IE7 problem while installing from Winnt32

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
rahuldel
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:21 am

IE7 problem while installing from Winnt32

Post by rahuldel » Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:24 am

I am facing a problem where IE7 does not appear at all. I am installing with the following:

Base WXP Corp with SP3
Red's RED_XP_SP3_UpdatePack_2.1.2 (Tried with 2.1.1 also same problem)

Tried with OnePiece_IE7AddOn_2.1.1_ENU as well as NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.0 same problem IE7 does not appear. If I do the same installation from regular CD not thru Winnt32, IE7 works perfectly.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:31 am

i think when you install from winnt32 you must follow 8.3 name format which onepiece ie7 addon breaks.

rahuldel
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:21 am

Post by rahuldel » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:34 am

Yes while integration also it gives a 8.3 file warnings with two files. Any solutions?

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:46 pm

rahuldel wrote:Yes while integration also it gives a 8.3 file warnings with two files. Any solutions?

the file warning by the integrator is only an issue when installing from winnt32. if you goto onpieces post of his addon it states your exact problem. this is not an integrator issue rather the addon with 8.3 format and you chosing to start your install from winnt32.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:39 pm

rahuldel wrote:Yes while integration also it gives a 8.3 file warnings with two files. Any solutions?
Can you please report those files. I have added required entries for winnt32 installs.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:34 am

user_hidden wrote:
rahuldel wrote:Yes while integration also it gives a 8.3 file warnings with two files. Any solutions?

the file warning by the integrator is only an issue when installing from winnt32. if you goto onpieces post of his addon it states your exact problem. this is not an integrator issue rather the addon with 8.3 format and you chosing to start your install from winnt32.
However try this workaround:
decompress addon
rename following files:
msfeedsbs.dll in msfeedsb.dll
ieframe.dll.mui in ieframe.mui
overwrite entries_ie7.ini with this:
http://mihd.net/149xebi
Hash MD5 A80F27C4CE87F29EC33C4DD3B440659B
recompress addon and retry
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

rahuldel
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:21 am

Post by rahuldel » Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:43 am

Thanks for your reply I will try this.

rahuldel
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:21 am

Post by rahuldel » Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:40 am

The problem is still as it is. IE7 icon is not working on the desktop. Besides certain other services are also missing. One I can see directly is that "Remote" Button which comes under My Computer Properties.

I cannot even install IE7 on top of this machine.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:44 am

If the workaround doesn't "workaround" ;) it is not a 8.3 problem.
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

rahuldel
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:21 am

Post by rahuldel » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:13 am

I have tried all sorts of combinations and the installation of IE7 works fine thru the regular CD install but the same CD if I try to install thru winnt32 there is no IE7 and some other services are also missing even if I try to install IE7 SVC Addon that also fails without any errors and does not install thru winnt32.

Please some one help me.

If I dont put IE7 and run thru the default IE6 of Win XP SP3 it works fine and I am able to install IE7 after the OS is installed perfectly.

So it seems it is something to do with the way how IE7 is integrated by RVM or Nlite, cant say!!!!!

Post Reply