Problems making French Update Pack

Discussion of the French translation of the Update Pack. La discussion en français est bienvenue!
Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:20 am

Thanks Ryan.

I've got a problem with KB885835, it appears in Windows update although it has been integrated. I've checked the french files that i replaced, the entries in the .inf, they're all good. Here is the reg entries that got installed with your pack :

http://poubellelqt.free.fr/ryan

Any ideas ?
Thank you.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:13 am

maska wrote:How about adding MD5 sums for Update Pack? It would be safer... :)
I suppose I could, but I'm not that worried about my server being compromised :P
leviathan wrote:Thanks for your great work Ryan. I know how those tests can be. I'm in grad school now and I'm teaching a freshman class. Taking tests and giving tests in the same week hurts. Hope you did well.

--Leviathan
Thanks. And my finals went OK. Could have been better, could have been worse. Overall, I think I did alright. I can tell you one thing, I slept like a baby last night :P
Lucius Snow wrote:Thanks Ryan.

I've got a problem with KB885835, it appears in Windows update although it has been integrated. I've checked the french files that i replaced, the entries in the .inf, they're all good. Here is the reg entries that got installed with your pack :

http://poubellelqt.free.fr/ryan

Any ideas ?
Thank you.
My bet is you used the wrong checksums. Did you run qfecheck? I bet it'll say it needs to be reinstalled too, which suggests that either a file path is incorrect or the file it found doesn't match what's specified by the registry entry. Keep in mind that the QFE versions are generally not installed by default when a hotfix is installed (due to the nature of the QFE versions), so you might have grabbed the GDR information by accident.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:17 am

I took the QFE files and put the right checksums. I'm sure, i've done it twice. How to use qfecheck ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:38 am

Send me an IM if you don't have it and I can send it to you. It's included in the Full pack.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:11 pm

Here are the results with Qfecheck :
Hotfixes Identified:
KB834707: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB873339: Current on system.
KB883523: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB884020: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB885523: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB885626: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB885835: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB885836: Current on system.
KB885894: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB885932: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB886185: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB886677: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB887078: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB887742: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB887797: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
KB888240: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
:shock:

How come those i didn't translate to french aren't even installed properly ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:20 pm

:lol:, looks like you've got problems :P

Check the file versions of some of those hotfixed files and see if they match up. You can run modifype -c -v blah.dll to get the checksum of the file.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:27 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:Thanks Ryan.

I've got a problem with KB885835, it appears in Windows update although it has been integrated. I've checked the french files that i replaced, the entries in the .inf, they're all good. Here is the reg entries that got installed with your pack :

http://poubellelqt.free.fr/ryan

Any ideas ?
Thank you.
I found the same problem. I just connected my test machine to the network and went to Windows Update. KB885836 appears in the critical downloads. Also, the Highmat update appears in the recommended updates. I'm going to do another reinstall without my batch install. It installs Windows Media Player 10, Journal Viewer, Windows Media Connect, and .Net Framework SP1 that you provide.

I'll let you know the results.

--Leviathan

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:30 pm

RyanVM wrote::lol:, looks like you've got problems :P

Check the file versions of some of those hotfixed files and see if they match up.
But what about the international hotfixes ? I didn't modify them in your pack. So why wouldn't they get installed ?

@ leviathan : Can you try qfecheck as well ? I hosted it there if you need it :
http://poubellelqt.free.fr/ryan

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:34 pm

Lucius Snow:

I've got the install started over again. I'm gonna run through a base install without my extra batch stuff. I'll see if it does the same thing. It might be something in one of the extra files I have run after install.

But when the install finishes, I'll run the qfecheck.

RyanVm or Lucius Snow: Could you send me a message on how to use it. I can probably figure it out, but if you can give some instruction, that might help save me some time.

--Leviathan

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:56 pm

Same results. That critical hotfix and the HighMAT both appear for download. I ran QFECHECK and it returned that No Hotfixes Found on this System. I ran another program and it showed the same thing.

I'm going to create a completely new CD image. I'll repack SP2 into a gold copy of Windows XP, and I'll put the Full package of 1.0.4 into it. This is what I did last time, but I'll do it again just to make sure.


Edit: Wait, I think I might have found my problem. Forgot to change the DOSNET and the TXTSETUP files. Duh....
--Leviathan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 2:04 pm

Yeah, that's almost definitely your problem. I actually made the same mistake myself last night on a fresh CD :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:07 pm

@ Ryan : I've done another test by integrating the original lite pack, Qfecheck gives me the *exact* same results again. So the problem has nothing to do with the modifications i brought for the french translation. I've checked again the entries in Dosnet.inf, Txtsetup.sif and Sysoc.inf. They're all good.

I'm lost :(

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:50 pm

Okay... I went back and did a complete rebuild of the CD. This time I didn't slipstream SP1 and then SP2 to the Windows XP CD. I went straight from Gold to SP2. Then I added the full 1.0.4 pack. I have one critical update sitting now. The other two I had earlier are not there anymore, but KB836528, "Mydoom, Zindos, and Doomjuice Worm Remova Tool" is now in the critical updates. I'm going to do a SP1 then SP2 build and see if it corrects this.

--Leviathan

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:01 pm

leviathan wrote:Okay... I went back and did a complete rebuild of the CD. This time I didn't slipstream SP1 and then SP2 to the Windows XP CD. I went straight from Gold to SP2. Then I added the full 1.0.4 pack. I have one critical update sitting now. The other two I had earlier are not there anymore, but KB836528, "Mydoom, Zindos, and Doomjuice Worm Remova Tool" is now in the critical updates. I'm going to do a SP1 then SP2 build and see if it corrects this.

--Leviathan
What about a test with Qfecheck ? You get them all right ?

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:10 pm

Lucius Snow wrote: What about a test with Qfecheck ? You get them all right ?
QFECheck said everything else was installed okay. All that was there was that removal tool update. I'm creating the image with SP1 then SP2 right now. I'll see if that fixes it and let you know.

Edit: Same thing again. KB836528 still pops up. I guess I'll download it and include it into the batch file. However, all the updates from this last release from Microsoft installed with no problem. QFEcheck says everything else is installed.

--Leviathan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:51 pm

Yes, (as I've said a few times), KB836528 has been a royal pain in the ass for me to deal with. All I can say for now is that I'm trying a few different things to make it work.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=34277

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:38 pm

Well, the Knowledge Base from Microsoft says that this is a, somewhat, old update. I don't think Microsoft just posted it, since it hasn't appeared in my Windows Update from an earlier pack. The only thing I can guess is that something inside the new package is giving it the notification that it needs to be run. Was there any update from Microsoft which might make this happen?

--Leviathan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:41 pm

No idea, but I did find a solution to the problem. See my post in the main forum (since we're getting off topic here)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Fri Dec 17, 2004 6:11 am

I give up. I think i've tried everything yet. If somebody here get it right with the 1.04 Lite on non-US O.S., please let me know.

User avatar
leviathan
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by leviathan » Fri Dec 17, 2004 7:54 pm

Lucius Snow:

I'll see if I can find a copy of a Spanish or German WinXP CD. I can understand a little bit of those languages, so I can find my way through Windows. I'll see if I can find out what is going on and see if I can help any. Hopefully I can find a solution to the problem or find out some more information.

I'll let you know.

--Leviathan

jander

Post by jander » Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:30 pm

Lucius Snow, I had the same problem in the Spanish WinXP.

After many hours searching information and testing, I have found the solution.

To solve it, run:
qfecheck.exe /v

The message "The following files are not valid in the system catalog" is not important, and it is 'normal'.

It is very important that you write the files that it puts: "The following files are incorrect for this hotfix".

The problem is because those files are not up-to-date in sp2.cab or driver.cab

Upgrade those files and your problem will be fixed, at least in my case.

I hope it solves your problem.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:59 pm

Thanks. I'm not sure to have understood completely. Do i have to take the updated files from Ryan's pack and remplace the same ones (older versions) inside sp2.cab or driver.cab ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:43 pm

That error would suggest to me that the appropriate catalog files either aren't being listed in svcpack.inf or aren't in the svcpack directory.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:05 pm

RyanVM wrote:That error would suggest to me that the appropriate catalog files either aren't being listed in svcpack.inf or aren't in the svcpack directory.
So you think the problem comes from your pack or just the fact we use non-US O.S. ?

jander

Post by jander » Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:40 am

RyanVM's pack is correct, the problem is that we use non-US O.S.

See "QFECheck Incorrectly Reports That You Must Reinstall a Hotfix"
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=828854

I updated sp2.cab with the files http.sys and mrxsmb.sys (from Ryan's pack), and I no longer had this problem.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Dec 22, 2004 6:16 am

Thanks Jander. Before this modification with sp2.cab, for which hotfixes did you get "This hotfix should be reinstalled" message ? And what software did you use to update the CAB ? I use Winrar but it opens and extract only the CAB.

jander

Post by jander » Wed Dec 22, 2004 7:59 am

I don't know exactly that hotfixes get "This hotfix should be reinstalled", but I can tell you that they were almost all, and in Windows Update appeared the hotfix KB885835 to install. The message important to fix our failure is "The following files are incorrect for this hotfix".

To decompress and to compress the SP2.CAB I used code of the script xpcreate.
Create two files in the directory root of XP-CD with the following:
EXTRACT.CMD

Code: Select all

EXTRAC32 /L "TEMP\SP2" /E "I386\SP2.CAB"
COMPRESS.CMD

Code: Select all

MKDIR TEMP\CABEXT
ECHO .OPTION EXPLICIT >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set InfFileName=NUL >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set RptFileName="%PREPDIR%TEMP\CABEXT\CABEXT.RPT" >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set DestinationDir= >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set CabinetName1="SP2.CAB"  >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set CabinetNameTemplate="SP2.CAB" >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set DiskDirectoryTemplate="%PREPDIR%TEMP\SAVEDIR\" >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set UniqueFiles=OFF >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set FolderSizeThreshold=2500000 >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set MaxDiskSize=0 >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set Cabinet=on >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set Compress=on >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set CompressionType=LZX >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
ECHO .Set CompressionMemory=21 >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
FOR /F "USEBACKQ DELIMS==" %%J IN (`DIR /B /O-E TEMP\SP2\*.*`) DO ECHO "%PREPDIR%TEMP\SP2\%%J" "%%J" >> TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF 
START "Compressing CAB File SP2" /WAIT /MIN MAKECAB /V1 /F TEMP\CABEXT\XPCTMCAB.DDF
RMDIR TEMP\CABEXT /S /Q
RMDIR TEMP\SP2 /S /Q
Run EXTRACT.CMD and update the files in TEMP\SP2 directory.
Later run COMPRESS.CMD and waits.

The new SP2.CAB will be in TEMP\SAVEDIR\SP2.CAB
Overwrite the original (make a backup) and you test it.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:05 pm

Thank you.

I've done these modifications by updating http.sys, mrxsmb.sys and imapi.sys too. Here are now the results :
Windows XP Hotfix Validation Report for \\PC

Report Date: 12/22/2004 6:53pm



Current Service Pack Level: Service Pack 2



Hotfixes Identified:

KB834707: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WININET.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SHDOCVW.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\BROWSEUI.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\URLMON.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSHTML.DLL



KB873339: Current on system.

KB883523: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\IMAPI.SYS



KB884020: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\TCPIP.SYS



KB885523: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\APPPATCH\ACGENRAL.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\APPPATCH\SYSMAIN.SDB



KB885626: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\UPDATE.SYS



KB885835: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\RDBSS.SYS

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\MRXSMB.SYS

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\LSASRV.DLL



KB885836: Current on system.

KB885894: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\APPPATCH\ACSPECFC.DLL

C:\WINDOWS\APPPATCH\SYSMAIN.SDB



KB885932: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\PROGRAM FILES\FICHIERS COMMUNS\MICROSOFT SHARED\VGX\VGX.DLL



KB886185: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\IPNAT.SYS



KB886677: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WMVCORE.DLL



KB887078: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WMVCORE.DLL



KB887742: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\HTTP.SYS



KB887797: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\INETCOMM.DLL

C:\PROGRAM FILES\FICHIERS COMMUNS\SYSTEM\WAB32.DLL

C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\WABIMP.DLL

C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSOE.DLL



KB888240: This hotfix should be reinstalled.



The following files are not valid in the system catalog:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\EXTMGR.DLL
So "The following files are not valid in the system catalog" message doesn't care, and the patchs are properly installed, right ?

jander

Post by jander » Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:08 pm

Yes, everything is correct and there is not any problem in that message of the catalog, because the files of the catalog are correctly in svcpack.inf and *.cat in the directory svcpack. I believe that the problem is qfecheck and non english O.S.

Appears the hotfix KB885835 in Windows Update?
Has your problem been solved?

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:23 pm

jander wrote:Yes, everything is correct and there is not any problem in that message of the catalog, because the files of the catalog are correctly in svcpack.inf and *.cat in the directory svcpack. I believe that the problem is qfecheck and non english O.S.

Appears the hotfix KB885835 in Windows Update?
Has your problem been solved?
Yes it has been solved. The hotfix doesn't appear in Windows update anymore.

Thank you very much :)

@ Ryan : You confirm us that this catalog thing doesn't matter ?

jander

Post by jander » Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:04 pm

I am happy. :D

I hope Ryan informs us of the message of the catalog.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:22 pm

Sounds to me like it's just an issue with qfecheck and non-English versions. Glad to hear that things appear to be solved.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Jan 05, 2005 7:28 am

Well, to continue the discussions we had in the other thread about the kb*.cat files missing in windows\system32\catroot (that'd explain then why Qfecheck complains about the catalog) ... i've wondered if the fact Ryan's pack was integrated using nLite made a difference. I do it manually (i never used nLite).

@ jander : what's your method ?

There's still no explicaton : Why would hp38guser get full success with Qfecheck and not us ? He translated the pack as well ...

jander

Post by jander » Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:36 pm

I also do it manually.
It could be that nLite modifies some files (as syssetup.dll and syssetup.inf that install all the other files *.cat) to make the integration.

I believe that the problem is that svcpack.inf is not executed, but I don't know why.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:37 pm

For the record, I integrate my pack manually too :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Wed Jan 05, 2005 4:24 pm

So the thing would be to discover the difference we had between our installs which explains why svcpack.inf is not executed.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:38 am

Ryan, can you help us to find out the reason of that problem ? You have created the pack so you may be able to know.

Thank you :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:40 pm

OK, let's start with the basics. Are you all booting from the CD? Or are you running winnt32.exe manually?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:45 pm

RyanVM wrote:OK, let's start with the basics. Are you all booting from the CD? Or are you running winnt32.exe manually?
Yes, i always boot from the CD.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:06 pm

I've just seen you changed the instructions about the integrations. I don't have that in my DOSNET.INF :
[OptionalSrcDirs]
svcpack
These entries don't appear at all.

Here is how it is :
[RootBootFiles]
txtsetup.sif
setupldr.bin,$LDR$
ntdetect.com
ntldr

[Files]
d1,RVMUpPck.cab
d1,RVMUpPck.inf

d1,usetup.exe,system32\smss.exe
d1,ntdll.dll,system32\ntdll.dll

[CmdConsFiles]
autochk.exe
autofmt.exe
(That's the first [Files] section)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:24 pm

That should only matter if you're doing a manual install
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:26 pm

Like i've said, i always do it manually. I added this entries and testing on VMware now.

You should update the instructions page to mention to add these entries.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:29 pm

Manual as in running winnt32.exe

EDIT: And I don't know WTF you're looking at, but I see it mentioned in the instructions to add the entry...

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:35 pm

RyanVM wrote:Manual as in running winnt32.exe
Ah i see.
EDIT: And I don't know WTF you're looking at, but I see it mentioned in the instructions to add the entry...
DOSNET.INF
Find the first [Files] section and the following lines directly above it:

[OptionalSrcDirs]
svcpack

Next, add the following lines inside the [Files] section:

d1,RVMUpPck.cab
d1,RVMUpPck.inf
It's not clearly said. Beside, that mention about svcpack is very new. It was not even in the instructions at the 1.0.4 release.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:57 pm

Well, I was unaware of it until yesterday. I think you're not understanding it clearly due to English comprehension issues. I don't know how I could make it any clearer especially because I include a picture showing what it should look like when finished.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:01 pm

No worry mate.

When i saw that capture, i deducted it. That's why i did a new test on VMware immediatly. However, it doesn't still solve the problem. Qfecheck gives me the same result.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:45 pm

@ jander : no progress on your side either ? :(

jander

Post by jander » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:09 am

Have you try nLite?
I have not try it, but I believe that it can work.

Lucius Snow
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:01 am
Location: France

Post by Lucius Snow » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:56 pm

I've just tried. Exact same result.

jander

Post by jander » Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:13 am

Have you tried to integrate it again, but in a retail copy of WinXP?

In another post, war59312 fixed it this way:
viewtopic.php?t=45

Locked