[Release] CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

[Release] CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3

Postby 5eraph » Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Microsoft Command Line Tools from Windows 7

Description:
    These addons directly integrate command line tools created by Microsoft.
Details:Credits:Downloads:Notes:
    Expand.exe and its MUI file were taken from a Windows 7 x64 SP1 source. A catalog file was found to go with the MUI, but it's not included because no errors are thrown in its absence and it is over a megabyte in size. And I have been unable to find a catalog file that works in XP to go with the EXE. SetupErr.log will show errors for the EXE if we replace the old version with the new without a suitable CAT file installed. To prevent these errors it is necessary to delay the replacement until first logon. However, System File Checker will still complain when run (SFC.exe /scannow), but it will not find the original file. The Expand5 file in the packages is the original file from the target operating system and is used only during Windows setup.

    Should there ever be an update to Expand.exe for Windows XP/2003, nLite will not replace the Windows 7 version due to the file's version number and it will not check Expand5. If an update is released for Windows 7, please let me know so I can update the files in these addons.

    Neither version of RoboCopy comes with a 64-bit executable so they are installed to %SystemRoot%. The 32 and 64-bit files from Windows 7 update KB2639043-v3 were tried, but they fail to run and give the error: "...not a valid Win32 application." The Vista/Win2008 versions also fail in this manner as reported by readers of Martin Zugec's blog.

    MsiX.exe is included as originally compiled in its 32-bit form. It is installed in %SystemRoot% since I see no pressing need to compile a 64-bit version.
Changelog:
  • [2012/02/05 21:15 UTC] - v2012-01_3 - Added a workaround for when the WMP11 Slipstreamer overwrites MSDelta.dll after this addon has been applied.
  • [2012/01/29 00:35 UTC] - v2012-01_2 - Added MsiX.exe.
  • [2012/01/28 22:15 UTC] - v2012-01_1 - Initial release.
Last edited by 5eraph on Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:37 pm

Updated.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:50 pm

expand.exe is signed by ntexe.cat but I doubt if it will satisfy XP's sfc

Code: Select all

expand.exe               7/13/2009      2:6.1               Firmado             ntexe.cat           Microsoft Windows
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:29 pm

You're right, Windows XP x86/x64 doesn't recognize it.

Code: Select all

>signtool.exe verify /v /c ntexe.cat expand.exe

Verifying: expand.exe
File is signed in catalog: ntexe.cat
Hash of file (sha1): 6C6F4573A121F113A729E2E97B53D93F98A81547
[...]
SignTool Error: This catalog is not valid for the current OS version. You may use the /o option to verify against a different OS version.

Number of files successfully Verified: 0
Number of warnings: 0
Number of errors: 1
User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby mr_smartepants » Sun Jan 29, 2012 3:17 pm

Thank you! It's great to see some of these tools all in one place.
I didn't know about the errorlevel bug in that version of robocopy.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!
User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Postby bphlpt » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:24 pm

Indeed, Thanks 5eraph. I was going to ask if it would make sense to have a similar collection for Win7 use, with the continued increased interest. Even though most of these tools seem to be from Win7, it's very handy to have them listed together, and I would assume there will be some extra tools or different versions that don't work on XP? If that's a ridiculous question from a noob, feel free to ignore it. LOL

Cheers and Regards
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 am

I'm open to adding more tools. I've included those that I know are commonly used around here.
  • Expand and MsiX are used in Sereby's compiled Hotfix Extr4ct0r AutoIt script (German, English). In XP, the tools are temporarily extracted to "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temp" when his script is executed.
  • DevCon and RoboCopy were used in Bâshrat's original DriverPack scripts. DevCon is still useful for when an OS reinstall is necessary; to find necessary drivers for unfamiliar hardware. One of these scripts (Find_HWiDs.bat) used to be in his MSFN signature, the other (DriverPacks_BASE) in an old subforum at MSFN.
  • SignTool is used in Pasha_ZZZ's script for matching CATs with other files. It's also been useful to update pack makers for testing, and is used in my RollBack installers (x86, x64).
  • CertMgr is probably the least used, but I'd rather have it handy in case it's needed.
My main motivation for putting together these addons was to update Expand so I could script it myself, bphlpt. I don't use my Windows 7 laptop for much more than websurfing and opening Remote Desktop to access my XPx64 desktop, which has much better system specs and tons more storage.

The only tools I'd surely add are Diff/Patch (old, latest) and Reg2Inf. But none of them were created by Microsoft so they don't belong in these addons as currently labeled.

If anybody wants to create similar packages for use in Win7, please feel free. Use this collection as a baseline or pick and choose as you see fit.
Last edited by 5eraph on Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:36 am, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Postby bphlpt » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:19 am

Understand. Then perhaps just links in the first post to:

5eraph wrote:... Sereby's compiled Hotfix Extr4ct0r AutoIt script
...Bâshrat's original DriverPack scripts -- If still relevent
...Pasha_ZZZ's script
...Diff/Patch and Reg2Inf


Just a thought.

Cheers and Regards
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:55 am

I don't know where I'd squeeze them into the first post, but I did add links and more information to my last post. ;)
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:15 pm

Updated to 2012-01_3.
tomasz86
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: windows2000.tk
Contact:

Postby tomasz86 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:47 pm

Wow, thank you very much for this addon :)

Everything seems to work in Windows 2000 too, except CertMgr.exe which has to be "fixed" to overcome dependency issues.
User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Postby shiner » Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:12 am

Anybody else having a problem with this addon integrated during XP setup?
I have had setup freeze at T-35 on many occasions.
I use RVMi to integrate the update pack and all addons. No error has been given by RVMI during any of the integrations.
Lastly, I use nLite for a few tweaks before creating the iso and test in VirtualBox.


If I integrate only this addon on XP SP3 with user_hidden's latest June update pack NO problem occurs during setup.

If I integrate this addon with a few other addons on XP SP3 with user_hidden's latest June update pack usually no problem occurs during setup .

But if I integrate several addons with this one, the problem occurs most of the time (>80%) on more than 20 test installs.

If I do not use this addon, then all other addons I have used integrate and install correctly every time. This is what has led me to believe this addon is at least partly responsible. (So, my current solution is not to integrate this addon.)

I had a similar issue a few months back with Geej's RWParams addon.
With Geej's addon, I eventually rewrote the INF and converted it into a switchless installer--PROBLEM SOLVED.

I would like to troubleshoot further, but no error logs have been produced by the issue and I haven't learned how to analyze and correct problems at T-35.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:42 am

Can you list some of the addons you're using with this one? I'll see if I can reproduce it.
User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Postby shiner » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:50 pm

Integrating with the following addons, setup completed without freezing at T-35:

DirectXRuntimes-201006-Addon-32.cab
Ricks-YumeYao_IE8_Addon_Nosetuperr_ENU_1_4_13.7z
Ricks-YumeYao_MicrosoftVC78910RuntimeLibraries_Addon_2_1_3.7z

However, adding the following to the above caused setup to freeze at T-35 repeatedly:

5er_MSSignedThemes_Addon_v6.1.1_x86.7z
RedDXManaged_1.1.0.exe
YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab
YumeYao_MicrosoftOldRuntimeLibraries_Addon_1_0_0.7z
Kels_Runtimes_addon_v8.4.rar

(Some of the above, I have used for a long time without issues.)

All other addons I use are T-13 only which I removed from my test setup because setup wasn't getting past T-35. The above list will recreate the issue on my system whether integrated in one session or multiple sessions.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:55 pm

Added links above and grabbed all files except WIC addon (dead FileSonic link, not on MediaFire). I'll begin testing as soon as I can.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:59 am

I can't reproduce it in VirtualBox 4.1.16 with all addons above (WIC 1.1.0 instead of 1.2.0). Do you have a working download link for YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab?
tomasz86
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: windows2000.tk
Contact:

Postby tomasz86 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:23 am

5eraph wrote:Do you have a working download link for YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab?

