RyanVM Update Pack 2.0.7a - Released June 28, 2006

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:22 pm

why you removed KB898439? please explain me.. what for errors occured through that?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:26 pm

More blackscreen issues
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:43 pm

and it seems that the black screen issues are now gone ..........

Shark007
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by Shark007 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:47 pm

RyanVM wrote:The 2.0.7a update CAB has been uploaded and is available from the first post.
Thanks for making this an addon. This filesize of 2.24meg will only take 17min on dialup. Not only is my access dialup, but my best connection speed is 26.4k. I cant even get 56k.
lol, Can you tell i miss highspeed access?

shark

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:59 pm

Shark007 wrote:Thanks for making this an addon. This filesize of 2.24meg will only take 17min on dialup. Not only is my access dialup, but my best connection speed is 26.4k. I cant even get 56k.
lol, Can you tell i miss highspeed access?

shark
I Second that and Thank GOD for Inventing CD-RW's

Shark007
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by Shark007 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 3:05 pm

A word of warning to other dialup users. The latest release of KB911280 from Microsoft dated June 28/06 has been giving me BSOD's. I replaced the installed file rasmans.dll with the virgin SP2 version and the BSOD's have stopped.

shark

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:24 pm

Just to be clear, both the original 2.0.7 and the new 2.0.7a pack need to be integrated, yes?

Any word on an updated integrator??

Many thanks for all of your efforts!!

EaglePC
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:28 pm

Post by EaglePC » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:03 pm

ryan thanks great work,no more restart and shutdown delay :)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:06 pm

heyyy, i am seeing Integrator version 1.3.0...
not kidding , see this page, go down for link...
thanks thanks thanks

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:07 pm

newsposter wrote:Just to be clear, both the original 2.0.7 and the new 2.0.7a pack need to be integrated, yes?
If that's what the directions in my post say, then I guess so ;)
Any word on an updated integrator??
It's up.
Many thanks for all of your efforts!!
You're welcome :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:13 pm

RyanVM wrote:
newsposter wrote:Any word on an updated integrator??
It's up.
Just in time. :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:16 pm

Siginet should be making a thread in his forums for it at some point this evening, at which point I'll send a message out to the mailing list about it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

dpbarry
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:11 am

Post by dpbarry » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:00 pm

Sorry RyanVM..

Its late and I'm tired and I'm probably being a real N00b here but when you say:
If you haven't integrated 2.0.7 yet, simply include the addon at the same time as integrating the update pack.
Em.. Why not just download your new main package if you haven't integrated it yet.

Dang.. I know I'm going to get a kicking now :(

Declan

Aussie
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Aussie » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:13 pm

dpbarry wrote:Sorry RyanVM..

Its late and I'm tired and I'm probably being a real N00b here but when you say:
If you haven't integrated 2.0.7 yet, simply include the addon at the same time as integrating the update pack.
Em.. Why not just download your new main package if you haven't integrated it yet.

Dang.. I know I'm going to get a kicking now :(

Declan
The operative word being "integrated".........you only need to download the supplement addon 2.07a if you have downloaded 2.07 already, if not grab the 2.07a update pack.
Last edited by Aussie on Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:21 pm

Don't forget the people still on dialup who already downloaded 2.0.7, dpbarry. ;)

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:11 pm

thanx again for the addon :)

Shark007
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by Shark007 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:23 pm

Shark007 wrote:A word of warning to other dialup users. The latest release of KB911280 from Microsoft dated June 28/06 has been giving me BSOD's. I replaced the installed file rasmans.dll with the virgin SP2 version and the BSOD's have stopped.
It seems i jumped the gun with this report. My problem was hardware, or more specifically, driver related. Drivers that i have always used, no longer worked with the 2.0.7 pack so i substituted whatever i had near. This was the root of my problem.

shark

IG_Chris
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:00 pm

Post by IG_Chris » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:53 pm

Great job with the newest update pack. YAY!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:09 pm

dpbarry wrote:Em.. Why not just download your new main package if you haven't integrated it yet.
You can do that, but I'd like to avoid a repeat of what happened earlier this week from the surge of people downloading 2.0.7.

Plus, I made that post before I actually decided to post an entirely new CAB on the website.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:04 pm

As promised, here's a thread for the new integrator.
http://siginet.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:11 am

Glad to see it fantastic efforts guys & beta testers.

Cheers

MC.
The Man from Aus

dpbarry
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:11 am

Post by dpbarry » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:31 am

5eraph wrote:Don't forget the people still on dialup who already downloaded 2.0.7, dpbarry. ;)
Oops!! Knew it was late. I keep forgetting about dialup users now that I'm a convert to broadband.

I was even more tired a few hours later when I got a coastguard callout at 3.45am.... to 3 clowns who attempted to try and cross Dundrum bay (Irish Sea area) in a paddle swan.. Didn't get too far. It sank in about 6 feet of water but managed to make it back to shore so didn't have to call the lifeboat out

Doh!! we do get them :(

Declan

User avatar
Zardoc
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Longueuil, Quebec
Contact:

Post by Zardoc » Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:02 pm

5eraph wrote:The first two hotfixes you list are specifically for XP Starter Edition, armond.

The last one may have flown under Ryan's radar; it may solve Zardoc's problem. :)
Yep, that's exactly the problem!!!

:)
I Think I'm So Smart, That I'm Dumb Enough To believe It

User avatar
Spiritus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:59 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by Spiritus » Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:08 am

Ok! Here is newbee! Whats new in this patch 2.0.7a. It again contains WGA Tray Update

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:25 am

It says in the first post what's new in 2.0.7a...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:26 pm

I like 2.0.7a. It makes things very easy for those of us who wish to alter wga files.
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:28 pm

Version 2.1.0 will make it easier when WGA isn't included anymore at all :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:06 pm

I've had a weird issue come up twice and I wasn't even sure what to search here for. I don't post often here obviously, so if I did something wrong or left out information, go easy...

Since 2.0.7a, I've done 5 installations. All are unattended network installs. 2 of the 5 have come up with a piracy error on first boot. After that, I never see the message again. Has anyone else seen this problem? Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:13 pm

yes i did
it was cause a faulty reg entry for wga....

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:28 pm

hmmm... looks like its also missing KB917734. I must have REALLY done something wrong.

f0rbez
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:02 pm

Post by f0rbez » Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

RyanVM wrote:Version 2.1.0 will make it easier when WGA isn't included anymore at all :P
Is there any kind of ETA on v2.1.0? Next MS update day? Don't mean to bug you, but I'm having major problems with the latest version and I don't know whether to wait or just use 2.0.6. Thx Ryan :)

f0rbez
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:02 pm

Post by f0rbez » Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:39 pm

Btw, could someone please upload 2.0.6 for me? I don't have it anymore and I desperately need it. Thx so much. <3

Edit: Cancel that, I no longer need it. And I apologize to Ryan for asking on an ETA. I should have known. :P
Last edited by f0rbez on Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:40 pm

Read my FAQ
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

bober
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:53 pm

Post by bober » Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:04 am

i am going to stay with 2.05 until another version is released. too many confusing/bad things happening.

thanks for the work anyway.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jul 01, 2006 11:01 am

Most of the confusion is coming from user error, for the record
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Sesshoumaru
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:37 am

Post by Sesshoumaru » Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:05 pm

or use of other programs xD

can i get a link to download version 1.2.2 of the integrator ? i cant find a working one, and i couldnt register on siginet forum cause the mail never got to me :(

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:26 pm

Does anybody have a problem with backspace key in cmd-it doesn't delete anything, it's working like the tab... In make case even in the setup phase (shift+f10) i doesn work right. Very strange...

