RyanVM Update Pack 1.2.1 - Released April 12, 2005

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

RyanVM Update Pack 1.2.1 - Released April 12, 2005

Post by RyanVM » Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:25 pm

Replies are welcome in this thread, just try to keep them on topic.

What's New
  • ALL: Added KB883667 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB884018 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB884038 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB884047 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB884723 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB884897 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB885936 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885835 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB887173 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB887569 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB887606 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB888111 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB888254 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB888413 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB888603 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB888622 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB889016 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB889073 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB889320 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB889527 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885267 and KB886185 Hotfixes).
  • ALL: Added KB890048 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB890552 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB890558 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB890841 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB890859 Hotfix. (Replaces KB887589 and KB889321 Hotfixes).
  • ALL: Added KB890864 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB890923 Hotfix. (Replaces KB843518, KB867282, KB892052, and KB894179 Hotfixes).
  • ALL: Added KB890937 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885453 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB890951 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885835 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB890953 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB891117 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB891566 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB891570 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB891849 Hotfix. (Replaces KB887885 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB892227 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB892233 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB892313 Hotfix. (Replaces KB888407 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB892489 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB892559 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB892627 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB893066 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB893086 Hotfix. (Replaces KB890047 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB893089 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB893226 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB893317 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB893357 Hotfix. (Replaces KB884862 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB893609 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB894083 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB894794 Hotfix.
  • ALL: Added KB895246 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885270 and KB885865 Hotfixes).
  • ALL: Added KB895900 Hotfix. (Replaces KB885835 Hotfix).
  • ALL: Added KB893803 - Windows Installer 3.1. (Replaces KB885898 and KB888404 Hotfixes).
  • ALL: Renamed _cabupdate.exe to __integrate.exe and improved its upgrade functionality.
  • ALL: Updated Malicious Software Removal Tool registry entry to version 1.3.
  • FULL & MEDIUM: Updated Remote Desktop Client to version 5.2.3790.1830.
  • FULL: Added SysInternals Filemon 7.0.
  • FULL: Added SysInternals Process Explorer 9.03.
  • FULL: Added SysInternals Regmon 7.0.
  • FULL: Added UPX 1.25.
  • LITE: Added Windows Script 5.6.8825.
PLEASE NOTE THAT INSTALLATION DIRECTIONS HAVE CHANGED (again)

Download Here
Last edited by RyanVM on Thu May 12, 2005 5:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:02 am

Thanks!

This word would not be enough to really appreciate ur unconditional help/effort given into the creation of ur Update Packs.

All i can say is T*H*A*N*K*S!!!

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:06 am

Ermm, Ryan, are the download links working?

Getting 404 Error using Opera and IE.

*UPDATE* Links are working now.

OCedHrt
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:32 am

Post by OCedHrt » Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:34 am

How come the tcpip.sys included with 1.2.1 is a very old version? I replaced mine with the one from my comp after updates from the 12th (same as the one in 1.2). Don't know if this will work or not..but doesn't seem like it should be an older version.

ronliang

Post by ronliang » Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:44 am

OCedHrt wrote:How come the tcpip.sys included with 1.2.1 is a very old version? I replaced mine with the one from my comp after updates from the 12th (same as the one in 1.2). Don't know if this will work or not..but doesn't seem like it should be an older version.
really? hacked tcpip.sys? that file in 1.2.1 should be the one from Security Update for Windows XP KB893066, it came out on Apirl 12th.

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:56 am

this topic made me very happy....
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:22 am

OCedHrt wrote:How come the tcpip.sys included with 1.2.1 is a very old version? I replaced mine with the one from my comp after updates from the 12th (same as the one in 1.2). Don't know if this will work or not..but doesn't seem like it should be an older version.
WTF are you talking about? 1.2.1 includes build 2631 of tcpip.sys. If you're seeing otherwise, it's an error on your end, not mine.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:23 am

As of this morning (about 7 hours after releasing), the Full pack has been downloaded 179 times already.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

tvissoc

Post by tvissoc » Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:10 pm

Currently, the Full CAB shows as only 137kb.... Medium seems fine.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:18 pm

Hi!

RyanVM,you made a really amazing work on this update pack! :lol:
I upgrade xp sp2 manualy and work like a sharm,without any errors.
Now I can made iso file and try to install this update version.
Big Thanx for your work and take care!

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:11 pm

Installation went fine , no probs . qfecheck reports 111 hotifxes.. thnx again ryan :)

kulmegil
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:50 pm

Post by kulmegil » Thu Apr 14, 2005 3:16 am

Natively supported by nLite 0.99.9 and later versions for automatic integration.
And where can I find such a thing?
Is it avail. for common plp, or just beta for chosen ones? :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:38 am

You'll just have to wait a day or so like everybody else. Yeesh, nuhi said on his site yesterday that it would be out shortly.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

neil

Post by neil » Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:36 am

don't know if you realised or not but you added KB843518 and then added its replacement hotfix KB890923, so 843518 is no longer necessary.

edit: also you have added KB892052 and this is also replaced by 890923 so is not required either.

edit2: same goes for KB894179 - not needed due to KB890923
Last edited by neil on Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:45 am

I just forgot to remove the line from the changelog. updatepack.html reflects it properly. I just edited the first post of this topic and will update changelog.html when I get home from work tonight.

But yeah, KB843518 isn't actually referenced at all in the INF. It's just an erroneous listing in the changelog.

neil

Post by neil » Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:50 am

quite right, updatepack.html is indeed correct.

remember to remove the others i highlighted above too :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:05 pm

Must have just forgotten to remove the changelog entries obsoleted by that hotfix when I added it. Oops :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

larciel
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:14 am

Post by larciel » Thu Apr 14, 2005 4:39 pm

little help on your no WMP9 .inf ..

smack me when i'm wrong..

so that file is used when making the WMP10 w/ bash's script ?

i currently have i386 folder (containing WM10) that i made w/ bash's script, and i just put those files into my UA_XP's i386 folder.

do i need to download your .cab file ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:48 pm

Follow the directions on the site.
1.) Integrate the regular update pack normally.
2.) Integrate WMP10 with Bashrat's script
3.) Unpack the No-WMP CAB to i386.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:50 pm

RyanVM wrote:Must have just forgotten to remove the changelog entries obsoleted by that hotfix when I added it. Oops :P
Site updated. Thanks for noticing :)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:38 pm

RyanVM wrote:Follow the directions on the site.
1.) Integrate the regular update pack normally.
2.) Integrate WMP10 with Bashrat's script
3.) Unpack the No-WMP CAB to i386.
WMP9-Less INF Files - To be used in conjunction with Bâshrat the Sneaky's WMP10 Slipstreamer.
No-WMP Full 1.2.1 14.6KB ed398a07ad31a38aa9bc16a2156cc859
No-WMP Medium 1.2.1 13.9KB 9f22f0af9a482d197f5e7ae7a87f4ce6
No-WMP Lite 1.2.1 13.7KB 232659a5c127bf8b35d70c43e18d6f07
Integrate the update pack normally, extract the above CAB to i386, then run Bâshrat's script.
Now what is it...? First No-WMP to I386 or first Bâshrat's script?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:46 pm

meh, it doesn't really matter given that Bashrat's script doesn't touch svcpack.inf or RVMUpPck.inf anyway. All that matters is that No-WMP is extracted after the update pack CAB.

Common sense, people! ;) :)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:53 pm

k :)

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:51 am

Minor prob used n-lite to integrate and qfecheck reports none installed yet windows update only shows one update needed WTF??? Am I using qfecheck wrong?

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Fri Apr 15, 2005 5:04 am

Hey ryan,

Should add KB889527 to FAQ.

For hacked Tcpip.sys as to why qfecheck says should be reinstalled.
God Bless America

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 15, 2005 6:40 am

Like this?
QFECheck reports that KB893066 must be reinstalled.
This problem is caused by using a hacked version of tcpip.sys. There's really nothing that can be done other than to just ignore the message and be aware of why it occurs.
;)
Last edited by RyanVM on Fri Apr 15, 2005 6:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 15, 2005 6:42 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Minor prob used n-lite to integrate and qfecheck reports none installed yet windows update only shows one update needed WTF??? Am I using qfecheck wrong?
Ask nuhi :)

I don't know how many times I can say this here - nLite integration is completely beyond my control. The only thing I have to do with it is giving nuhi information in advance so he can plan accordingly and I provide a file (entries.txt) with the necessary dosnet.inf/txtsetup.sif entries that he can parse. Beyond that, it's out of my control if there's something buggy with it.

kulmegil
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:50 pm

Post by kulmegil » Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:19 am

Hi!

I tried integraing new 1.2.x Lite to polish Windows XP but after textmode setup, as soon as it enters GUI setup it shows bluescreen saying that Logon process has crashed (or someting like that, I'm writting from school now)

a) My guess it's KB887186 hotfix that replaces orgyginal logon.exe or there is some more / other ?

b) How exactly do I remove it (them)?

I really want to try and make it workable on my lang, I don't plan to translate it (I hope frees or Kamil will succed someday and rel. it), just make english one work (last working one is 1.05)
Last edited by kulmegil on Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

a06
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:11 pm

Weird Problem

Post by a06 » Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:49 am

so I downloaded and manually integrated 1.2.1 as per your instructions.
I then overwrote "sysoc" with my version (same one i used for 1.2.0 - it's your version, plus it just comments out messenger line), and replaced the "tcpip" with your hacked version.
these are the only changes i made to the core.

for some reason, when windows setup gets to the "which partition do you want to install on" (and i normally select one to delete, then format), the ocmputer freezes.

i dont know if this matters, but i overwrote all files from 1.2.0 (not a clean disc).

what's wrong?

tbone2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:04 am
Contact:

Post by tbone2 » Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:57 am

use a clean sp2 xp

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:40 am

kulmegil wrote:Hi!

I tried integraing new 1.2.x Lite to polish Windows XP but after textmode setup, as soon as it enters GUI setup it shows bluescreen saying that Logon process has crashed (or someting like that, I'm writting from school now)

a) My guess it's KB887186 hotfix that replaces orgyginal logon.exe or there is some more / other ?

b) How exactly do I remove it (them)?

I really want to try and make it workable on my lang, I don't plan to translate it (I hope frees or Kamil will succed someday and rel. it), just make english one work (last working one is 1.05)
I say very plainly on my site that non-English versions are NOT supported, and I mean it. Sorry, but you're on your own.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Weird Problem

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:41 am

a06 wrote:so I downloaded and manually integrated 1.2.1 as per your instructions.
I then overwrote "sysoc" with my version (same one i used for 1.2.0 - it's your version, plus it just comments out messenger line), and replaced the "tcpip" with your hacked version.
these are the only changes i made to the core.

for some reason, when windows setup gets to the "which partition do you want to install on" (and i normally select one to delete, then format), the ocmputer freezes.

i dont know if this matters, but i overwrote all files from 1.2.0 (not a clean disc).

what's wrong?
No idea. I tested integration over every previous version I could get ahold of and had no issues with them (ended up with byte for byte identical CDs to an integration over a clean CD). My guess is you had some other "junk" on there which is getting in the way. Short of knowing what it is, there's not much I can do to point you in the direction. Try a clean CD and see what happens.

Vid0
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:24 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by Vid0 » Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:46 pm

deleted
Last edited by Vid0 on Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

war59312
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:11 am
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Post by war59312 » Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:11 pm

Brashrats script does not touch the two files in the no-wmp cab so no.... just ryans pack has to be done first..after that does not matter which order like ryan already said....

Working fine here anyways....
God Bless America

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Fri Apr 15, 2005 3:18 pm

here also...
things are quite logical...
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:10 pm

:?: Sorry but I can't seem to locate on this site the features of the No-WMP files...

I would assume that this removes the WMP from the installation...but then why integrate another version if you don't want WMP ?

Could someone clear this up for me?
What is the benefit of this?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:12 pm

The benefit is that Windows doesn't think WMP9 hotfixes are installed when WMP10 has been integrated into the CD.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:24 pm

Oh, ok.

A couple other questions...

nLite is an interesting idea, but does it actually function the way it's supposed to for anyone else?

I manually integrated RVM Update Pack Medium and then used the WMP-X Slipstreamer...when I went to add the line to the HIVEDEF.inf I noticed there was a tonne of blank lines, which I removed...but when I tested the CD it seemed to hang at 39 minutes remaining for a while...can anyone tell me if this has happened to them and whether it is from the lines or the WMP-X?

Zoofield

Post by Zoofield » Sun Apr 17, 2005 5:43 pm

using nlite 99.9 and pack 1.2.1.

I want to know what hot fix has been added since 1.2 that is leaving garbage on my %systemdrive%
it is creating a folder of a different number each time i install so i can't just delete it with batch.

my install would be perfect if it was not for this file that i have to change permissions on and delete everytime.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:00 pm

Those folders are created when hotfixes try to install. What are you trying to install from your unattended CD? My update pack doesn't run any exes.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:30 pm

I didn't get any garbage folders but I did get a good-sized setuperr.log file...

* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:09 pm

These are the only three that show up in setuperr.log for me
***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\calc.exe] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\mstsc.exe] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\mstscax.dll] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***
I'd say if you're getting more than that, you've got other issues.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:16 pm

orcoxp wrote:I didn't get any garbage folders but I did get a good-sized setuperr.log file...

* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
Wait these files seem to have a common theme
Hehe...I think I have realized the benefit of No-WMP!!!
:?
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:18 pm

RyanVM wrote:These are the only three that show up in setuperr.log for me
***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\calc.exe] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\mstsc.exe] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***

Error:
Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\mstscax.dll] is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file.

***
I'd say if you're getting more than that, you've got other issues.
That's using the full version right?
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:21 pm

Correct
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:23 pm

orcoxp wrote:
orcoxp wrote:I didn't get any garbage folders but I did get a good-sized setuperr.log file...

* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
* is not signed properly by microsoft blah blah blah
Wait these files seem to have a common theme
Hehe...I think I have realized the benefit of No-WMP!!!
:?
If you're integrating WMP10, all of those files will be unsigned to Windows. That's got nothing to do with my pack (and in that regard, that's not what the No-WMP files are for).

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:40 pm

Is this why it appears to hang at 39 minutes remaining?
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

Maz

Post by Maz » Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:46 am

I started with a clean slipstream of SP2 and Update Pack 1.2.1 full. Tested in vmware and check with windows update and qfecheck = OK. Then I used Resource Hacker and some changes in explorer.exe and shell32.dll that was included in the update pack. Recompress and put back in the i386 dir. Retest in vmware and now qfecheck state "This hotfix should be reinstll", windows update says no available updates. Any help is greatly welcome.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:41 am

If you hack files, the checksums will obviously change for the files and QFECheck will complain. If you read the FAQ, you'd have seen that general pattern :rolleyes:

That being said, it's safe to ignore so long as you know why it says a certain fix must be reinstalled.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:45 am

i don't know why are people so obsessed with QFECheck anyway...
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

Locked