[Removed] Audio Shell Extension v1.2

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

[Removed] Audio Shell Extension v1.2

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:11 am

This one is a great one for mp3's. It add options to the properties section of your music and allows you to edit the tags of your music files.

Homepage: http://www.softpointer.com/AudioShell.htm

I removed this addon because it was causing explorer crashes and the 217 runtime error...
Last edited by Kelsenellenelvian on Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:54 am, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:08 pm

Updated. Nothing new just cleaning and optimizing.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:13 pm

Awesome. :)

I was going to try making an addon for this one after I learned how and forgot all about it. Thanks!
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:01 am

Updated (Mrs. Peel pointed out a couple of issues. THANKS!)
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:44 am

If you're up to it could you update this addon as well?

Thank you, Kel. :)
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:08 am

I can't use the newer version in any pack due to licensing issues.

Quote from the lisence in the package:

AudioShell may be freely distributed in any kind, provided the
distribution package is not modified.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:19 am

I didn't see that. Thanks for checking. :)
User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Postby dumpydooby » Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:04 pm

Hey Kels, I was getting an error for missing "framedyn.dll" and "srclient.dll." I haven't checked to see if it's caused by your addon, but according to this post, your pack was amongst a few that he removed. The very next post, another guy narrows it down your pack, and one other pack. I don't use the other pack, so that just leaves this pack. I'm going to try removing your addon to see if that solves this issue. I just figured I'd give you a heads up beforehand.

edit: I just took at a look at the contents of your addon. It doesn't seem like anything in your pack could cause this error. So it's b ack to the drawing board. :(
User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Postby Zacam » Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:29 am

I can confirm that using Audioshell past 1.0 causes framedyn.dll and srclient.dll errors. There is a message in the setup log files about not being able to handle something in regards to the inf.

Code: Select all

Error:
Setup was unable to open information file audioshe.inf.

Contact your system administrator. The specific error code is 0xe0000000 at line 1.


Line 1 does not begin with a " ; " like it should for a comment. Problem exisits in both 1.1 and 1.2. Adding a " ; " to the begining of the first line results in a perfect install.
User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Postby Zacam » Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:31 am

w00t! That was fast. Thank you, Kel! Though, I noticed the thread didn't bump, so here's hoping people now notice this has been updated. ;)
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:45 am

np thanks for the heads up
User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Postby dumpydooby » Thu Apr 27, 2006 3:40 am

omg. no way?

That's such a trip. I had a few installs go just fine with this addon. Bah. At least now I know the problem is solved. Thanks a bunch. :)

edit:
There's plenty of other addons that don't have ';' on lines to denote comments. I'm wondering why this issue has only occured with this release. So weird...
User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Postby Sanjay » Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:54 am

Is this going to be updated to v1.2 in the Uber pack also?
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:50 am

Sorry for the confusion but the extension is still v1.1 the pack is version 1.2 as for updating it I can't now because they changed their licensing practices.
User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Postby Sanjay » Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:58 am

Thanks for clarifying. IT's a shame there won't be any more updates.
nowinscenario
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:55 am

Postby nowinscenario » Tue May 16, 2006 11:44 pm

Hmmm, so Kels, I can use this now with no framedyn.dll probs? Coz I like it (like many of your others) and really want to. :) ... Just wanna be sure.
jamesdean
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 am

I have updated This to 1.3 dll version 1.2.2.27

Postby jamesdean » Fri May 26, 2006 4:35 am

Link removed by kelsenellenelvian
User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Postby Zacam » Fri May 26, 2006 6:59 am

Erm.......why?

Did you perchance miss the bit where he said their licensing changed, ergo no updates?
jamesdean
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 am

Like I give Crap

Postby jamesdean » Fri May 26, 2006 9:31 pm

Like I give a crap

ive done it and now anyone can dl it

you shouldn't be so scared of stupid software companies
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri May 26, 2006 9:37 pm

It's a matter of respecting the author of the software and RyanVM. We shouldn't be causing trouble on Ryan's behalf by posting unauthorized software on his forum where he could get in trouble for it.

Fear really doesn't enter into it. It's not your head in the guillotine.
Last edited by 5eraph on Fri May 26, 2006 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri May 26, 2006 9:42 pm

There no more problem...
ron2024
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 5:58 am
Location: IL

Postby ron2024 » Tue May 30, 2006 2:38 pm

Doh!
I'm posting this in case there was anyone else who downloaded this jerks (jamesdean) cab file.
It will produce a runtime error & crash explorer.exe. Fix, reboot computer, 1st check version of AudioShellExt.dll,
if version is 1.2.2.27 then unregister the file, using unlocker unlock it, then delete it, replace with version Kel has here,
"1.1.2.17" register it, any runtime errors will then stop. AudioShellExt.dll is located in; C:\WINDOWS\system32\ShellExt

@jamesdean: that file you posted was NO GOOD, it is not compatible with Kel's cab at all !!!
The new version can't be even install with a simple one file replacement like you've done, it has more features & works
differently than the prior version. It took me over 4hrs. to figure this out because the problem didn't show up right away,
you knuckleheaded *%#@ard.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Tue May 30, 2006 2:40 pm

Yeah he was missing the nessecary language files and others that are now a part of the new audioshell extension.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:51 pm

IT LIVES!!!

Updated! Now version 1.2 and permission has been fully given...
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Thu Jun 08, 2006 4:18 pm

Troy Taylor LOL :lol:

So thats your "real" name KEL, I did not know. It sure is easyer to pronuce.
Cool 8)
zapbuzz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:54 am
Location: australia

error

Postby zapbuzz » Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:49 am

cannot get dl says error.
2+2=4 not 3 maths .. the true universal language.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:58 am

Sorry to say you don't want to use this anyways thats why I pulled the file. It has cuased numerous problems for quit some time. Mainly the dreaded 217 error popup! Not to mention the frequent explorer crashes...

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests