IE6 from 6.0.2900.2180 to 6.0.2900.5512

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

IE6 from 6.0.2900.2180 to 6.0.2900.5512

Post by Kingskawn » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:43 am

We still have IE6 and we want to upgrade it to the latest build without installing SP3. The version we have now is 6.0.2900.2180 and we want to go to 6.0.2900.5512.
I already looked on the internet but didn't find an update to it.

That number is coming from a machine that installed SP3. Does someone have that update or can tell how to upgrade?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:12 am

You seem to be misunderstanding how Microsoft build numbers generally work for most files included in an OS distribution.
  • 6.0.2900.2180
    • OS or Product version—In this case, it's IE 6.0.
    • OS or Product build number—Self explanatory.
    • File build number—This varies by OS Service Pack level as follows for Windows XP x86 (Windows NT 5.1):
      • 0-1000—Release to Manufacturing (RTM), Gold Release, or Service Pack Zero (SP0) depending on whom you talk to.
      • 1106-2000—Service Pack 1 (SP1)
      • 2180-4500—Service Pack 2 (SP2)
      • 5512-????—Service Pack 3 (SP3)
As you can see, you're limited to the 2180-4500 file build range by using XP x86 SP2. The latest file builds for Internet Explorer at your service pack level are probably in its latest cumulative update, which is KB972260.

Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

Post by Kingskawn » Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:36 am

Ok thanks, I learnt something new ;-)

I hope this will bring my IE6 to build 5512 without installing the whole XP SP3 pack.

Thanks

User avatar
mf3imp
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:15 pm

Post by mf3imp » Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:47 pm

Kingskawn wrote:I hope this will bring my IE6 to build 5512 without installing the whole XP SP3 pack.
No, you can't do this, even wiith the cumulative patch. The build 5512 or above is avaible only with SP3.

Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

Post by Kingskawn » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:00 pm

mf3imp wrote:
Kingskawn wrote:I hope this will bring my IE6 to build 5512 without installing the whole XP SP3 pack.
No, you can't do this, even wiith the cumulative patch. The build 5512 or above is avaible only with SP3.
I believe you but is there somewhere a document that states that?

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:13 pm

Just wondering, why not just upgrade to SP3?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:16 pm

Kingskawn wrote:
mf3imp wrote:
Kingskawn wrote:I hope this will bring my IE6 to build 5512 without installing the whole XP SP3 pack.
No, you can't do this, even wiith the cumulative patch. The build 5512 or above is avaible only with SP3.
I believe you but is there somewhere a document that states that?
Would it be easier to believe if it came from Microsoft's TechNet forums?

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:15 am

IE6 is horrifically outdated in today's world

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:47 am

clandren wrote:IE6 is horrifically outdated in today's world
True that. But maybe his business requires it? Because, unfortunally, a lot of (poorly coded) business web apps (like Siebel and SAP) will only work with IE6. >_< They do work with SP3 however, hence why I asked 'why not upgrade'. ;)

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:43 am

i was thinking more along the lines of it being used as a web browser. its slow as a snail and is more prone to security issues than all modern browsers

Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

Post by Kingskawn » Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:13 am

They(management) do not want to upgrade to SP3 because of the time it would take to install it. It must be installed on 2000machines.

Why we are still working with IE6? Because we have some lazy programmers that didn't updated their code so some programs are very slow with IE7 and some can't run on IE8 :evil:

Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

Post by Kingskawn » Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:15 am

5eraph wrote:
Kingskawn wrote:
mf3imp wrote: No, you can't do this, even wiith the cumulative patch. The build 5512 or above is avaible only with SP3.
I believe you but is there somewhere a document that states that?
Would it be easier to believe if it came from Microsoft's TechNet forums?
Sorry to question what you're saying but it's to proof this to my boss. Thanks

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:49 am

Kingskawn wrote:They(management) do not want to upgrade to SP3 because of the time it would take to install it. It must be installed on 2000machines.
You guys don't use something like WSUS? :o

Kingskawn
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:41 am

Post by Kingskawn » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:22 am

Yes we do but through SCCM. Wsus is connected to it and we can deploy updates individually.
But for this the clients only needs to be in IE6 build 5512.

Post Reply