How to unattendedly use the RyanVM Integrator.

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

How to unattendedly use the RyanVM Integrator.

Post by Siginet » Tue Aug 30, 2005 1:28 am

How to unattendedly use RyanVM's Integrator.

Three methods.
Latest Method
Now you can control just about every aspect of the integrator from a batch file. for detailed information check out this thread:
http://siginetsoftware.com/forum/showthread.php?t=283

There will be more parameters added as well.

The Second and Third Methods are no longer reccommended and are going to be phased out. So please start using the latest methods.

============================================

Second METHOD:
First off you will want to make a custom settings.ini file. This ini file can be named anything you like.
The easiest way to create it would be to make a batch file with this in it:

RVM_Integrator_v1.0RC13.exe "X:\RyanVM\settings.ini"
This will create your fresh new settings.ini file in the x:\RyanVM directory and open the gui window.

Now just select all of the options that you will want to use. They will be saved in your settings.ini file.

When you are finished close the gui window and go back to your batch file and add this switch to the end: /integrate

It should now look like this:
RVM_Integrator_v1.0RC13.exe "X:\RyanVM\settings.ini" /integrate
Execute the new batch file and you did it! :D
Pretty simple huh?


**New for integrator v1.1**
With v1.1 of the integrator you can now compile an iso as well... so it would have been stupid not to have created a way to unattendedly create an iso.

It is very simple. It uses a new switch:

Code: Select all

/iso
So call the integrater then the path and filename of your settings file for parameter 1. Parameter 2 will be /iso.

Example:

Code: Select all

RVM_Integrator_v1.1.exe "X:\RyanVM\settings.ini" /iso
==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== ====

OLD METHOD:
If you want to Integrate RyanVM's update packs 100% unattended all you need to do is create a batch file.

Inside of the Batch file you will need to put something like this:
C:\RyanVM\RVM_Integrator_v1.0RC8.exe /u "C:\MYXP DISK" "C:\RyanVM Cabs\RVMUpdatePack1.3.1.cab" "C:\RyanVM Cabs\RVMAddonsWMP10_1.0.cab"
To break it down I color coded each section.

1. The first section (In White) represents the path and file to execute. In this case it is the RVM_Integrator_v1.0RC8.exe
If the path contains any spaces in it you must put quotation marks at the beginning of the path and at the end of the file name.


2. The second section (In Sky Blue) represents the unattend switch. This must be /u or /U (You can put quotes around it as well... but you don't need to.)
*New in v1.0 RC13*
You can now use /u:NoCats instead of /u if you want to turn off Windows File Protection and stop the integrator from integrating some of the cat files.

3. The third section (In Orange) Represents the path to the directory containing the I386 directory you wish to integrate.

4. The fourth section (In Yellow) represents the path and filename of the RVM_Update*.cab file you wish to use. (Again make sure you use Quotes if your path contains any spaces.)

5. The fifth and final section (In Lime Green) represents the path and RVM_Addon*.cab file(s) you will be using. If you wish to use more than one Addon then make sure all of the addons reside in the same directory. If you are using 2 addon packs the fifth section would look simular to this...
"C:\RyanVM|RVMAddonsWMP10_1.0.cab|RVMAddonsFull_1.0.cab"
Make sure you look at the above example very carefully. Each Addon.cab file has a | (Pole) in front of it to seperate each Addon.cab. Also the path does not have a \ (Backslash) at the end of it.

The easiest way to make sure you are getting your syntax correct would be to open the exe file itself, browse to the files and select them. In the inputbox just copy the text and paste it into your batch file.

You can now have a source and destination as well. Just in case you want to leave your source files untouched.
C:\RyanVM\RVM_Integrator_v1.0RC8.exe /u:NoCats "C:\MYXP DISK" "C:\MYXP DESTINATION" "C:\RyanVM Cabs\RVMUpdatePack1.3.1.cab" "C:\RyanVM Cabs|RVMAddonsWMP10_1.0.cab|Kel_Royale_Addons_3.cab"
Last edited by Siginet on Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:19 am, edited 10 times in total.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:28 pm

pay close attention to the multiple addon install sintax it gave me a headacke for a half adday just to notice you dont use \ u use | :lol:
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:49 pm

Just out of curiosity.. the command line syntax handles spaces within paths without a problem? So does this mean you can eliminate the quotes if there are no spaces in the paths?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:49 pm

Yeah the quotes are only needed if you have spaces in your path. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Oct 09, 2005 2:49 am

I've updated this post with some new Unattended features introduced in RyanVM_Integrator1.0RC13Beta2.exe
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:00 am

I'm new to this Integrator stuff. Do I still need to follow the first post with 1.0.4?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:43 pm

If you want to create your install cd unattendedly... yes. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:18 am

What do you mean by unattended exactly?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:23 am

It will integrate The updatePack and/or addons to your cd without user interaction. All you will need to do is create a batch file and execute it. You could make a batch file that would integrate a bunch of different XP disks. It is also compatable with winxp powerpacker as well... so it helps users create a complete xp multiboot disk unattendedly.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

ual747-400
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 2:23 am

Post by ual747-400 » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:07 am

How do you apply multiple addons to the new way of integrating that is shown?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:21 am

You open the gui window. Select all of the options that you want. Close the gui window. Then put this in a batch:

Code: Select all

RVM_Integrator_v1.0.5.exe "X:\RyanVM\integrator.ini"
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

ual747-400
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 2:23 am

Post by ual747-400 » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:35 am

I read that.. I want to know in the ini file how to get the integrator to apply all of the addons I have automatically? I see one addon in the integrator.ini but each additional one is just replaced in the ini file. is there a way to concatenat the files in the ini file?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:42 am

Hold Ctrl while selecting addons to highlight multiple addons. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

ual747-400
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 2:23 am

Post by ual747-400 » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:44 am

OH good grief. I do not know why I did not try that to begin with. sorry..
Last edited by ual747-400 on Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:32 pm

How do I create a batch file?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Nov 20, 2005 12:53 am

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ual747-400
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 2:23 am

Post by ual747-400 » Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:04 am

Dude that is freeakin awesome. I will use that for other forum stuff.

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:46 am

I got owned.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:36 am

:P. Don't take it personally, fluid :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Sat Dec 03, 2005 11:50 am

I didn't. :D

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:44 am

fluid wrote:I got owned.
hahahahahahahahahhaahahahahahha best laugh all day.

bellsprout
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:20 am

Post by bellsprout » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:23 am

hey sry if this is a newbish question but these update packs are compatible with nlite right? and if i'm using nlite, i dont need to use the integrator do i?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:29 am

bellsprout wrote:hey sry if this is a newbish question but these update packs are compatible with nlite right? and if i'm using nlite, i dont need to use the integrator do i?
OK, you're really not off to a good start here. You have two posts so far, and both are questions which could have been easily answered had you bothered to do any looking around whatsoever.
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/nlite.html

Not only that, but this post is completely off-topic to the thread topic.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:11 pm

Updated the post above to represent RVM_Integrator_v1.1.exe. Soon to be released. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:22 am

@cutie pyie
I had to take your reply out of this thread because it does not belong in here. It doesn't have anything to do with this thread.

Your new threwad is here:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1842
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

katpasin
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: Hyderabad,India

Post by katpasin » Thu May 18, 2006 1:04 pm

hey guys,
tis is my first post. i am a complete newbie here. making a unattended installation of win xp for the first time. i was following msfn's guide to make the unattended cd, had slip streamed sp2 and was about to manually integrate all hotfixes, thn saw ryan's integrator. used it to integrate ryan's update pack and a wmp10 addon pack. but i am not able to figure out wat to do next??

also wat oes tis thread mean? wich part of making the unattended cd is tis thread used?

and wen i did as told in tis thread, i got a settings.ini file wich has text like

[Settings]
Source=F:\Win_XP_Saptak_Ganguly
Destination=
UpdatePack=I:\unattended\RVMUpdatePack2.0.6.cab
ExternalRun=
ParametersRun=
IsoFile=
IsoBinFile=
IsoVolume=
IsoExtTool=
IsoExtCmd=
IsoIntExt=Internal
IsoCmdLine=mkisofs

[Switches]
IKnowWhatImDoing=4

[AddonPacks]
RVMAddonsWMP10_2.5.cab=I:\unattended

wat do i do after this??

sorry if i posted tis in a wrong thread, but culdnt find a help forum.

User avatar
vier
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:24 am

Post by vier » Thu May 18, 2006 1:24 pm

A forum exist for RVM Integrator : here

katpasin
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: Hyderabad,India

Post by katpasin » Thu May 18, 2006 1:32 pm

thnx for the link, but thr r no threads in RVM integratot!!

User avatar
vier
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:24 am

Post by vier » Thu May 18, 2006 1:33 pm

I know, The forum is new !

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:52 am

may b sometime you can add new switches to integrator for addons in dir's

Code: Select all

C:\RyanVM\RVM_Integrator.exe "C:\MYXP DISK" "C:\Addons\"*.cab" "*.7z"
C:\RyanVM\RVM_Integrator.exe "C:\MYXP DISK" "C:\Addons\*.cab|*.7z
or like this :

Code: Select all

C:\RyanVM\RVM_Integrator.exe "C:\MYXP DISK" "C:\Addons1\*.cab" "C:\Addons2\*.7z"
or in integrator gui hold control select a few dir's >>integrate<<

just an idea ;)

User avatar
gabo
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Biggest city in the world, Mexico City
Contact:

Post by gabo » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:23 am

@Siginet

I'm looking to auto most of my integrations, and I'm looking for the batch file automation switches, but the link to your site is broken.

Is it posssible to include the instructions here on this thread, or better yet, to include them in the integrator itself?

If I write at the command prompt:

RVM_Integrator_1.5.3.exe /?

the integrator displays the switches it supports. For examplo Boooggy's WMP11 slipstreamer does this.

Thank you very much.
gabo

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:40 pm

gabo wrote:@Siginet

I'm looking to auto most of my integrations, and I'm looking for the batch file automation switches, but the link to your site is broken.

Is it posssible to include the instructions here on this thread, or better yet, to include them in the integrator itself?

If I write at the command prompt:

RVM_Integrator_1.5.3.exe /?

the integrator displays the switches it supports. For examplo Boooggy's WMP11 slipstreamer does this.

Thank you very much.
Sorry about that. :( My forum should be up sometime soon. I keep forgetting to add the /? switch. It has been requested many times as well. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
gabo
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Biggest city in the world, Mexico City
Contact:

Post by gabo » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:00 pm

Siginet

Thank you very much!! I'll be waiting for the new version with the switch in it. In the meantime, while you create the /? switch, is there somplace where I can look for the switches the integrator supports? Or, is there a text file or someting that shows what switches to use?
gabo

Post Reply