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:50 pm

colornokia wrote:Does anybody have a problem with backspace key in cmd-it doesn't delete anything, it's working like the tab... In make case even in the setup phase (shift+f10) i doesn work right. Very strange...
WFM
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

only one simple question:

Post by datalife » Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:22 pm

Ryan or other members: RVMU 2.0.7a contain RyanVM_WGA-Notify_2.0.7a_RemoveAddon or it is necessary integrate separately?

RVMU 2.0.7a contain RyanVM_WGA-Notify_2.0.7a_RemoveAddon or not?

Thanks.

p.s. pardon for my question but this mount i not read more forum post's for personal working problems.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:38 pm

RyanVM's Update Pack contains WGA Notify by default.

The RyanVM_WGA-Notify_2.0.7a_RemoveAddon is used to modify the pack while it is being integrated (by integrating it as an addon) to remove the WGA stuff that is present by default.

According to RyanVM, this will change in the next release where the pack will no longer have WGA in it and you will have to integrate either the notify or the standard one or be prompted to get it 1st time you use Windows Update.

So If you don't use it, your XP CD will have WGA Notify on it. But if you use the addon while integrating RVMU 2.0.7a you will NOT have WGA Notify on your XP CD at the end.

So in short, the answer to your question is no.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:41 pm

Very nicely explained. I couldn't have said it better myself :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

nowinscenario
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:55 am

Post by nowinscenario » Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:22 pm

n7Epsilon wrote:According to RyanVM, this will change in the next release where the pack will no longer have WGA in it
Hallejuah! (Where do I send the money, RyanVM...?!)

(Now if only we can get MS itself to catch up and put it as at least optional... So may call me a dreamer, but I'm not the only one ... So let's get things done...)

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:13 am

OK Thanks! :P

p.s. ...for now i need RVMU 2.0.7a + RyanVM_WGA-Notify_2.0.7a_RemoveAddon why is not possible for me my system is bumping for M$... :shock: http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=0 ... 1&from=rss

Bazza
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Bazza » Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:19 am

@datalife

Just speculation & nothing more.

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:35 pm

boooggy wrote:yes i did
it was cause a faulty reg entry for wga....
Can you explain this? Was it something I did?

bogeh711

Post by bogeh711 » Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:44 am

Hi all, I've been using resource from here for some time and was pleased with all results. But as with the released of pack 2.0.7a and integrator 1.3.0 i'm having a lil' hiccup.
Just for your understanding, I was using the resources to update 3 versions of WindowsXP namely, OEM WINXP HM SP2 EN, OEM WINXP PRO SP2 EN and CORP WINXP PRO SP1A updated to SP2.

CORP PRO - No Issues at all.
OEM HM - No Issues at all.
OEM PRO - When browse to root directory, integrator asked for source to 'Components' directory which do not exists on the disc. If I click cancel, will detect version as 'Win XP Pro - Media Center Edition'

Is it ok to just update as it is? without the components dir and detection as wrong ver? Please advise.

ThanXs and RegarTs

bogeh711

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:24 pm

fly wrote:hmmm... looks like its also missing KB917734. I must have REALLY done something wrong.
I fixed my WGA issue by redoing the integration, but is there a reason why KB9177734 has been left out? Was it too new for the pack?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:44 pm

FROM THE FIRST POST OF THE THREAD wrote:If you do run into anything you think is an error, be sure to consult with the FAQ on my site before asking about it here.
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/faq.html#wmp9
Last edited by RyanVM on Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:47 pm

KB917734 is included in RyanVM WMP10 Addon Version 2.6
Its media player update, and if you use either boooggy's or Ryans media player addons, it will get installed.

fly
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by fly » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:54 pm

okay, so I'm an idiot. I GET IT NOW.

One last problem I'm having...

The $OEM$ folder structure isn't being deleted off PC's root directory. Oddly, the files aren't there, but the folder structure itself is. Anyone else had this problem? (It wasn't in the FAQ - LOL)

EDIT: I fixed it. Damn XP is weird sometimes. it was pulling another folder named $OEM$ into the install. Very odd.

Locked