Recent update of Ryan update 2.05 and WM10 2.4 addon causing

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Recent update of Ryan update 2.05 and WM10 2.4 addon causing

Post by Ghostrider » Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:51 pm

Ok, I'm not sure which update is giving me all the trouble but here goes with the info.
I have been creating unnattended multiboot installs with the Integrator (including RVMUpdatePack2.0.4.cab, Push That Freakin Button Addon Pack 1.06.4.cab, RVMAddons_1.6.1.cab, RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab and RVMAddonsWMP10_2.3.cab) Then Powerpacker them into OEM Home & Pro, Retail Home & Pro and a single Corp Folders.

My $OEM$ folder RunonceEx installs powertoys, Xpize, .Net 1.1 & 2 and runs a batch script for adding OEM.bmp and serial numbers if required, Swgreeds codec pack registers files and also add reg tweaks during this phase. All the installs have previously worked flawlessly.

My last build updated RVMUpdatePack2.0.5.cab, RVMAddons_1.6.2.cab and RVMAddonsWMP10_2.4.cab, now when the install completes and it shows the windows will restart in 60 seconds I get a small runonceex style box pop up at the top left saying updating personalised settings for IE, media player, themes etc. then windows restarts and my IE and Email start menu shortcuts point to the internet connection configurator, there are absolutely no Media player shortcuts, although it is installed, and i cannot play DVD's anymore as it says i don't have a codec. I also noticed that there are no shortcuts under the Start/accessories/entertainment folder either.

Anyone have any idea which pack just screwed up my perfect install disk.!?
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:50 pm

As a side to this issue I deleted the old Ryanupdate 2.04 and WM10 Addon 2.3, does anyone have a link to download them again so i can do some tests.... Please.?
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:03 pm

Well dude all I can say is that Update Pack 2.0.5, WMP10 2.4 and Addons 1.6.2 work flawlessly here, so it must be some other component you are using that is being outdated and/or incompatible.

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:20 pm

I'm inclined to agree with you as there are no other glaring posts about errors. but I am asking which is likely to cause the conflict where non existed before...???
The only thing that appears different with these new installs is the RunonceEx like popup windows that states its updating personalised settings for IE, Media player and others right before doing the final cleanup and restart... What is instructing that..?

This is my RunOnceEx.cmd

Code: Select all

cmdow @ /HID
@echo off

SET KEY=HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx

REG ADD %KEY% /V TITLE /D "Final Applications and Hotfixes" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\005 /VE /D "Codecs Files Install" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\005 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\install\codecs.cmd" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\010 /VE /D "Importing Registry Tweaks" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\010 /V 1 /D "REGEDIT /S %systemdrive%\install\regtweaks.reg" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\015 /VE /D "Oem Logo Files" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\015 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\install\oemlogo.cmd" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\020 /VE /D "Installing .Net SP 1.1" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\020 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\Install\DOTNET\netfxsp1.exe" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\025 /VE /D "Installing .Net 2" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\025 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\Install\DOTNET\dotNET20.exe" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\030 /VE /D "Installing Adobe Reader 707" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\030 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\Install\ADOBEREADER7\acroread707.exe" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\035 /VE /D "Installing XPize" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\035 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\install\XPize.exe /S /express" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\040 /VE /D "Cleaning Up and Rebooting" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\040 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\install\cleanup.cmd" /f

EXIT
This is the list of Apps installed via XPInstall (older version of Xplode)

