Bug in RVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe and RVMUpdatePack2.1.4.7z

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
vit100
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Canada

Bug in RVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe and RVMUpdatePack2.1.4.7z

Post by vit100 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:20 am

Hi.
Look slike i found bug inRVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe and RVMUpdatePack2.1.4.7z - at least it is repeatable.

I have original XP sp2 on server in folder XPOriginal (\\storage\applications\XPOriginal)
I select this folder as a source.

For destination i select \\storage\applications\XPRyan

Integration goes well - no errors.

When i try to install from this destination during installation windows complains abt lot of missed files..
OK, i compared \\storage\applications\XPOriginal and \\storage\applications\XPRyan.
I see \\storage\applications\XPRyan\I386\svcpack folder + a lot of new stuff. But also I see that original installation folder has files that are missed in XPOriginal.

Well, for sake of experiment i started again and copied \\storage\applications\XPOriginal to \\storage\applications\XPRyan.
Now I run integrator for \\storage\applications\XPRyan as source and target. after integration windows installation goes no problem.

So bottom line is: if u select different target folder it will not copy ALL NECESSARY files for windows installation. it is bug.

If you, dear public and developers, need more details from me - i wil be glad to help.

Best regards,
Vit

P.S Also compalin abt Hdaudbus.sys for realtek sound card - but i saw your notes abt it., so u are aware abt it.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:20 am

No shit sherlock, this is not a bug, it's a feature. :)

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:24 am

ViVa wrote:No shit sherlock, this is not a bug, it's a feature. :)
More details please, I use different souce and destination folders and all files get copied. (But, using local directories)

What is the nature of this feature?

User avatar
warrior1109
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by warrior1109 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:28 am

I too use Different source to destination, with no errors whatsoever, sounds a little odd to me. :)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:29 am

Really? I thought just the updated files were copied...

Lol, I always copied my setup files manually before integrating the update pack, looks like I learned something. Makes sense btw. :)

vit100
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Canada

Post by vit100 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:40 am

Hey Watson, -)
This is not shit - this is uncorrect functionality.
In my understanding if I select defferent target folder, after integration i should have all files necessary for installation.
I know that in previous releases it worked like this - i always use some tem folder for integrated windows in order to make CD later...

More details? what exactly?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:43 am

So you are using a network path (\\storage)? That might cause it perhaps.

vit100
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Canada

Post by vit100 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:07 am

OK, i will try with local disk...

vit100
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Canada

Post by vit100 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:56 pm

Yes, you are right.

This problem is only with network target folders.

If target folder is local - everything is OK...(except High Definition Audio and Hdaudbus.sys complains).

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:01 pm

techtype wrote:
More details please, I use different souce and destination folders and all files get copied. (But, using local directories)

Post Reply