Regarding the next version...

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:00 am

Dunno... since a lot of data and work is lost, recreating it will introduce new bugs of course.

Vista
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Post by Vista » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:06 pm

nlite rc4 is out but rvm is still not out

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:28 pm

*sigh* Vista you really don't get it do you...

User avatar
Paul_365
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:38 am

Post by Paul_365 » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:37 pm

I have a copy of the beta RVMUpdatePack2.0.2b1.cab if it helps

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:10 pm

How I hate ppl like Vista... All his posts are asking, demanding, asking questions that's been answered a hundred times.

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:13 pm

Paul_365 wrote:I have a copy of the beta RVMUpdatePack2.0.2b1.cab if it helps
If you don't mind kind sir, could I get a piece of that? PM it to me? :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:52 pm

Paul, any CAB you've gotten ahold of is uploaded safely to my servers as well :)

ViVa, like I said, I've got every CAB I've ever made on my server, so I highly doubt any old bugs will return.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Sat Dec 24, 2005 9:38 am

RyanVM, this RAID 0+1 thing.... I think you might consider avoiding it in the future, at least for the data storage.

My personal opinion is this: Use two drives in stripped RAID0 mode for your windows volume, so that they are fast. you might even have two partitons on them, one for system and one for your tests and temp work.

Second array should be RAID1 for your storage with two of your 300GB drives. You now had 600GB storage array, which failed on you; I really think that while it's cool to have so much data storage available, it's still never safe enouhg in any RAID array that involves data stripping.

You could also create additional RAID1 array volume if large data storage space is must have.
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Dec 24, 2005 10:19 am

Dude, I already said what I'm planning on doing in the future.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sat Dec 24, 2005 5:18 pm

Yes as I have found its far safer to have a remote usb Hdd enclosure for all your important data whether it be business,projects etc.
I have been doing this now using four boxes for 18 months & haven't lost anything in that time.

Cheers

MC.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Dec 24, 2005 5:49 pm

A few months ago I bought a couple of Seagate 400GB drives. They do both USB2 and FireWire. I haven't had a problem with either and they seem speedy enough. The only problem I have with them is that the little connecter for the power supply, where it attached to the drive unit itself, looks rather proprietary. Physically it's the same as the old Cisco MicroHubs from 10 years ago. Anyway, I bet they'd cost a mint to replace if the brick ever died.

I got these are fooling around for a couple of weeks with these enclosures you can buy to put your own hard drive in. I couldn't get a one of em to work with a 400GB drive. I don't think they were pumping out enough power for the drive. Turns out this was marginally more expensive, and the thing is built like a tank to boot. Even has dedicated cooling. I would highly recommend something made from the ground up as an external unit rather jimmy rigging a standard IDE drive into an enclosure.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Dec 25, 2005 12:59 am

Naturally, what your speaking of have been around for a couple of years originally in usb1 now in usb2 & also firewire.
Generally come with everything you need either internal or external power supply with cooling & all the cables you need. Just put your drive right in & way ya go.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Sun Dec 25, 2005 9:22 am

never trust raid for data storage ...

Aussie
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Aussie » Sun Dec 25, 2005 6:09 pm

Off topic.......But Merry Christmas all!

dsp_deep

XMas

Post by dsp_deep » Mon Dec 26, 2005 1:00 am

Merry Xmas to all of you

Mavericc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:31 am

Post by Mavericc » Wed Dec 28, 2005 12:41 am

cyberloner wrote:never trust raid for data storage ...
What then, a tape drive?
Idiots try to maintain order - A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:02 am

Mavericc wrote:
cyberloner wrote:never trust raid for data storage ...
What then, a tape drive?
I'm moving to an external hard drive that I can do periodic backups to. Hell of a lot faster than tape :P

To recap, I'm going to have to RAID0 arrays in my computer. One will take the place of the old RAID10 array. The other will serve as a backup array and I'll have Second Copy doing nightly backups to that drive (or whenever I shut down). Yes, it's RAID0 which means it's still inherantly liable to drive failure, but at least then there's two seperate file systems so one array can corrupt itself without touching the other. On top of that, I've also got a 400GB external hard drive now that I'll be doing weekly-biweekly backups to as well as a backup in case of catastrophic failure.

Three points of failure should be safer than the one I had previously. I'll probably backup some of my more important stuff offsite as well (thankfully all of my update packs already are).

I'm going to try to have everything setup in time for the January round of security updates.

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:24 pm

I have a copy of the beta RVMUpdatePack2.0.2b1.cab if it helps
Why some people member in this forum have new and upgraded beta RVMU-pack and others menber no?

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:26 pm

datalife wrote: Why some people member in this forum have new and upgraded beta RVMU-pack and others menber no?
'cause they work on it as well. Do you contribute anything?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:16 pm

Lol... beta = beta, nothing official.

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:42 pm

What is from laughing?

All contribute to plan RVMU with their tests and reports!

Why only some have such versions?

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Post by Alanoll » Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:54 pm

because it's better to have a controlled testing.

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:56 pm

one uncontrolled testing copy is best for testing

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:21 pm

Datalife, you should definitely be taking it very personally and assume that the 'omission' of not receiving a beta version of an updatepack is a carefully crafted insult directed straight at you.

That way you can beg and scream and be the victim much more effectively.

sheesh

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:29 pm

When you're devloping future versions of the integrator, then we'll talk about you getting beta versions, datalife.

That being said, getting ahold of beta versions is a "Don't ask me, I'll ask you" situation. And FWIW, the last beta version I made was before the December updates came out so you're not missing much.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:35 pm

ok ryan thanks...

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Post by Alanoll » Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:12 am

datalife wrote:one uncontrolled testing copy is best for testing
that's not neccesarilly true. Controlled testing allows you to specifically say "NO USING NLITE" or something similar that could have advers effects on the pack, since it's being altered past intentions. It also means you know the people testing it know what they're doing and most likely able to track down possible bugs instead of just saying "I have this problem, here's a picture. Please fix it"

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:07 am

Therefore? "allows you to specifically say" Who? I?

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:04 am

Alanoll wrote:just saying "I have this problem, here's a picture. Please fix it"
You give too much credit. It's often "This does not work. Fix it." No screenshot, no log, no "please."

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:37 pm

Make this I? When I would have made it? Been mistaking!

Acheron
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Acheron » Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:54 pm

I happened to get my ntfs file system corrupt when I used the VIA IDE Accelerator driver for some days on my new 250 GB Maxtor HDD. It worked good on my 40GB Seagate HDD disc nevertheless.

Be aware when you plug-in new hardware :rolleyes:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm

datalife... why the paranoia? Please try and act like an adult and stop pestering. (Maybe an English course would also help I guess.)

superleiw
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:22 am

Post by superleiw » Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:51 am

ViVa wrote:datalife... why the paranoia? Please try and act like an adult and stop pestering. (Maybe an English course would also help I guess.)
agreed

every second post is made by you, now calm down a bit

what do you have more if you could get ahold of those brand new betas? More BSDs, more crashing etc :D , don't think you really would enjoy that :?

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:05 am

Mavericc wrote:
cyberloner wrote:never trust raid for data storage ...
What then, a tape drive?
plain ide will do..
u never loss data u won't know...

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:08 pm

With everyone moving to SATA these days you're not left with much choice but to use some sort of raid because a lot of SATA controllers are raid driven. You think you'll be able to continue using IDE drives, think again, they are being phased out at this time and within the next year or two there will be no more IDE drives at all on the market, except used ones...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:17 pm

I hate to continue this on this topic but I can't help but respond to that last statement. You have got to be kidding me right? You have any idea the tens of millions of computers out there that use IDE drives? You can't even find more than a couple DVD drives with a SATA interface either. I think IDE will be around much longer than you think. I remember back about 8 years ago everyone said the same thing about USB. That you wouldn't be able to buy a parallel interface printer a year down the road. It took like 6 or 7 years for that to come true. People are making all kinds of dire predictions about the VGA interface as well.

When you're talking about physical interfaces (exception being CPU sockets) on a PC, nothing happens fast. It's always gradual.

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sun Jan 01, 2006 5:07 pm

DisabledTrucker wrote:With everyone moving to SATA these days you're not left with much choice but to use some sort of raid because a lot of SATA controllers are raid driven. .
This is the part of his statement that baffles me??? This thread contains more off-topic, whines and false statements than any other part of this board.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Please move this post if necessary.

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jan 01, 2006 5:38 pm

[offtopic="sorry guys, have to post"]
My 2 cents? Most trends start at the corporate or enthusiast levels. That being said... PCI-X will never reach mainstream desktops and SLI and Crossfire will be on their way out soon enough unless the components get much cheaper.

IDE has been around since the late '70s and will never die. The next generation floppy disk is here: we call it the CD-R. As long as there are cheap CD burners we'll have IDE... and cheap hard disks to hook up to it.

Like SCSI in reverse. SCSI has been around just as long (since the Apple II) except instead of constantly evolving as SCSI has, IDE has stopped. It will now replace the motherboard floppy connector. :)

SCSI is no longer a meaningful acronym. It's its own word. How many here can remember what it used to mean?
[/offtopic]
Last edited by 5eraph on Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sdageforde
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Florida

Post by sdageforde » Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:19 pm

umm.... if memory serves, and it usually doesn't

small computer serial interface...

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:28 pm

& All

Agreed off topic now.....

MC.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:39 am

i meant plain sata too...
dun use raid...

:)

it is your choice

sorry about the topic =)

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:36 pm

I just repeated what the industry specialists have said, so no my statements weren't incorrect. If the industry specialists as well as the manufacturors are incorrect then so be it. I had read somewhere, I'll have to go and dig it up when I have more time, that Seagate, Hitachi, and a few other companies have said that they were going to quit making IDE devices over the next year or two and that SATA was going to be replacing them. Just because they don't have many optical drives out now using SATA doesn't mean much as Western Digital, Hitachi, Maxtor and others have shown it's still possible to run the SATA controller off of the IDE one, since the majority of their drives to start with, (not sure anymore,) were IDE drives with a SATA controller, so it is still feasible that drives will over the next year or two will stop using the IDE controllers in favor of the SATA controllers. The same article I read said a lot of the top motherboard manufacturors were also going to stop including the floppy and IDE controllers from them in the next couple of years thus making it more expensive for one to use an IDE device which is a weak link in the bus chain, therefore holding back any true performance increases. Sure you'll still find the odd motherboard that will still use the older bus for a while longer, but the mainstream stuff will no longer have it. Much like the 32-bit Processor motherboards now, they are getting harder and harder to come by, soon they wont be available any more either.

Anyways, back to the topic of the thread, I hope you've been able to get your system back up and going again and were able to recover as many of the files as you could from the other ones, Ryan... Murphy gave you a lousy christmas present, but hopefully baby new years will give you a better one with this new year.
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

Alanoll
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:19 am

Post by Alanoll » Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:28 am

Since we bring up Murphy....
"It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious"

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:09 am

So true... however, IDE will remain on motherboards for some time mostly because of CD-ROM drives...
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

bcann
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Muswellbrook, NSW Australia

Raid 5 setup for your data

Post by bcann » Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:22 pm

ryan why aren't you running a raid 5 setup?? i know this time was a controller foobar .... but at least with raid 5 if one drive dies ... you computer doesn't. raid zero is great for speed and minimal redundancy ... but i wouldn't use it in a critical environment ...

just my 2.2c INC GST :)

by the way ryan if ur in australia im sure we could work out some sort of deal for cheaper pc hardware as i run a computer store ... so at least u could get wholesale price.

Mavericc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:31 am

Re: Raid 5 setup for your data

Post by Mavericc » Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:03 am

It's not even that great for speed, it's just asking for trouble is what it is if you aks me (speaking from experience) :wink:
Idiots try to maintain order - A genius can control chaos

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:16 pm

RAID10 can handle one drive failure and under the right conditions, 2 simultaneous drive failures.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:31 am

RyanVM wrote:RAID10 can handle one drive failure and under the right conditions, 2 simultaneous drive failures.

Howdy Ryan, Not being pushy but do ya have an update on your broken drives yet & the status of your files?
Sorry but you have appeared to have cultivated a bunch of update pack dependant junkies with a need to feed their habit.
:o

Cheers

MC

PS: Not I however am very pleased with your last pack & workin superbly.
The Man from Aus

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:08 am

Mavericks choice wrote:
RyanVM wrote:RAID10 can handle one drive failure and under the right conditions, 2 simultaneous drive failures.

Howdy Ryan, Not being pushy but do ya have an update on your broken drives yet & the status of your files?
Sorry but you have appeared to have cultivated a bunch of update pack dependant junkies with a need to feed their habit.
:o

Cheers

MC

PS: Not I however am very pleased with your last pack & workin superbly.
This should hold you over for the time being. ;)
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1137
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:28 am

@ Sig

Very cool small pack & very fast DL,can't wait to try it.

Cheers

MC. :o
The Man from Aus

Locked