Code: Select all

<items>
		<item name='XP Version Winipcfg'>
			<file name='Installing Wntipcfg...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\WntIpcfg.msi' arguments='/qb'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Windows Messenger 7'>
			<file name='Installing Windows Messenger 7.5...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\MSN\MsnMsgs.msi' arguments='/qn'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='TweakUI 2.10 Powertoy'>
			<file name='Installing TweakUI 2.10 Powertoy...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\PowerToys\TweakUI.msi' arguments='/qb'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Task Switcher Powertoy'>
			<file name='Installing Task Switcher Powertoy...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\PowerToys\Taskswitch.exe' arguments='/s /v/qn'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Desk Manager Powertoy'>
			<file name='Installing Desk Manager Powertoy...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\PowerToys\Deskman.exe' arguments='/s /v/qn'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Timer Shot Powertoy'>
			<file name='Installing Timer Shot Powertoy...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\PowerToys\Timershot.exe' arguments='/s /v/qn'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='PowerCalc Powertoy'>
			<file name='Installing PowerCalc Powertoy...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\PowerToys\PowerCalc.exe' arguments='/s /v/qn'></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Copying patched UXTheme'>
			<file name='Copying patched UXTheme.dll...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\Install\uxtheme.cmd' arguments=''></file>
		</item>
		<item name='Installing Hotfixes'>
			<file name='Running QCHAIN...' command='execute' program='#SYSTEMDRIVE#\install\QCHAIN.EXE' arguments='' />
		</item>
		<item name='Install 7 Zip'>
			<file name='Installing 7Zip...' command='execute' program='#systemdrive#\install\7zip\7Zip.exe' arguments='/S'></file>
		</item>
	</items>
This is my Reg tweaks file

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 

;This will add "Services" to the right-click menu of "My Computer" 
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\services] 
@=hex(2):53,00,65,00,72,00,76,00,69,00,63,00,65,00,73,00,00,00 
"SuppressionPolicy"=dword:4000003c 
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\services\command] 
@=hex(2):25,00,77,00,69,00,6e,00,64,00,69,00,72,00,25,00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73, 00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,6d,00,6d,00,63,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00, 65,00,20,00,2f,00,73,00,20,00,25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52, 00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00, 32,00,5c,00,73,00,65,00,72,00,76,00,69,00,63,00,65,00,73,00,2e,00,6d,00,73, 00,63,00,20,00,2f,00,73,00,00,00

;This adds the "Open Command Window Here" on the right-click menu for folders
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\cmd]
@="Open Command Window Here"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\cmd\command]
@="cmd.exe /k \"cd %L\""

;Speed up Network Browsing by removing Network Scheduled Tasks
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RemoteComputer\NameSpace\{D6277990-4C6A-11CF-8D87-00AA0060F5BF}]

;Disable Automatic Restart in the event of a BSOD
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CrashControl]
"AutoReboot"=dword:00000000

;Disable the Desktop Cleanup Wizard
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Desktop\CleanupWiz]
"NoRun"=dword:00000001

;Disables Error Reporting, but notifies when errors occur
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PCHealth\ErrorReporting]
"DoReport"=dword:00000000

;Disable Remote Registry Service
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\RemoteRegistry]
"Start"=dword:00000004

;Prevents Internet Explorer windows from being reused
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
"AllowWindowReuse"=dword:00000000

;Max your Internet Explorer's simultaneous downloads to 10 (default was 2)
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings]
"MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server"=dword:0000000a
"MaxConnectionsPerServer"=dword:0000000a

;Allow renaming of Recycle Bin
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}\ShellFolder]
"Attributes"=hex:50,01,00,20
"CallForAttributes"=dword:00000000

;Disables Windows Tour bubble popup
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour]
"RunCount"=dword:00000000
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Tour]
"RunCount"=dword:00000000

;Corrects Shutdown Program freeze
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management]
"ClearPageFileAtShutdown"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop]
"AutoEndTasks"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control]
"WaitToKillServiceTimeout"="1000"