My W2K WIC addon is based on that one. If you remove "wic.inf" and all references to it from the entries.ini you'll get the YumeYao's original addon :)

tomasz86-YumeYao_WIC_Addon_1_2_0.7z
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3212
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Postby ricktendo64 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:25 am

User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:02 am

Thanks, both of you. :)
User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Postby shiner » Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:46 pm

5eraph,

Sorry I didn't get back sooner. I have been using a lot of my spare time working on this and another problem I have. You couldn't reproduce my issue, so I have to assume I have a screwy source or a screwy system.

Here are more results anyway:
Tested all the above addons with CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3 and user_hidden's April and May update packs.
I do get the same freeze with the May update pack, but surprisingly I don't get it with the April update pack.

I also just tested again after upgrading VBox to 4.1.18 from 4.1.16 and I get the same freeze at T-35 when I add CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 with several other addons.

Anyway, I say if you can't reproduce my issue don't waste any more time on it. I will do what I did with RWParams and rewrite this addon for my system. Time to move on to other things.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Postby bphlpt » Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:20 am

So all your runs that have had the freeze are using VBox? That might be helpful info. :) Also shiner, once you get the addon modified and working for your system, if you'll pass it back to 5eraph, maybe comparing your version with his will trigger either a suggestion from 5eraph for something that might be wrong with your system, or maybe he might see a mod he can make that won't hurt everyone else but will help you. You never know. Thanks for your willingness to go above and beyond with testing and mod on your own if necessary.

Cheers and Regards
User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Postby shiner » Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:21 am

One good thing about working on issues like this is the collateral knowledge gained.

In searching this forum for issues with expand.exe, I happened on this thread, which immediately gave me a plan to break this addon into two addons--this one minus expand.exe and a T-13 tools addon using code65536's path precedence technique for expand.exe (as well as makecab.exe,) which I think will solve my issues as well as eliminate the setuperrlog entries.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:46 am

I'll pass along the notes written while creating these addons, shiner. Hopefully you can make use of them. Did try code65536's Debugger registry entry, but was unable to get it to work.

Started with the addon for XPx64 since I'm most familiar with the other addons available for it and their possible complications. ;) Then worked on the XPx86 version, testing with OnePiece's and user_hidden's update packs. Did not test with the common x86 addons, however; and this is where I have failed.

Have been unable to reproduce your symptoms with WIC 1.2.0--with VirtualBox v4.1.16 or v4.1.18. Still looking into other alternatives like switchless installers. But need to get reacquainted with Oleg's newest 7z.sfx modules and see if it would be possible to have a combined x64/x86 installer.

In his notes, 5eraph wrote:x64 ADDON:
    Direct replacement of Expand.exe in %11% and %16425%:
    • Works perfectly but causes errors in SetupErr.log for Expand.exe.
    New subdirectories in %11% and %16425% and replaced with Debugger:
    • Breaks Expand.exe completely (it cannot be found by the system despite being in four locations).
    Renamed to Expand7.exe, placed in %11% and %16425%, and replaced with Debugger:
    • Works without SetupErr.log complaints. But does not show the list of files expanded, and gives the runtime error: "Can't open input file: expand."
    Delayed file replacement in %11% and %16425%:
    • The new Expand.exe files have no CAT. They're overwritten by Windows File Protection (WFP) with the originals from the source, so the replacement fails.
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at T-13 in %11% and %16425%:
    • Result: See "Direct replacement of Expand.exe in %11% and %16425%".
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11% and %16425%: (RunOnce x2)
    • Complete succcess: Works perfectly with no complaints from SetupErr.log.
x86 ADDON:
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11%: (RunOnce x2)
    • Complete succcess with uh's pack. OP's pack triggers the replacement too early.
x64 AND x86 ADDONS:
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11% and %16425%: (RunOnceEx x1 + RunOnce x1)
    • Complete succcess with all packs.

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest