RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9 - Released April 12, 2007

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
User avatar
thangce
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Viet Nam, NA
Contact:

Post by thangce » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:32 am

thanks but i don't know where download a CLEAN XP source and how is a CLEAN XP source ? can u help me ? :cry:
my English language is unkind , so do you can give help to me more concretely ? i can translate :?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:39 am

A unmodified XP source, one that only has service pack2 and no addons, update packs or hotfixes previously integrated.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:34 am

thangce, you're in the wrong place if you expect someone to tell you where to download a copy of Windows XP. That's not the way we do things here.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:54 am

Hi. Seems that Microsoft has re-fixed 2 days ago the cursor bug : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

Will be an 2.1.9.b version or we should wait next month ?

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:48 am

Eiffel wrote:Hi. Seems that Microsoft has re-fixed 2 days ago the cursor bug :
Will be an 2.1.9.b version or we should wait next month ?
Dont think so.
Ryan wrote:Well, it goes without saying that 935843 will be in the next pack release.

Speeddymon
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:19 am
Location: TX

Post by Speeddymon » Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:30 pm

Service Temporarily unavailable trying to download the pack..

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:02 am

So use the torrent vesion.

User avatar
thangce
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Viet Nam, NA
Contact:

Post by thangce » Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:33 am

RyanVM wrote:thangce, you're in the wrong place if you expect someone to tell you where to download a copy of Windows XP. That's not the way we do things here.
thankyou i understand already . i will survey about this problem
But RyanVM, Can U help me about this error? do you have other way to fix my error?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:44 am

The error is self-explanatory. Wherever you downloaded XP from last time already had a 2.0.x version of my pack integrated. As the changelog on my site so nicely points out, you can't integrate 2.1.x versions of the pack over 2.0.x versions. That being said, since you're clearly using a pirated copy already, I'm afraid I can't help you any more than that.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
thangce
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Viet Nam, NA
Contact:

Post by thangce » Sun Apr 22, 2007 3:35 am

Thank you verry much ;))
Không có gì là không có thể

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:19 pm

Quick question about how the update pack works. Been reading this forum for over a year and never really seen this answered.

I understand that I can integrate 2.1.9 over 2.1.8 and can see how it would add any new hotfixes. Question is how does it deal with hotfixes that replace earlier ones? I notice in the changelog there are a few hotfixes that update earlier versions. Does it actually remove any files that earlier hotfixes added, or does it add the new hotfixes as additional files? What I am trying to get at is does a 2.1.8 slipstreamed CD updated to 2.1.9 differ significantly from a bare CD with 2.1.9 slipstreamed? Hope I have asked that clearly enought?

I generally do a clean build with a new update pack when it is released but was curious about the way one pack can be updated by a later pack.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:38 pm

Well, when you consider that direct integration is happening, it should be clear what happens to superseded hotfixes - the older files are overwritten by the newer ones. I also add the obsolete hotfix' KB# to a list in entries.ini so that the CAT file for it gets removed as well if it's present in svcpack. The end result is that your CD should be 100% identical whether you integrated 2.1.9 only or 2.1.9 over 2.1.8. When that isn't possible, it's noted by the fact that upgrades aren't allowed (for example, 2.1.x over 2.0.x).
Last edited by RyanVM on Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:40 pm

EDIT: Ryan beat me to it. :)

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sun Apr 22, 2007 2:32 pm

Thanks Ryan - quite an achievement to make such a complex process so straightforward. :)

User avatar
thangce
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Viet Nam, NA
Contact:

Post by thangce » Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:01 am

Mandarin wrote:Quick question about how the update pack works. Been reading this forum for over a year and never really seen this answered.

I understand that I can integrate 2.1.9 over 2.1.8 and can see how it would add any new hotfixes. Question is how does it deal with hotfixes that replace earlier ones? I notice in the changelog there are a few hotfixes that update earlier versions. Does it actually remove any files that earlier hotfixes added, or does it add the new hotfixes as additional files? What I am trying to get at is does a 2.1.8 slipstreamed CD updated to 2.1.9 differ significantly from a bare CD with 2.1.9 slipstreamed? Hope I have asked that clearly enought?

I generally do a clean build with a new update pack when it is released but was curious about the way one pack can be updated by a later pack.
Well, when you consider that direct integration is happening, it should be clear what happens to superseded hotfixes - the older files are overwritten by the newer ones. I also add the obsolete hotfix' KB# to a list in entries.ini so that the CAT file for it gets removed as well if it's present in svcpack. The end result is that your CD should be 100% identical whether you integrated 2.1.9 only or 2.1.9 over 2.1.8. When that isn't possible, it's noted by the fact that upgrades aren't allowed (for example, 2.1.x over 2.0.x).
also be my problem want to inquire .
a questions is cool and a answers is very cool , thank [/code]
Không có gì là không có thể

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Wed May 02, 2007 6:08 am

Hmmm... Found an problem.
I've integrated the pack, and also integrated wmp11 with the slipstreamer. tested in VMware -works ok. Installed on my sistem, works ok, until I've need to use my scanner and my printer. Both from Canon. For each of them, when I've installed the drivers I've received am SFC File Protection warning asking for the CD, because some files were replaced. I put the install CD (integrated - the one I've used for installing windows ) and - this is not the Windows XP Cd. After few Retry, it worked.
Now works fine, except at each boot removes all the links in Programs Menu if they are not in folder. Wich didn't happened before installing the drivers...

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Wed May 02, 2007 7:13 am

I have just read your post Eiffel, and while not having your file protection problems, I too have noticed my start menu being empty, appart from icons inside folders, I'm also having random complete restarts.

I've run 2 simultainious instances of prime to check for CPU errors in both cores, as well as the memory stress tests. They can run for a day without detecting a problem, and my computer plays games fine for as long as I want. It seems to just randomly restarting while I'm browsing the net. (Ethernet drivers have stayed the same for 6 months now, and that's 5 new builds)

Not pointing any fingers, just telling of my problems.
Last edited by Stimpy on Sat May 05, 2007 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Post by buletov » Sat May 05, 2007 2:00 pm

That sounds wierd.. how about previous versions of the update pack?
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat May 05, 2007 3:31 pm

Hi buletov... No, this is the first time I have ever had a problem with using any update pack or addon. I have a feeling it is something to do with either Kels runtime addon, (1.6.0. And I know Kel has just been having major issues with this pack, and he has just updated it) and I'm waiting for the next release of Ryan's pack, then I will go to town on a nice new build. :D

My feelings are it's either IE7, the mouse pointer security patch, or Kels older runtime addon, but I could be wrong. :wink:

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat May 05, 2007 3:54 pm

All issues with the runtime pack have been fixed. (At least I fixed the old issues and no-one has reported new ones...)

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sun May 06, 2007 5:30 am

Nice one Kels! I'm looking forward to the new build even more now :wink:

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Sun May 06, 2007 5:18 pm


User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 06, 2007 5:52 pm

Thanks for the info the_guy.

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

maybye a bug on 2.1.9

Post by OZ » Mon May 07, 2007 10:57 am

When i start Ashampoo Burning Studio 6.5 and all other versions it takes very long to enumerate drives why? event 7 Beta version. On 2.1.8 and older it worked fine but on 2.1.9 its bad. Please fix it. plzzzzzz its my favourite burning program :cry:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 07, 2007 11:49 am

Figure out what fix broke it and report back here.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

dont know

Post by OZ » Mon May 07, 2007 3:06 pm

Sorry i didnt find any problem i tryed all the KB updates that is on 2.1.9 on 2.1.8 update pack. I tryed all the updates but everything worked fine so i dont know what to think and do next. Somethings wrong on 2.1.9 you created it maybye you done a mistake i think. if you cant help ill wait 2.2.0 update pack and see if the app works fine. :? wait i will try just integrating 2.1.9 update pack and see what happens. I will post tomorrow and report if it works

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Mon May 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Hi OZ, I don't think Ryan has made any mistakes here. If there IS anything wrong with the update pack, then it is most likely to be a botched job on MS's side. (Think rushed security patches, and you might be close!)

Good luck with your investigations.

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Tue May 08, 2007 3:58 am

Well something is wrong however with the pack. Ryan or MSFT I don't know, but the problem with shortcuts dissapearing is shure in the pack. I've made an other integrated CD in february, using same packs, the only difference between the february and april is this version of the pack... The february was ok.
What I suppose to be is someting related to system restore or registry. The boot time for April build is 3 times bigger than february one with same programs installed. I use to disable siystem restore after first boot, and also some unused services. but what's intersting now - after reboot the system restore service is again on automatic instead of disabled. But stopped.
Well i wait for the new pack, perhapse it will solve those problems.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Tue May 08, 2007 4:23 am

Does installing this hotfix help ? (KB927891)

Direct Hotfix Download

MS Claims it fixes an issue with 100% CPU use on startup due to auto updates.

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

Well

Post by OZ » Tue May 08, 2007 8:59 am

Well i dont know if the fix helps but it seems that the IE7 addon does the problem :!: or Kel's Control Panel A-i-O addon v5.6.1 by Kelsenellenelvian. Thanks for the time and sorry for problem :) :) i think that IE7 does the problem because i integrated it just on 2.1.9 first time

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

Yes

Post by OZ » Tue May 08, 2007 11:00 am

Yes i was right the problem was IE7 :D now i can work nice and fast

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

Thanks

Post by OZ » Tue May 08, 2007 2:48 pm

I came back to my system with IE7 and installed the hotfix from n7Epsilon now it works fine thanx n7Epsilon. So Ryan is the hotfix KB927891 integrated to Update Pack? if not please integrate it. I see that im talking to myself :D :D :D

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue May 08, 2007 8:03 pm

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Wed May 09, 2007 3:57 am

-chortle-

now that is just too funny..

-nudge- hey OZ.. the hotfix you just installed???? it is IN the updatepack already!

-grin-

have fun!

TechnoHunter

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 09, 2007 4:03 am

LOL OMFG!!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed May 09, 2007 7:29 am

FWIW, MS did recently update that fix from the version currently in the pack. It goes without saying that the updated one will be in the next release.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri May 11, 2007 11:24 am

bugger wrote:
cyberloner wrote:latest ver user.dll cause error in my modded icons shell32.dll
too bad... does user.dll fix for security purpose also?
or maybe i should use back old user.dll?
KB925902 has known issues when using those icon packs. Try here: http://forum.crystalxp.net/index.php?showtopic=18709

Otherwise, Microsoft is not responsible and is very likely not going to fix the problem on their end despite what those self-righteous people say "waiting until M$ did something to undo the damage they did".
Sorry for the off topic Ryan but I too am having this problem with my user32.dll when I use the Energize XPize clone...

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri May 11, 2007 4:03 pm

So what do you want me to do, remove a critical MS security update from the pack? It's not going to happen...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat May 12, 2007 1:54 pm

Hello all, I just wanted to give an update to my earlier post, saying that I was experiencing random restarts ever since the 2.1.9 update pack.

I can confirm that there is nothing wrong with the pack, or any of the other addons I mentioned.

I have a faulty memory module that I'm RMA'ing now. It was 2 memory addresses that had gone, and it was enough to make my computer work ok, until something read to, or from those addresses, then it would choke! This module is nearly 2 years old, and had never given problems before.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun May 13, 2007 3:54 pm

Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Locked