........
and also if u want this addon u need either to install wmfdist or wmp 10....

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Dec 03, 2005 3:28 pm

removed
Last edited by boooggy on Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:18 pm

boooggy wrote:i modified your addon a little bit and add a shortcut just where the installer is creating it.
so here is the download link:
WMC2_Addons.cab
hash: B53CBF9413FDC76F427CFC43CFBF79A7
This one`s dos compatible too!

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:15 am


Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:06 am

Ok will add it thx ViVa.

Edit,
Hmm... before adding it, does it work?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 am

Haven't tested it myself yet, will do as soon as Update Pack 2.0.2 is released. Anyways, on second thought, Ryan said he would include this one to his next WMP10 addon, but might still come in handy for those who don't want to include WMP10.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:28 am

If it works it`s in :)

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:07 pm

I think it does work. I have used it previously without any problems as far as I can remember.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:34 pm

Ok sig on your head be it :P

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Thu Dec 22, 2005 2:15 am

just has to be used WITH WMP10 pack...I removed the WMFdist stuff
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Dec 22, 2005 4:37 am

Maybe a note in the first post then orc ;)

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:18 am

done
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

Post Reply