;Sets the Start Menu Icons to Display
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced]
"Hidden"=dword:00000001
"ShowCompColor"=dword:00000001
"HideFileExt"=dword:00000000
"DontPrettyPath"=dword:00000000
"ShowInfoTip"=dword:00000001
"HideIcons"=dword:00000000
"WebView"=dword:00000001
"Filter"=dword:00000000
"SuperHidden"=dword:00000001
"SeparateProcess"=dword:00000000
"ListviewAlphaSelect"=dword:00000001
"ListviewShadow"=dword:00000001
"ListviewWatermark"=dword:00000001
"TaskbarAnimations"=dword:00000001
"StartMenuInit"=dword:00000002
"StartButtonBalloonTip"=dword:00000002
"TaskbarSizeMove"=dword:00000001
"TaskbarGlomming"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowNetPlaces"=dword:00000001
"Start_LargeMFUIcons"=dword:00000001
"Start_MinMFU"=dword:00000006
"Start_ShowControlPanel"=dword:00000002
"Start_EnableDragDrop"=dword:00000001
"StartMenuFavorites"=dword:00000000
"Start_ShowHelp"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowMyComputer"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowMyDocs"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowMyMusic"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowMyPics"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowPrinters"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowRun"=dword:00000001
"Start_ScrollPrograms"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowSearch"=dword:00000001
"Start_ShowRecentDocs"=dword:00000002
"Start_AutoCascade"=dword:00000001
"Start_NotifyNewApps"=dword:00000000
"Start_AdminToolsRoot"=dword:00000000
"StartMenuAdminTools"=dword:00000001
"NoNetCrawling"=dword:00000000
"FolderContentsInfoTip"=dword:00000001
"FriendlyTree"=dword:00000001
"WebViewBarricade"=dword:00000000
"DisableThumbnailCache"=dword:00000000
"ShowSuperHidden"=dword:00000001
"ClassicViewState"=dword:00000000
"PersistBrowsers"=dword:00000000
"CascadeNetworkConnections"="YES"
"StartMenuRun"=dword:00000000
"IntelliMenus"=dword:00000000
"EnableBalloonTips"=dword:00000000
"Start_ShowNetConn"=dword:00000002
"Start_ShowSetProgramAccessAndDefaults"=dword:00000001


;Sets the Desktop Icons to Display
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu]
"{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}.default"="0"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel]
"{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000000
"{450D8FBA-AD25-11D0-98A8-0800361B1103}"=dword:00000000
"{208D2C60-3AEA-1069-A2D7-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000000
"{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced]
"MapNetDrvBtn"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"SearchSystemDirs"=dword:00000001
"SearchHidden"=dword:00000001
"IncludeSubFolders"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"UnlockerAssistant"=-
So including the Addons Packs thats my unnattended install...
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

Acheron
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Acheron » Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:47 pm

I personnaly got problems using XPize. If any errors occur first try without XPize

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:07 pm

Code: Select all

Sets the Start Menu Icons to Display 
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced] 
"Hidden"=dword:00000001 
"ShowCompColor"=dword:00000001 
"HideFileExt"=dword:00000000 
"DontPrettyPath"=dword:00000000 
"ShowInfoTip"=dword:00000001 
"HideIcons"=dword:00000000 
"WebView"=dword:00000001 
"Filter"=dword:00000000 
"SuperHidden"=dword:00000001 
"SeparateProcess"=dword:00000000 
"ListviewAlphaSelect"=dword:00000001 
"ListviewShadow"=dword:00000001 
"ListviewWatermark"=dword:00000001 
"TaskbarAnimations"=dword:00000001 
"StartMenuInit"=dword:00000002 
"StartButtonBalloonTip"=dword:00000002 
"TaskbarSizeMove"=dword:00000001 
"TaskbarGlomming"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowNetPlaces"=dword:00000001 
"Start_LargeMFUIcons"=dword:00000001 
"Start_MinMFU"=dword:00000006 
"Start_ShowControlPanel"=dword:00000002 
"Start_EnableDragDrop"=dword:00000001 
"StartMenuFavorites"=dword:00000000 
"Start_ShowHelp"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowMyComputer"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowMyDocs"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowMyMusic"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowMyPics"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowPrinters"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowRun"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ScrollPrograms"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowSearch"=dword:00000001 
"Start_ShowRecentDocs"=dword:00000002 
"Start_AutoCascade"=dword:00000001 
"Start_NotifyNewApps"=dword:00000000 
"Start_AdminToolsRoot"=dword:00000000 
"StartMenuAdminTools"=dword:00000001 
"NoNetCrawling"=dword:00000000 
"FolderContentsInfoTip"=dword:00000001 
"FriendlyTree"=dword:00000001 
"WebViewBarricade"=dword:00000000 
"DisableThumbnailCache"=dword:00000000 
"ShowSuperHidden"=dword:00000001 
"ClassicViewState"=dword:00000000 
"PersistBrowsers"=dword:00000000 
"CascadeNetworkConnections"="YES" 
"StartMenuRun"=dword:00000000 
"IntelliMenus"=dword:00000000 
"EnableBalloonTips"=dword:00000000 
"Start_ShowNetConn"=dword:00000002 
"Start_ShowSetProgramAccessAndDefaults"=dword:00000001 
this was the offending list of entries which caused the problem, i reduced it to the bare minimum and now it works Ok.
Sorry for the wasted thread...
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:03 pm

I have to Re-Activate this post, I spoke too soon as I still have the same problem. I have removed the whole $OEM$ section of the install so that left Ryanupdate 2.05, WMP10 2.04, PTFB Addon, Swgreed codecs and Ryan Addon 1.6.2....!!!!!!!

Something is activating a personalised settings upgrade when windows starts, but only in the new version.... does anyone know which hotfix/pack might be causing this as i'm assuming this command is screwing me over....

P.S Does anyone have the previous versions of Ryanupdate (2.04) and WMP10 (2.03)
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
AntinousK
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:13 am

Post by AntinousK » Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:34 pm

Ghostrider wrote:P.S Does anyone have the previous versions of Ryanupdate (2.04) and WMP10 (2.03)
Yeah I still have them.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:40 pm

The personalized settings thing is the result of the new IE update. It first showed up in KB912945 and I'm assuming will be present in all future versions.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:58 pm

AntinousK wrote:
Ghostrider wrote:P.S Does anyone have the previous versions of Ryanupdate (2.04) and WMP10 (2.03)
Yeah I still have them.
If you have a ftp client can you upload them to ftp.xxxxxxxx.xxx username and password xxxxxxxxx. it will be available until 22/4
Last edited by Ghostrider on Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:16 pm

RyanVM wrote:The personalized settings thing is the result of the new IE update. It first showed up in KB912945 and I'm assuming will be present in all future versions.
Ok, so thats now included in the update cab 2.05, or at least the updated version of KB912945. What's busting my butt is that something is screwing up my perfectly good unattended install and i can't figure it out.... i removed my $OEM$ folder so nothing in there affected my last test, only BTS driverpacks, your 3 packs, Swgreed codecs and PTFB addons are left and none should affect the install. BTW all MD5 hashes check out. Have you any suggestions... ? 6 million dollar question, I know.
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:02 pm

Besides adding one thing at a time? No.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:18 pm

RyanVM wrote:Besides adding one thing at a time? No.
LOL... Ok, I'll carry on doing that. I presume your 3 packs work together and with the BTS driverpacks.?
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:56 pm

I can't vouch for BtS' work, only my own.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:14 am

RyanVM wrote:I can't vouch for BtS' work, only my own.
:wink: I wasn't sure if you used BTS driverpacks in your own builds, if you did then at least you could have said they work together.
I don't think it BTS anyway, I removed PTFB and left your packs and did a Virtual PC test and it all worked, i'm going to do a real PC test today.
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:39 pm

I have also has some strange issues with my latest compiled cd. I ran into an issue where windows seemingly install, goes through all its steps, then boots to the desktop... and it was the classic theme (not blue bar) with no media player or internet explorer... upon further checking, the ONLY thing that was in the Programs Files folder was 'Common Files'... absolutly nothing else... and I am puzzled as to how/why this happened...

... but all in all... I re-compiled the disks with the same data again, and it worked without issues.

P.S. - Not to hijack the thread or anything, but I also noticed that during an install, I now get a command window about Windows Media Connect and stays for a bit with no text, then dissapears (assuming it completed).

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Sat Apr 22, 2006 2:46 pm

Ghostrider wrote:
RyanVM wrote:I can't vouch for BtS' work, only my own.
:wink: I wasn't sure if you used BTS driverpacks in your own builds, if you did then at least you could have said they work together.
I don't think it BTS anyway, I removed PTFB and left your packs and did a Virtual PC test and it all worked, i'm going to do a real PC test today.
Ok, i've done lots of real testing and just to throw another addon into the fray I used Boogeys WM10 without WMC2 addon in place of Ryans Wm10 addon in some of the builds and I can say that Swgreeds codec pack and Ryans WM10 addon 2.4 do not get on together when compiled in a unattended format, something in the registry entries screws up the install. If I use Boogey's pack then it all works. I am going to try Boogey's full pack with WMC2 to see if WMC2 is the problem...

More to come....
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:02 pm

Ghostrider wrote:
AntinousK wrote:
Ghostrider wrote:P.S Does anyone have the previous versions of Ryanupdate (2.04) and WMP10 (2.03)
Yeah I still have them.
If you have a ftp client can you upload them to ftp.xxxxxxxx.xxx username and password xxxxxxxxx. it will be available until 22/4
Got the files, thanks....
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:05 pm

Well, it seems that all the different builds using Boogey's WM10 addon all worked, no errors. when i use Ryans WM10 2.4 addon my unattended install is corrupted on windows startup. I believe due to registry settings or due to a hotfix that maybe included in Ryans WM10 that is not included in Boogey's, as a final test I am going to rebuild yet again but will use Ryans 2.3 WM10
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:28 am

I've Given up............ see http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2009 also
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

earl
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:17 pm

Post by earl » Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:57 pm

Ghostrider wrote:I've Given up............ see http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2009 also

see this link :rolleyes:

viewtopic.php?t=2009

smashly
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:22 am

Post by smashly » Mon May 01, 2006 10:27 pm

there are absolutely no Media player shortcuts, although it is installed, and i cannot play DVD's anymore as it says i don't have a codec. I also noticed that there are no shortcuts under the Start/accessories/entertainment folder either.
Funny you should say that you should say this ,I thought it was just me.

My first try with XP, SP2, rvm 2.0.5, RVM wmp10 2.4 , Kels_swgreed_codec_addon_v2.1.CAB (1st 2.1 ,one with broken AC3 cpl) and 4 of MrsPeels gamepack addons.
I had the same shortcuts missing as well and a few others.
Only 1 shortcut for MrsPeels game DROD , even the MS games had no shortcuts (which I didn't remove). No outlook express shortcuts anywhere.
No IE shortcuts.

For me it was a shortcuts.inf I use from runonceex. I had given the same group # to 2 shortcuts in the shortcuts.inf file, even though my inf wasn't meant to be altering any of the missing shortcuts. I corrected my shortcuts.inf , made my own codec pack and ran from runonceex(I used swgreed pack and added vfapi and FFDS/Vfw+cpls, minicalc , FourCC changer into 7z sfx)redid my image and all worked like it was spose to.

persist with it Ghostrider, you'll nail it eventually.
Good luck
Cheers

User avatar
Ghostrider
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:35 pm

Post by Ghostrider » Tue May 02, 2006 2:23 pm

I'm glad someone else was having trouble too, i was going nuts trying to figure that one.
I did work it out in the end, I created a SFX file of the inf install version and copied it to my $oem$ $Docs Desktop folder so now when the install finishes i extract the files to a folder right on my desktop, install then delete. Not exactly unnattended but it works every time and i can play DVD's too, when integrating i can get the install to work but cant play DVD's without running the codecs.bat to re-register.
For economical reasons, the light at the end of the tunnel has been...... Turned off.!!!

Post Reply