[Release] User Accounts2 CPL Enabler

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

[Release] User Accounts2 CPL Enabler

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:14 pm

Maybe the smallest CPL extension release ever. This one will enable the User Accounts 2 Control Panel Extension!

Code: Select all

1.2 Changelog
Now fully usable on Win XP and Win 2003!

1.1 Changelog
Now 8.3 compliant


NOT FOR XP HOME EDITION!!!

Download here ----> http://www.wpiw.net/downloads/Kels_UserPass2_addon_v1.2.CAB

Size - 956bytes MD5Hash = DE4C791CB9A1A458731B6F4E3E335F3C
Last edited by Kelsenellenelvian on Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:32 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Postby DisabledTrucker » Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:14 pm

Has this one ever been updated, because the last two times I used this one it didn't work...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

WNOR FM-99 The best station in the world!
ViVa

Postby ViVa » Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:15 pm

lol, I guess it didn't since nobody bothered to post anything about it but you...
User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Postby dgelwin » Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:22 pm

hahaha, it was updated in the cpl bonus pack, i guess kel just forogot to update it here. go figure
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things
User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Postby DisabledTrucker » Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:02 pm

I may be the only one who uses this one seperately like this too.. ;)
I don't use the full pack, I just use the ones I see a need for. Like when I install DirectX, it installs the CPL for it, so there isn't a need for another one. There's a few more too that are already added or I just don't have a need for, so I do the ones I need this way... I was in the process of rebuilding another install disk and was going to include this one but I wanted to make sure that it's been fixed first...
Matthew 22:36-40



I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.



WNOR FM-99 The best station in the world!
User avatar
thuun
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:58 pm

Postby thuun » Sat Dec 17, 2005 9:41 am

I find a quick way to access items is rt. click my computer.
You can put user accounts in a reg file like so...

________________________________________________________
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

;Add User Accounts to right click on My Computer
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\User Accounts\command]
@="control userpasswords2"
User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Postby Sanjay » Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:58 pm

What, may I ask does this addon actually do? What utility does it add? Also for some reason my Unatended install did not create the various users that I used to be able to do earlier and I am wondering if this addon had anything to do with it since I see this was a part of Kel's Uber pack which I slipstreamed.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Feb 09, 2006 5:43 pm

This addon just enables the user accounts 2 control panel which gives you more control over user accounts neither this or my uber pack affect setting of user accounts during setup.
User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Postby Sanjay » Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:45 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. My search for a solution to my problem will continue elsewhere. :)
User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Postby Mrs Peel » Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:06 pm

LOL I think we need a members poll to see who has the most CPL applets installed. Hehehe Kel, just as well you screen res is 1280px high :P
Lemonzest
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:19 am

Postby Lemonzest » Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:01 pm

i just used this with server 2003 ent, and altho it works, there's no icon for it in the control pannel
AMD Athlon64 3000+ @2.4GHz, DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb, 2x1024MB Geil Value Ram PC3200
ATI Radeon X800XT VIVO, SyncMaster 913N LCD, Logitech MX518, Creative Audigy2 ZS
Enermax Noisetaker 485W, Western Digital SATA 160GB, Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard
User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby mr_smartepants » Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:10 am

I tried this with XP Home and it doesn't work right. The cpl is there but it won't let you make any changes to group permissions because groups aren't supported in Home, only Pro.
This isn't a problem with the cpl, but a limitation of the XPHome edition.
Unless maybe there's a way to unlock this functionality in Home? :wink:

Maybe you could update the first post Kel to reflect this?
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:50 am

Ok thanks for the info...
User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Postby twig123 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:44 pm

I have this on my XPHome CD's. I can use it to add/remove users and control the autologon feature... and that works fine, I haven't tested anything else as far a group permissions.
User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Postby T D » Thu Jul 27, 2006 9:11 am

So will this work on home if you don't set group permissions?
Image
User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Postby twig123 » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:49 pm

seems to work fine for me. but like I said... I have NOT tried the permissions.
User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Postby twig123 » Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:46 pm

tested... and the only thing that doesn't work in Home is "Advance User Management" all other features work without any flaws that I can find.
AtomicBlue
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:37 pm

Cool CPL but needs new Icon

Postby AtomicBlue » Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:02 pm

This is one of my many favorite addons but I think it could use an upgrade on the icon. Could you tell me how to change the icon thanks 8)
kof94
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: UK

Postby kof94 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:20 pm

Change the default icon string from this:

HKCR,"CLSID\%CLSID%\DefaultIcon",,,"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\nusrmgr.cpl,1"

To this:

HKCR,"CLSID\%CLSID%\DefaultIcon",,,"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\shell32.dll,-220"

To get the standard windows 2000 icon.

It's not great but it's better than the present icon

As you can see I just changed the file association, in this case shell32.dll. I should imagine you could change it to a .ico if you want but I've never tested that.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:25 pm

kof94 wrote:HKCR,"CLSID\%CLSID%\DefaultIcon",,,"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\shell32.dll,-220"

Nice! thanks :)
colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Postby colornokia » Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:57 am

Change the default string

Code: Select all

HKCR,"CLSID\%CLSID%\DefaultIcon",,,"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\nusrmgr.cpl,1"

to

Code: Select all

HKCR,"CLSID\%CLSID%\DefaultIcon",,,"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\nusrmgr.cpl,0"

And you get the XP icon :P
User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Postby ahmerkhan » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:40 pm

I have Got an Error with this Addon....

Can't Copy USERPASS2.INF

I used Nlite 1.0.1 final for Winxp SP2 Professional.
It was Succesfully Integrated when i choosed KEL AIO CPL Addon Last time....
User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Postby kelaniz » Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:20 am

Whenever I use this addon, RVM complains that the file UserPass2.inf isn't in 8.3 format. It still works, but, just wondering if this could cause a problem?

Kel #2
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:51 am

OoOoOoOO I will update this immediatly!

P.S. it will not cause any issues unless you are installing from a pure dos enviroment.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:05 am

Too late I just fixed it.

This was one of my first addons...
jamesdean
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 am

Postby jamesdean » Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:04 am

i tried this addon with server 2003 sp2 but there was no icon added in the control panel.
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:01 am

thank you jamesdean I am fixing this now...
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:16 am

This was never actually designed for win 2003 but now it will work fine on XP and 2003...
Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Postby Us2002 » Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:05 am

cannot dowload... repare link plz
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:32 am

Fixed.
User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Postby kelaniz » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:12 pm

Cool. You're right, the UserPass2 filename never caused any problems, just caused a warning in the Integrator. :) With 106 (and counting addons) I didn't think you'd want one of your addons to be the only one causing warnings :P

-Kel2
-KZ



Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.
mrmr
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:42 am

Postby mrmr » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:01 am

download link is gone :P
tamerakshar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:50 pm

Postby tamerakshar » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:20 pm

broken link
zilan
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:49 am

Postby zilan » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:18 am

you can use Kels CPL Mega Pack v9.6

Code: Select all

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6871

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests