[Release] Windows Imaging Component (WIC) 1.2.0

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

[Release] Windows Imaging Component (WIC) 1.2.0

Postby yumeyao » Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:18 am

Microsoft wrote:The Windows Imaging Component supports discovery of new and proprietary (e.g., Raw) image formats. Any application that uses WIC can take advantage of new image formats as soon as their CODECs (encoder/decoders) are installed on the computer. WIC includes updated CODECs for JPEG, TIFF, GIF, PNG, & BMP that are more secure than previously released CODECs for these formats, and also supports a new high-performance image format called Windows Media Photo. Additionally, WIC provides metadata readers and writers for common image metadata formats, and enables applications to preserve their own metadata inside image files so they don't need to create "sidecar files".

WIC in Microsoft products:
WIC is a component beginning to exist since vista RTM, and it's also exported to Windows XP/2k3 offically, furthermore, it's included in XP SP3.
WIC is a requirement of .NET 3.0 and is shipped with .NET installer.

What is this addon(or switchless installer) for:
I removed WIC in my .NET installer release, so this addon is for people who are using XP SP2(or earlier)/2003 want to take use of my .NET installer.

Another reason is that files are updated several times in vista but not in XP SP3, so I collected updates carefully, with catalogs, finally filtered out the useful catalogs and files making them an addon. So if you want to have WIC up-to-date, this is a good choice.
All files are digital signed. you can add them to sfcfiles.dll and do an integrity check.

Downloads: 3 releases are available:
  • Addon For XP SP3: NO inf, requested registry entries are added to HIVECLS.INF.
    YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab (MIRROR) MD5: e07332f9934b85b6b1270a3e57fd1feb
  • Addon For XP SP2(or earlier)/2003: an inf is added with file copying entries because WIC is not present in their install CDs
    YumeYao_WIC_Addon_1_2_0.cab MD5: 1fa6bb5001bd5b10189375189e393df2
  • Switchless Installer for XP/2003: for those who want to install/update WIC on a live system.
    YumeYao_WIC_Installer_Addon_1_2_0.cab MD5: 5110402d7732eeb382f7155f17ad7fc7
  • Additionally, there is a hybrid installer(T-13 Addon) contains both XPS and WIC for smaller installer size:
    Integrating True Addons is recommended!! This is only for use if you just want the installer.
    YumeYao_XPSWIC_Installer_Addon_1_2_0.cab MD5: 2b52b6cfce758dad7ee2edda909fcb4d

Version Info:
Ver 1.2.0 2011-8-14
Updated to Vista SP2 files. catalog not included.

Ver 1.1.0 2011-3-10
Updated the hybrid installer to contain the latest XPS.

Ver 1.1.0 2010-8-12
Added a link for hybrid installer of both XPS and WIC.

Ver 1.1.0 2010-5-17
Added several missing reg entries, which provide more integratibility of WIC to the system.

Ver 1.0.2 2009-10-28
Only WIC for XP SP2/2003 is updated, because I forgot to compress files into *.xx_ in 1.0.1.

Ver 1.0.1 2009-10-23
Because what's available on M$ DL site is named 1.0, so this one is named 1.0.1 :wink:
contains kb957321, kb967760 and kb973473
Last edited by yumeyao on Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:11 am, edited 9 times in total.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:17 am

Where can I get these updates also?


Can only find Vista ones
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:24 am

yes, updates for vista is exactly where I get the files from. *.cat files are carefully selected and tested.
yumeyao wrote:Another reason is that files are updated several times in vista but not in XP SP3, so I collected updates carefully, with catalogs, finally filtered out the useful catalogs and files making them an addon.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:29 am

OK thanks, nice going
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:49 am

Very nice. Thanks yumeyao. ^_^
User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Postby dumpydooby » Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:35 pm

Awesome. Thanks for this.
User avatar
DaRk MaDnEsS
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Port Said,Egypt

Postby DaRk MaDnEsS » Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:27 am

nice work yumeyao

thx
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:25 pm

here comes an update of Addon For XP SP2(or earlier)/2003. nothing is changed other than I pre-compressed files.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:18 pm

well, any one interested in this? KB971512.

I think I'll go back testing it when i have free time this Friday. If any of you helps me test it out, it will be greatly appreciated.


-edit-
well, I found that maybe XPS in .NET 3.0 needs this update too. :wink:
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Postby Kiki Burgh » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:03 pm

hi yumeyao! been trying to download your addon via esnips but it always prompts to create an account or sign-in. despite signing in, it still does not allow me to get the file. would the be another possible link where i could get a hold of this addon? thanks!
-KIKI-
User avatar
DaRk MaDnEsS
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Port Said,Egypt

Postby DaRk MaDnEsS » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:44 am

Kiki Burgh wrote:hi yumeyao! been trying to download your addon via esnips but it always prompts to create an account or sign-in. despite signing in, it still does not allow me to get the file. would the be another possible link where i could get a hold of this addon? thanks!


YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_0_1.cab

http://www.mediafire.com/?nymgkemh03z


YumeYao_WIC_Addon_1_0_2.cab

http://www.mediafire.com/?jukj2gzdwzt

thx YumeYao for your work
User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Postby Kiki Burgh » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:49 am

thanks DaRk MaDnEsS!
-KIKI-
User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Postby Pasha_ZZZ » Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:10 pm

Some of Windows 7 RTM files are newer than in Vista... Not only by version number, but by built time too.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:58 pm

Watch out! some Windows 7 files will not run on XP like Vista ones. Case in point usp10.dll I requested that Kel used the Windows 7 one instead of Vistas and it cause lots of errors
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue May 18, 2010 3:46 am

updated.
added some reg entries.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
RicaNeaga
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:59 am

Postby RicaNeaga » Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:12 am

Without your addon pack net framework 4.0 needed a newer version of WIC. With your pack it doesn't. Great job! Thank you! :)
User avatar
George King
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:25 am
Location: cs-CZ

Postby George King » Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:01 pm

Is this addon compatible with OnePiece Update Pack?
User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Postby Pasha_ZZZ » Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:09 pm

George King wrote:Is this addon compatible with OnePiece Update Pack?
Yes, tested on XP Update Pack
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:09 am

I grabbed these files for me/you (including .cat) from fresh install of sp2 yumeyao http://www.mediafire.com/?8kgeab2worqs50a

Edit: Also may want to check out KB971512 with v7.0.6002.18107 of the WIC files

Edit2: any idea how we can test the v7 files see if they are compatible with XP?

Edit3: some differences I notice is pmh.dll does not have the bin's and wicext.dll does not have the icm profile embedded it has it externally in the hotfix (I think I am going to stick with sp2 files)
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:18 pm

Hey yumeyao I think you missed my post with the SP2 updates

BTW do you think that the Microsoft Camera Codec Pack will work on XP?
acus
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: italy

Postby acus » Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:42 pm

@ricktendo64

original file MicrosoftCodecPack_x86.msi doesn't install on XP.
If I change (with Orca) LaunchCondition:
Installed OR (WindowsBuild >= 6001) in
Installed OR (WindowsBuild >= 501), the installation in XP happens with success.
BTW, I dont know if the codec works in XP.

Regards
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:27 pm

I found this for xp. http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=8802


To verify MicrosoftCodecPack_x86.msi, we need some raw formats to see whether it works.


I know KB971512 and vista sp2 files, I don't have time to verify them.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:38 pm

SP2 files working nicely here, I added them to my last updatepack
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:58 am

Well, I decide to use the SP2 files but keep the catalog away for it's too huge.

after all they don't produce setuperr.log errors.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 14, 2011 8:48 am

Gr8 to know, thx
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:09 am

updated.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
peter r
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby peter r » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:34 am

yumeyao wrote:updated.


Hi yumeyao

In another thread (your IE8 Addon) I recently posted that Filesonic stated the file had been deleted. You attended to this promptly and I may appear remiss in not thanking you for this. However I also wanted to advise that Filesonic has also deleted your XPS and WIC Addons which you updated 14 Aug.

So rather than post that in the IE8 thread I have decided to both thank you here for the IE8 restoration, and ask if the above Addons could be restored also.

Kind regards

peter r
Nil desperandum
cosy
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:56 pm

Postby cosy » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:00 am

hmm seems the files here were deleted or removed
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:21 am

Here you go, here is a mirror http://www.mediafire.com/?a6k7g7tsv0mga61
peter r
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby peter r » Mon Oct 10, 2011 3:25 am

ricktendo64 wrote:Here you go, here is a mirror http://www.mediafire.com/?a6k7g7tsv0mga61


Many thanks ricktendo64

At the risk of perhaps pushing my luck! I wonder if you might also have yumeyao's XPS Addon (Printer Update Pack and XPS Addon) which I noted in my post above had also been deleted. While yumeyao had made a hybrid installer for both of these (also deleted), he was quite definite that integration of true addons was recommended.

I think you were actually the last poster in that XPS thread.

Anyway, thanks again and Cheers

peter r
Nil desperandum
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:27 am

peter r
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby peter r » Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:38 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:I only have the true addon http://www.mediafire.com/?94j6kba0cu27ko4

A somewhat belated thankyou for the file ricktendo64. It was the True Addon that I was after, the hybrid installer only being a last resort if the addon was unavailable.

Cheers

peter r
Nil desperandum
User avatar
Svyat
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 5:23 am
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Postby Svyat » Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:23 am

YumeYao_WIC_Addon_1_2_0.cab file is delated, please reupload it. thx
newer is not always better
xaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:53 am

Postby xaaaaaaaaaaaaaa » Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:33 pm

The download link is out of date, please reload it。Thanks first。
User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Postby bphlpt » Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:01 pm

Look four posts up at Rick's post.

Cheers and Regards
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:49 pm

z033913
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:15 am

Postby z033913 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:29 pm

KB2670838 (for win7) contains new wmphoto.dll ,windowscodecs.dll ,windowscodecsext.dll,can they work in xp?
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:48 pm

Doubt it, tried registering wmphoto.dll and it fails
tomasz86
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: windows2000.tk
Contact:

Postby tomasz86 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:44 am

@z033913 Would it be a problem for you to upload those files somewhere?
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:39 am

tomasz86 wrote:@z033913 Would it be a problem for you to upload those files somewhere?

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/56155351/Tools ... 838-x86.7z
z033913
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:15 am

Postby z033913 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:48 am

tomasz86 wrote:@z033913 Would it be a problem for you to upload those files somewhere?

No...Why?...Because I'm from China?But you know , actually I can't even download files from mediafire.com without proxy...
tomasz86
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: windows2000.tk
Contact:

Postby tomasz86 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:52 am

Thanks :)

There have been new dependencies added.

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests