Problem with lastest update pack and Xp Pro

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Problem with lastest update pack and Xp Pro

Post by shon3i » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:00 pm

I have problem only with XP Profressionl, with Home Edition everything is fine.

During installation on VirtualPC 2007 i get this message.

Image

After clicking yes everything will finished fine. But i am curious abou this, on real machine. I am not in moment to test.

I use fresh and clear Windows XP Pro SP2, and integrate following addons

RVMUpdatePack2.2.1.7z
Windows Media Player 11 (WMP11 Splitstreamer)
NR_IE7en_Addon_1.1.0.7z
DirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.3.3_-_redxii.7z
PatchAddon_TCPIP_250_v13i.7z
xable_WGAN-v1.2_addon.cab
RogueSpearAddonsRuntimes_2.7.7.zip
RogueSpearAddonsJ2SE605.exe

this working very well with Windows XP Home Edition.

Any suggestion?

Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

Post by Fragbert » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:22 pm

I believe the 2.2.1 update pack already has the latest WGA.

I would first run a test with just the update pack and no other addons, and go from there.

creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Post by creative4rce » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:55 pm

i Have had similar problem in my build but i thought it was to do with

Ricks_DPs_BASE_7.05.2_AddOn
mine wasn't just the battery but also some sis drivers for usb and hub etc.

after continuing with manual allow for these drivers xp pro installed correctly

Would love to know why this cant be silent myself without the manual allow



:)

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:58 pm

Fragbert wrote:I believe the 2.2.1 update pack already has the latest WGA.

I would first run a test with just the update pack and no other addons, and go from there.
I thought Ryan's Post-SP2 Update Pack didn't include any kind of WGA or WGAN (two separate things). I know it doesn't include at least one of them, anyway.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:53 pm

You are correct, roirraW "edor". Fragbert is not. The Update Pack includes neither.

I don't know about the battery driver problem. I haven't run into it in VM.

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:04 pm

It's possible it's a virtual computer "problem" although not everyone has it. Is this running on a laptop or a desktop with a UPS (Uninteruptable Power Supply) by any chance?

I seem to recall seeing this myself but quite a while ago and not since (and I've used the latest pack on real machines without this problem). So it may have been when I installed XP with the update pack in VMWare Workstation or Virtual PC (I usually use the former but I've tried the latter from time to time) in my case.

I would agree with Fragbert to just try it in Virtual PC with just the update pack and no addons and see if you still have the problem. Shouldn't take long to try.

creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Post by creative4rce » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:09 am

i have installed in on formated hard drive not virtual pc and got same problems
no problems with ie7 dirextx and wmp10
its when i added a few other addons .. not sure which one did it yet .. havent had the time to go through it sorry :(

**Update **found this thread back in 2006 with same problem
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... dows#41760
.. weird i never had a problem with any of the older intergrations ....

veddy veddy strange :!: hehehe

***Update***
creative4rce wrote:OK!!!

found my problem with the "'unsigned sis drivers "

its the XpUsb2Addon

in the usbport.ini under
[Manufacturer]
a huge list one of is sis that pertains to me motherboard :)
%SIS.Mfg%=SIS.Section which cointains those unsigned drivers i was talking about .. see i am not Mad/Crazy!!! or am i .. hehehe

as for the BATTERY its got me still ... i am installing on pc not laptop!!!
lol

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:01 am

creative4rce wrote:veddy veddy strange :!: hehehe
Hehehe...

Ah yes, the quote from the other post sounds familiar now. So if I understand you correctly, you tried it with just the update pack, IE7, DirectX and WMP11 and the problem didn't present itself with just those?

Afraid you'll have to integrate just one of the other addons and then try installing again, and repeat the process until the problem comes up, then you'll know it was the last one you integrated.

creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Post by creative4rce » Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:31 am

i have a HUGE! headache trying to find it .. need rest and sleep but this battery issue sure is a problem

is winnt.sif the only way to get these addon packs to allow silent install of third party drivers?

cheers





:)

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:21 am

although not everyone has it. Is this running on a laptop or a desktop with a UPS
It is normal desktop without UPS ;) it's realy strange because everything working fine with XP Home Edition.

I tryed with and without addons such WMP11. IE. DX9 etc.

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:15 pm

Hmph! I'm sorry to say, I'm stumped.

creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Post by creative4rce » Fri Apr 04, 2008 9:50 pm

i can't BELIEVE its stumped u off all people
roirraW "edor"

for someone like me its easy
hehehehe

cheers

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:53 pm

:lol:

mercyground
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:50 pm

Post by mercyground » Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:40 pm

i suggest to rebuild your image completely.

Before you do so run MemTest thou. I had this issue and it was down to bad/flaky memory which had corrupted the image as i built it.

check your memory.
check all md5 sums.
Rebuild the image and go again.

Post Reply