Vista x86 & x64 SP1 UpdatePacks + Extras

Windows Vista Update Pack discussion.
User avatar
oidicle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:59 am

Post by oidicle » Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:19 pm

Thank You

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:44 am

Mirror back online

ksec
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:10 am

Post by ksec » Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:43 am

Does the drivers uploaded have to be WHQL?

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:31 pm

Only for x64.
And yes i know some drivers in the x64 pack are not, but i cant test most cause i dont have that hardware.

chaox2007
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:01 pm

Post by chaox2007 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:29 am

Vista Tools 1.0 can't update x64 driver.

i hope you can fix it :)

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:41 am

what files are reqired to run vista tools.. waik is so huge .. cant download on my connection

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:09 pm

@chaox2007 , i didnt know that, cause i dont slip divers in x64.
Will see what we can do.

@avneet25, i dont know, maybe its explained on mfsn.

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:28 pm

Nice work muiz ! Your driverpack is awesome

But why have you abandoned the "MASTER Update Pack" with the full list of hotfixs you did for Pre-SP1 updates :?:

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:05 pm

To much work to keep that up to date

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:01 pm

can anyone tell me how to use vista-tool. is there any english guide.

am not sure of some options..

such as

"Location of path Mount" ?
and the rest of the options down below with check boxes..

i just need to integrate updates and drivers.


can anyone help please..

thanks

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:10 pm

Create for example in C: a folder "VISTA_WORK" with no espace ALWAYS
In this folder, create those folders (for example too) :

- VISTADVD (copy extracted files of your Vista DVD)
- MOUNT
- HOTFIXES (copy all your hotfix *.cab or *.msu files)
- DRIVERS (copy your drivers in it)

Open Vista-Tools ...

In "Locations of Vista DVD", clic change, and choose "C:\VISTA_WORK\VISTADVD"

In "Location of Path Mount", clic change, and choose "C:\VISTA_WORK\MOUNT"

In "Location of Hotfixt", clic change, and choose "C:\VISTA_WORK\HOTFIXES"

In "Location of Drivers", clic change, and choose "C:\VISTA_WORK\DRIVERS"

Select your right image in "select image" :
1 = Vista BUSINESS
2 = Vista HOMEBASIC
3 = Vista HOMEPRENIUM
4 = Vista ULTIMATE
5 = Vista HOMEBASIC N
6 = Vista BUSINNES N
7 = Vista STARTER
8 = ??
9 = ??
(If muiz can tell me what 8 & 9 options are ... maybe all images ?)

Check "Mount-RW" - "Intregrate Hotfix (ALL)" - "Integrate Drivers" - "Unmount-COMMIT" and "Make ISO"

And Press START, that's all ... :D

If you dont wanna see the dos box for hotfix integration check "Hide Command Prompt" on the right of START Button ...

At the end of the work, (can take a while) you will have your NEW VISTA DVD ISO in C:, and you can delete your "VISTA_WORK" folder

Hope it can help ^^
Last edited by fredpsycho83 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:27 pm

(If muiz can tell me what 8 & 9 options are ... maybe all images ?)
Some people have more then 8 versions on one DVD
I have a 8in1 version.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:38 pm

thx mate .. just what i needed.. am testing it right now .. hope everything works fine

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:48 pm

fredpsycho83 wrote:
Check "Mount-RW" - "Intregrate Hotfix (ALL)" - "Integrate Drivers" - "Unmount-COMMIT" and "Make ISO"
u mean to select integrate all, install all

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:54 pm

@muiz
oh okay i didnt know, thx
and just by curiosity, are you working on a new Vista-Tools version ?

@avneet25
Yes, integrate all, install all
There is also integrate 1 install 1
the 2 works fine :)
Last edited by fredpsycho83 on Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:03 pm

Recomended : Integrate 1 install 1

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:31 pm

thx it worked fine.. installed and only some serial port drivers wer not installed.. mmm could be chipset drivers..

there were some errors in driverlog.txt.. can u tell me if its normal..

here is the file

Code: Select all

http://cid-dabc36de44bf3876.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/misc/Driverlog.txt 
thx

ksec
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:10 am

Post by ksec » Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:27 am

muiz wrote:Only for x64.
And yes i know some drivers in the x64 pack are not, but i cant test most cause i dont have that hardware.
Sorry but why is that the case? x86 doesn't need WHQL?

And if i use the Vista Tools, Will i still get the warning message pop up for not using WHQL drivers?

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:47 am

Like i said that only happens in x64

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:11 am

Vista-Tools :
- x86 drivers WHQL : no warning message
- x86 drivers non-WHQL : no warning message
- x64 drivers WHQL : no warning message
- x64 drivers non-WHQL : WARNING message

vLite :
- x86 drivers WHQL : no warning message
- x86 drivers non-WHQL : WARNING message
- x64 drivers WHQL : no warning message
- x64 drivers non-WHQL : WARNING message

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:29 pm

Yes, thats it.

Now we only have to find out wich drivers in the x64 pack are not WHQL.

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:17 am

muiz wrote:Yes, thats it.

Now we only have to find out wich drivers in the x64 pack are not WHQL.
Wish there was a program, that would go through driver folders and report non-WHQL drivers, would have made life so much easier... :(

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:27 am

Microsoft has a tool for that , but you need to chack each .sys file manualy as far as i know.
Very time consuming.

@avneet , your log looks fine they all installed.


And i found a tool a while ago , for unasigned drivers in x64.

Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider 1.0
http://www.ngohq.com/home.php?page=dseo

If we can run this during the setup....
Or maybe someone has an idea for this..??

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:18 am

I have used in VMware a soft called "ReadyDriver Plus", it is a free tool and it will bypass the blue-screen and start vista normally. I have used it for TCPIP.SYS patched in vista SP1 x86 and x64, works great for all unsigned drivers.

No need to chech each unsigned drivers with this tool.

But i don't know if it can be run "before" drivers installation during vista setup ... i don't think so ... but this is the link for curious :

http://www.citadel.co.nr/readydriverplus/

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:29 am

muiz wrote:Microsoft has a tool for that , but you need to chack each .sys file manualy as far as i know.
Very time consuming.
Muiz, can i have the link for that tool, i will go through all these x64 drivers in you pack, and will let you know which drivers are not WHQL certified.

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:55 pm

i have a little problem ... with the DriversPack x86 i think.

I have added in the driverspack my own drivers : dell 2407wfp, microsoft keyboard etc ... in new folders, and when i integrate them, i have a BSOD on VMware at the end of the installation.

So i have redowloaded the "original" driverspack, to integrate drivers ... and the same problem.

I have done a dvd without drivers and it works great. I don't understand, it worked fine until now.

- My WinUpdate Pack x86 + MEGA Update Pack x86 + Bonus x86 + DriversPack x86 = BSOD
- My WinUpdate Pack x86 + MEGA Update Pack x86 + Bonus x86 = OK

Could be the fault of a hotfix in my MEGA Update Pack ?
this is the BSOD

Image

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:24 pm

Driver Verifier Manager (Verifier.exe)
The Driver Verifier Manager tool (Verifier.exe) is the preferred way to create and modify Driver Verifier settings and to gather statistics from Driver Verifier. Verifier.exe is located in the %WinDir%\System32 folder for every Windows installation.

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:59 pm

I have retested my problem :

- Original ISO Vista SP1 : OK
- Original ISO Vista SP1 + Driverspack x86 = BSOD

The same BSOD in my previous post. Anyone have an idea ? am i alone with this problem ?

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:24 pm

fredpsycho83 wrote:I have retested my problem :

- Original ISO Vista SP1 : OK
- Original ISO Vista SP1 + Driverspack x86 = BSOD

The same BSOD in my previous post. Anyone have an idea ? am i alone with this problem ?
Your answer to this problem can be found here
http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=53947

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:45 am

I dont have a BSOD in Vmware, so you might check your memory indeed.

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:17 am

@shaded26:
"Its usually a driver error. But it can be faulty RAM too."
"It seems I was right assuming is not a hardware problem or at least not defective hardware"

muiz, my RAM is perfectly OK, it a Corsair Dominator CM2X1024-6400C4D.

I really dont understand, i will recheck it but it was fine while i did the test.

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:43 pm

I tested again, but no BSOD here

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:40 pm

hi muiz
original x86 vista folder= 2.85gb
x86 vista folder + x86 driverpack= 3.05gb
original x64 vista folder= 3.86gb
x64 vista folder + x64 driverpack= 3.88gb
is this normal?
your driverpack x64 is roughly 800MB so the x64 vista folder size should be roughly 4.12gb

The x86 vista folder increases its size, so that is fine. Its just x64 vista, the size increase is only few MB's

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sun Aug 10, 2008 2:25 am

Something goes wrong with the slipping of x64 drivers, still dont know what.

EDIT:

Found a little workaround for Vista-Tool to slip x64 drivers.
Add this XML to the bin folder of Vista-tool and replace it.
Open the XML with WAIK, and browse to your folder wich contains the x64 drivers.
x86 doesnt need this trick.
Image
http://rapidshare.com/files/136253464/DRIVERS.XML.html

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:51 am

is there a warning message of non-WHQL x64 drivers with this method ?

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:15 pm

muiz wrote:Something goes wrong with the slipping of x64 drivers, still dont know what.

EDIT:

Found a little workaround for Vista-Tool to slip x64 drivers.
Add this XML to the bin folder of Vista-tool and replace it.
Open the XML with WAIK, and browse to your folder wich contains the x64 drivers.
x86 doesnt need this trick.
Image
http://rapidshare.com/files/136253464/DRIVERS.XML.html
Thanksssss so much muiz, now i will test your new x64 driverpack, and will let you know

thanks once again :D

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sun Aug 10, 2008 8:45 pm

fredpsycho83 wrote:is there a warning message of non-WHQL x64 drivers with this method ?
Nope

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:41 pm

Driver packs updated, and no more BSOD's or popups.

thx to shahed26 for the great help with it.

Vista-Tool repacked with guide, and x64 driver "trick"

thx fredpsycho83, for helping me with the guide

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:47 pm

any updates on the august update and driver paks. i think ati drivers got updated in august

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:21 pm

ATI 7.8 is present

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:26 pm

You mean 8.7? 7.8 is really old. ;)

User avatar
fredpsycho83
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by fredpsycho83 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:40 am

good work muiz !

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:31 pm

beats wrote:You mean 8.7? 7.8 is really old. ;)
ghehehe yep my bad.....its 8.7 :)

@fredpsycho83, thx

August packs almost ready, even a new driverpacks update is comming.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:36 am

cool ..cant wait for the driver packs

thx

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:39 pm

any updates

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:47 am

X64 driverpack updated, rest will follow soon

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:17 pm

thanks a lot!! i'm planning to move to x64 vista!

---edited---
a n00b question:
is it ok that i'm current running with vista x86 but i'd like to modify a x64 install source?
i'm really new to vista's installation.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:26 pm

Yes it doesnt realy matter from wich version you work, atleast i dont have any problems with that.

Updates will be ready soon...

mara-
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:20 pm

Post by mara- » Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:23 pm

muiz wrote:Yes it doesnt realy matter from wich version you work, atleast i dont have any problems with that.
Hi,

Are you sure about this? Did you integrate hotfixes to x64 vista using x86 system as host? I'm asking this because vLite does not allow integration of hotfixes to x64 vista using x86 system. Only component removal is allowed. Also, thanks for great pack. I'm looking forward for your next one.

Cheers ;)
Office 2000/XP/2003/2007 Slipstreamer: http://www.msfn.org/board/Office-2000-X ... 21357.html

User avatar
shahed26
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:19 am
Location: England (London)

Post by shahed26 » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:14 pm

mara- wrote:

Hi,

Are you sure about this? Did you integrate hotfixes to x64 vista using x86 system as host? I'm asking this because vLite does not allow integration of hotfixes to x64 vista using x86 system. Only component removal is allowed. Also, thanks for great pack. I'm looking forward for your next one.

Cheers ;)
The question was
yumeyao wrote: a n00b question:
is it ok that i'm current running with vista x86 but i'd like to modify a x64 install source?
i'm really new to vista's installation.
and muiz replied
muiz wrote:Yes it doesnt realy matter from wich version you work, atleast i dont have any problems with that.
So basically muiz was saying you can modify an x64 install.wim image on a x86 vista install. He never said you can integrate x64 hotfixes under an x86 vista.

You CAN'T integrate x64 hotfixes on x86 vista, you MUST be running x64 vista to do that. (you can modify an x64 install.wim on x86 vista) :D

Post Reply