[Addon] Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20131008

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

[Addon] Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20131008

Postby user_hidden » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:37 pm

Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20131008

includes:
dotNet Framework 2.0 SP2
KB958481 - Application Compatibility Update
KB976569 - Update for the .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 forward compatibility
KB976576 - Rollup Update
KB976765 - ASP.NET update
KB980773 - NCL update
KB2604092 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Remote Code Execution
KB2729450 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Remote Code Execution
KB2742596 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Elevation of Privilege
KB2789643 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Elevation of Privilege
KB2833940 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework and Silverlight Could Allow Remote Code Execution
KB2836941v2 - Compatibility and Reliability Update
KB2844285v2 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework and Silverlight Could Allow Remote Code Execution
KB2863239 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Spoofing

===================================

SVCpack addon which will install at T13 in SILENT mode.( -ai switch used )

Link: Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20131008.7z
CRC-32: b4d38f71
MD4: 0ce72120991fdb848470bf8d499dd698
MD5: 249ff15cc40de6e89f3c0dfa56a3432b
SHA-1: 27dbfda14eb17441f769f46a1e40eaeec4fd6833
Date: 20131008
OS: Windows XP SP3 (x86)
Size: 16.8 MB

If you unpack the Addon to get access to the multimode installer you'll have access to the following switches:
-ai = Silent
-ai1 = Passive
/h = displays help

===================================
Some utilities:
Aaron Stebner's .NET Framework Cleanup Utility
Aaron Stebner's .NET Framework Setup Verification Tool
dotNetFWVersionChecker.exe - .NET Framework Setup Verification Tool
Free DotNet VersionCheck Utility
===================================
Last edited by user_hidden on Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:16 am, edited 34 times in total.
User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Postby compstuff » Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:26 pm

Hi user... I just used the .exe installer and got a script error message for line 94 character 1
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:30 pm

compstuff wrote:Hi user... I just used the .exe installer and got a script error message for line 94 character 1


try and redownload the link was pointing to a beta release hopefully i added the correct one now ! :rolleyes:
User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Postby compstuff » Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:29 am

From what I have read so far this seems to be a problem update the MS released... your latest version no longer has the script error but I have tried to use it on 2 different existing systems with the same results... the .exe runs but then does nothing yet shows in task manager as a process with no CPU usage and of course MSU shows it not installed... should it work when run this way? ... an of course thanks for this work :-)
richy759
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:18 pm

Postby richy759 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:39 am

compstuff wrote:From what I have read so far this seems to be a problem update the MS released... your latest version no longer has the script error but I have tried to use it on 2 different existing systems with the same results... the .exe runs but then does nothing yet shows in task manager as a process with no CPU usage and of course MSU shows it not installed... should it work when run this way? ... an of course thanks for this work :-)

Same here,
Rich
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:31 pm

updated 20091021 ....
silentphantom
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:11 am

Postby silentphantom » Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:21 am

After doing a fresh install in a virtual machine I used the .NET installer and I'm having the same problem as richy759 and compstuff. After the installation routine is extracted it just sits there in the process list doing nothing. I used the 20091021 version.
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:21 am

silentphantom wrote:After doing a fresh install in a virtual machine I used the .NET installer and I'm having the same problem as richy759 and compstuff. After the installation routine is extracted it just sits there in the process list doing nothing. I used the 20091021 version.


are you using the addon or standalone installer?
if the installer what switch?

they both work fine here, so i need to know if any others are having this issue.
silentphantom
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:11 am

Postby silentphantom » Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:48 pm

I'm using the standalone installer using all three ways I can think of. I double click the file and click yes to install, run it from the command line with the -ai option, or run it from the command line with the ai1 option. All end up doing nothing.
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:02 pm

silentphantom wrote:I'm using the standalone installer using all three ways I can think of. I double click the file and click yes to install, run it from the command line with the -ai option, or run it from the command line with the ai1 option. All end up doing nothing.


-ai would have no display and completely silent.
-ai1 would have display of progress by each installer.

are you trying this on a running system?
if so download Aaron Stebner's Cleanup Tool and remove dotNet20, reboot then try the install again. errant reg entries from failed installs
may remain which can screw some things up.

anyone else having issues as i see the downloads but no comment?
want to know if this is happening to anyone else.
silentphantom
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:11 am

Postby silentphantom » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:06 pm

user_hidden wrote:are you trying this on a running system?


That's weird. It's working just fine if I run it on my regular system, but doesn't work at all if I use it in a virtual machine. Any idea why this is?
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:55 pm

silentphantom wrote:
user_hidden wrote:are you trying this on a running system?


That's weird. It's working just fine if I run it on my regular system, but doesn't work at all if I use it in a virtual machine. Any idea why this is?


couldn't tell you.
i use Virtualbox and have no issues.

so glad there is no problem with the installer.
silentphantom
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:11 am

Postby silentphantom » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:55 pm

I'm using the latest version of Virtualbox to test it out, maybe that could be the problem for me. Which version are you using?
silentphantom
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:11 am

Postby silentphantom » Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:09 am

Now I'm stumped. I went through the virtual machine settings and the only thing I changed was enabling 3d video acceleration. Now the installer works fine. Weird.

Thanks for all of your hard work! :D
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:42 am

silentphantom wrote:I'm using the latest version of Virtualbox to test it out, maybe that could be the problem for me. Which version are you using?


version 3.08 actually the installer i posted :)

make sure 3D is OFF on the video, that seems to screw things up or is a vbox bug.
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Install screws subsequent MSI installations

Postby kalgon » Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:40 am

Hi,

for my part, when this package is installed during unattended setup, some other MSI-based installations fail (like openoffice, paint.net). When I don't install it during unattended, everything goes fine.

I used to install 5657 before and never had that kind of problem but it's not been updated for a long time now.

any idea?

thanks!
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Re: Install screws subsequent MSI installations

Postby user_hidden » Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:51 am

kalgon wrote:Hi,

for my part, when this package is installed during unattended setup, some other MSI-based installations fail (like openoffice, paint.net). When I don't install it during unattended, everything goes fine.

I used to install 5657 before and never had that kind of problem but it's not been updated for a long time now.

any idea?

thanks!


are you integrating at T13 or ROE?
which update pack are you using?
what other addons?
tell us more to try and help.

you do realize that .net20 would have to be installed before paint.net.

this is only a .net20 installer you are comparing it to a link of the family installer by jd76, NOT the same product.

here is a link to my .net3.5SP1 family installer: Microsoft .NET Framework V3.5 SP1 FULL 1.07 - 20091020
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Postby kalgon » Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:03 am

user_hidden wrote:are you integrating at T13 or ROE?
which update pack are you using?
what other addons?
tell us more to try and help.

you do realize that .net20 would have to be installed before paint.net.

this is only a .net20 installer you are comparing it to a link of the family installer by jd76, NOT the same product.

here is a link to my .net3.5SP1 family installer: Microsoft .NET Framework V3.5 SP1 FULL 1.07 - 20091020

Hi,

I'm currently using 4 addons at T13: Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20091021, XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack_1.1.1_20091014, DirectX9.0c and TweakUI. The rest (openoffice, firefox, paint.net...) is installed at T12 (cmdlines.txt). I'm also installing Addon_Microsoft.Net_30SP2.35SP1_ROE_20091020 at ROE but it's not relevant for my problem as the error occurs before that stage.

Since I ditched DotNetFx_All_In_1_Addon_v2.4 (which includes .net11, .net20, .net30 and .net35 but not with their latest SP) in favor of Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20091021, installing openoffice and paint.net fails (not because .net20 runtime is not present but because something is wrong when installing msi's... for the record, I tried the same install without Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20091021 and, there, paint.net complained about the missing runtime while openoffice installed normally).

I know DotNetFx_All_In_1_Addon_v2.4 and Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20091021 are very different products but I find it weird that only msi-based installs are affected. Could the addon raise an error that would leave the msi system in a state that would prevent other installs to complete normally?

thanks a lot!
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:15 pm

@Kalgon

the .net has nada to do with msi installs.

you mention a runtime error.....
you should perhaps add a runtime's addon during integration.
i use the following one: Kels' Runtimes v5.8

perhaps have your integration run at ROE:

Microsoft .NET Framework V3.5 SP1 FULL 1.07 - 20091020
Paint.net
Oppenoffice
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Postby kalgon » Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:34 pm

user_hidden wrote:@Kalgon

the .net has nada to do with msi installs.

you mention a runtime error.....
you should perhaps add a runtime's addon during integration.
i use the following one: Kels' Runtimes v5.8

perhaps have your integration run at ROE:

Microsoft .NET Framework V3.5 SP1 FULL 1.07 - 20091020
Paint.net
Oppenoffice


OK, I'll try installing Kel's Runtimes... maybe they are somehow packaged with the addon I was using and are needed for paint and openoffice.

for the rest, I can assure you paint.net and openoffice are installed at T12 (the installer pops up with an error in the windows install blue screen with progress bar).

Thanks!
User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby mr_smartepants » Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:38 am

RogueSpear found an issue between OpenOffice and .NET (I think) but I can't remember what it was. IIRC, it interfered with the OO installer. His site is down at the moment so I can't verify.
You can try leaving OO out of the integration, then installing from the desktop and see if that fixes it.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:49 am

OpenOffice must be installed prior to the .Net packages if you install them from svcpack or cmdlines.txt.
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Postby kalgon » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:51 am

mr_smartepants wrote:RogueSpear found an issue between OpenOffice and .NET (I think) but I can't remember what it was. IIRC, it interfered with the OO installer. His site is down at the moment so I can't verify.
You can try leaving OO out of the integration, then installing from the desktop and see if that fixes it.

OK, thanks for the information, I'll try to install without openoffice.

In the meantime, installing kel's runtimes didn't do anything (not surprising) because for the same install, I got the following results:
    with DotNetFx_All_In_1_Addon_v2.4 => openoffice OK, paint.net OK
    with Addon_Microsoft.Net_20SP2_20091021 => openoffice NOK, paint.net NOK
    with nothing => openoffice OK, paint.net NOK (complains about missing .net20)
if .net is indeed messing with OO, that could leave the msi system in a corrupt state which prevents installing paint.net

Thanks a lot!
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Postby kalgon » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:53 am

beats wrote:OpenOffice must be installed prior to the .Net packages if you install them from svcpack or cmdlines.txt.

Good point! I'll try that!

thanks!
kalgon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:13 pm

Postby kalgon » Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:47 am

beats wrote:OpenOffice must be installed prior to the .Net packages if you install them from svcpack or cmdlines.txt.

I tried installing OO, then .net20 and then paint.net at T12. OO and .net installed normally while paint.net failed (with the same error as before: "There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program run as part of the setup did not finish as expected..."). Guess paint.net suffers from the same kind problem as OO does and I'll have to install it at ROE stage (Installing .net20 before paint.net screws its setup but as paint.net needs .net20, it must installed before... chicken and egg problem =)

Anyway, thanks for all the suggestions!
jaynbe
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Postby jaynbe » Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:12 pm

Some apps need .net20 to run but not to install; I do this with CDburnerXP at T13 and .net at ROE.
It works perfect ; I don't know for shure with paint.net. Maybe worth trying.
User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby mr_smartepants » Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:47 pm

Paint.NET requires .NET to be installed and functional BEFORE Paint.NET can install.
As for OpenOffice, here's a quote from RogueSpears forums.
Troubleshooting / XP SP3: If you are experiencing problems using this installer from svcpack, particularly under XP SP3, I would suggest trying the following: After Windows setup has completed, check the application event log for a 1935 event. In the details of the event should be something along the lines of "The following information is part of the event: Product: OpenOffice.org 3.0 -- Error 1935.An error occurred during the installation of assembly". It took a while for me to figure this out, but for some reason the .NET Framework optimization routine is interfering with the installation of OpenOffice (even though OOo does not require .NET). There are two easy solutions - first would be to make sure that OOo is installed before any Microsoft runtime or .NET Framework. The second option is to install OOo from RunOnceEx.
Image

Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:43 pm

updated 20100224 ....
User avatar
alban
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:20 am
Location: aL

Postby alban » Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:39 am

Thanks for the update user_hidden
boydaigai
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:55 pm

Postby boydaigai » Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:15 am

nice work with QFE update pack, Thanks user_hidden
User avatar
fullcontrol
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Turkey istanbul

Postby fullcontrol » Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:00 pm

thank you
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:18 pm

updated 20100609 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:57 pm

updated 20100621 ....

added KB976576
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:31 pm

updated 20100810 ....

added KB983583
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:46 pm

Updated 20100830 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:36 pm

updated 20100930 ...

added KB2418241
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:01 am

updated 20110412 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:22 am

updated 20110614 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:40 pm

testing latest build ...
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:19 pm

updated 20110809
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:41 pm

updated 20111011 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:04 pm

updated 20120101 ....
User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Postby =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:30 pm

Thanks
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:16 pm

Updated 20120214
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:17 pm

updated 20120410 ....
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue May 08, 2012 7:13 pm

updated 20120508
Kurt_Aust
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: [Addon] Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20120508

Postby Kurt_Aust » Fri May 11, 2012 7:49 pm

user_hidden wrote:Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20120508

includes:
dotNet Framework 2.0 SP2
KB958481 - Application Compatibility Update
KB976576 - Rollup Update
KB976765 - Extended Protection for Authentication
KB979909 - Security Update
KB980773 - Rollup Update
KB2604092 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Remote Code Execution
KB2656352 - Vulnerabilities in .NET Framework Could Allow Elevation of Privilege
KB2656369 - Vulnerability in .NET Framework Could Allow Remote Code Execution


I think you can well and truly drop KB976765 and KB980773 (both part of KB982168) from the updates included list.

KB976765 was replaced by KB2418241 which was in turn replaced by the current KB2656352.

KB980773 is even better, it was replaced by KB2478658 which was in turn replaced by KB2539631 which was in turn replaced by KB2633880 which was in turn replaced by the current KB2604092.

It might also be worth noting that KB976576 is part of KB982524.
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Re: [Addon] Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP2 - 20120508

Postby user_hidden » Sun May 13, 2012 8:36 am

Kurt_Aust wrote:I think you can well and truly drop KB976765 and KB980773 (both part of KB982168) from the updates included list.

KB976765 was replaced by KB2418241 which was in turn replaced by the current KB2656352.

KB980773 is even better, it was replaced by KB2478658 which was in turn replaced by KB2539631 which was in turn replaced by KB2633880 which was in turn replaced by the current KB2604092.

It might also be worth noting that KB976576 is part of KB982524.


some listed updates as you mentioned that should be removed have been
overwritten in the current release so they are on the list but actually updated and not in the installer.

I know that KB976576 is part of KB982524....but that is a 3.5SP1 update.
KB976576 is applied to net20SP2 and the other KB977354 is applied to all
of my packages that have net30SP1 as it applied to that and not this net20sp2 installer.
User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1888
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Postby user_hidden » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:27 pm

updated 20120612 ....
User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Postby vodacuza » Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:39 pm

thanks
I use this since yume deserted his similar project :)

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests