Page 4 of 9

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 7:52 am
by DirtyShady
Ok but I just want to know if after I slipstream Updates on 4 Vista version ISO could be burn into 4.7Go Empty DVD.


Or ISO will be too big.

I don't need help about Vlite, juste final size.

I just want you advise me if it's better to keep only Ultimate Version.

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:48 am
by muiz
Since there are lots of updates now, and you want to keep all versions, the size of your install.wim will be to big.
So its better to use only 1 or 2 versions.

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:52 am
by DirtyShady
ok ;)

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:55 am
by ronalmo
Would it also be possible to somehow include office 07 or any other programs such as nero all into one Vista Ultimate X86 SP1 install?
I dont mean to be lazy, I just think itd be pretty cool fi I knew how to do it.

Any help or step-by-step guides would be much appreciated

Thanks all

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:16 am
by DirtyShady
Last question:

How I could remove unwanted vista edition ? To have more space.

It's possible to choose edition I want to keep with Vlite ?

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:13 pm
by muiz
You can use the imagex/export command.
Or just use vlite to do this.

@ronalmo
Sorry dude , but that has nothing to do with the update packs.

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:09 pm
by muiz
First post updated

VistaSP1x86_WinUpdate_Pack_v8.10.1
VistaSP1x64_WinUpdate_Pack_v8.10.1

Added : Windows6.0-KB958644

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:14 pm
by electrogen
ronalmo wrote:Would it also be possible to somehow include office 07 or any other programs such as nero all into one Vista Ultimate X86 SP1 install?
I dont mean to be lazy, I just think itd be pretty cool fi I knew how to do it.

Any help or step-by-step guides would be much appreciated

Thanks all
I know it's off topic but you could do reverse integration.
IE: install vista then office, nero etc and then capture the image.

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:21 pm
by muiz
Then you would have to do "sysprep"

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:43 pm
by Mavericks choice
Does anyone have a problem integrating Windows6.0-KB958644-x86-EXPRESS.cab or the Windows6.0-KB954955-x86_Tinkerbell.cab into their source.
For some reason they won't stick or shown installed.
Tried with both VTOOL & VLite NG??

Cheers
MC

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:20 pm
by muiz
Worked fine here, strange

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:38 am
by DirtyShady
Could you add this new reliability update KB957200 ?

x86 :

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 86ca475ca4


x64 :


http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 7a944f77ac

Thanks

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:18 am
by muiz
You might not believe this, but i also have a normal life.
And since i have to do all the hotfix packs by my own, it can take a while before updates are posted here :)

EDIT : Update first post.

Added : Windows6.0-KB957200 , Windows6.0-KB953155

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:49 pm
by DirtyShady
Thanks a lot !!

and excuse me. :?

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:21 pm
by muiz
DirtyShady wrote:Thanks a lot !!

and excuse me. :?
No problem.
I will update as often as i can.


Still looking for extra help with the driverpacks.

Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:45 pm
by Mavericks choice
@Muiz
I mentioned previously these are great packs, I don't however think it's necessary for you to update this every fortnight or when a patch appears. I'm very happy on the monthly basis. Good job.
Most users with these tools can update their own source with latest patches as often as they please.

Cheers
MC.

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 1:42 am
by muiz
I know, but its no need to download if you already had the "old" pack.
But for users who download for the first time its better that its complete.

thx again ;)

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:22 am
by lespea
Maybe I'm doing it wrong... but when I integrate the updates I get into an endless "stage 3 of 3 configuring updates". I did use vlite to remove a few things and generate an unattended xml file. Is this normal or should I stop using vlite or?

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:03 pm
by muiz
NEVER remove things before slipstreaming ALWAYS afterwards.

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:53 pm
by doomangel
lespea wrote:Maybe I'm doing it wrong... but when I integrate the updates I get into an endless "stage 3 of 3 configuring updates". I did use vlite to remove a few things and generate an unattended xml file. Is this normal or should I stop using vlite or?
i have the same problem without removing anything

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:00 pm
by lespea
Oh sorry I wasn't very clear... I did remove things after I slipstreamed. And I think I only removed languages if I recall correctly... oh and music/movie samples.

I let the reboot cycle go for about 4 hours before I killed it and I was using the normal pack, the plus pack, and the ultimate pack. I slipped them all in at the same time.

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:27 pm
by muiz
You have to be even more clear im afraid, cause i have realy no idea what you did.

Vista Tool + Post SP1 Update Packs

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:50 am
by vista_tester
I am having a real hard time finding a Guide to vLite and Vista Tools
I really think "Vista Tool" is the dumbest name when trying to search google for info on it?
All I want to know is why do I need to use Vista Tool instead of vLite for Post Sp1 and can I use the VistaSP1x68_WinUpdate_Pack_Plus_v8.10.7z with the current version of vLite. If not is there a way to just use vLite instead of Vista Tools with post SP1 updates ?

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:33 pm
by muiz
This is not a Vlite discussion, and dumbest name? how about your own name?

Re: Vista Tool + Post SP1 Update Packs

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:54 pm
by TheSickman
vista_tester wrote: I am having a real hard time finding a Guide to vLite and Vista Tools

If you downloaded it

You didn't have to look for a Guide
All info is in it
vista_tester wrote: I really think "Vista Tool" is the dumbest name when trying to search google for info on it?
Whats dumb bout it ?

I'ts a TOOL for VISTA

so

VISTA TOOL :D

Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:17 pm
by DJPro
muiz wrote:This is not a Vlite discussion, and dumbest name? how about your own name?
LOL, very nice Muiz

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:40 pm
by electrogen
Just a heads up

Windows6.0-KB950124
Windows6.0-KB950125

These 2 are both for Media Centre and causes servicing to fail if used on non Media Centre platforms, Also Windows6.0-KB950125 is cumulative so Windows6.0-KB950124 isnt needed

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:58 pm
by muiz
electrogen wrote:Just a heads up

Windows6.0-KB950124
Windows6.0-KB950125

These 2 are both for Media Centre and causes servicing to fail if used on non Media Centre platforms, Also Windows6.0-KB950125 is cumulative so Windows6.0-KB950124 isnt needed
So i can remove Windows6.0-KB950124
and add Windows6.0-KB950125 to the media center pack?

Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:56 am
by electrogen
muiz wrote:
electrogen wrote:Just a heads up

Windows6.0-KB950124
Windows6.0-KB950125

These 2 are both for Media Centre and causes servicing to fail if used on non Media Centre platforms, Also Windows6.0-KB950125 is cumulative so Windows6.0-KB950124 isnt needed
So i can remove Windows6.0-KB950124
and add Windows6.0-KB950125 to the media center pack?
Sorry no they both need putting in media center pack.
Windows6.0-KB950126 is cumulative to Windows6.0-KB950125

Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:21 am
by electrogen
These are the updates i have for Media Centre:

MCETVPack-Windows6.0-KB956147-x64
Windows6.0-KB947172-x64
Windows6.0-KB950124-x64
Windows6.0-KB950125-x64
Windows6.0-KB950126-x64
Windows6.0-KB950754-x64_MediaCenterTV_Pack
Windows6.0-KB951685-x64_MediaCenterTV_Pack
Windows6.0-KB953272-x64_MediaCenterTV_Pack
Windows6.0-KB955519-x64

MCETVPack-Windows6.0-KB956147-x86
Windows6.0-KB947172-x86
Windows6.0-KB950124-x86
Windows6.0-KB950125-x86
Windows6.0-KB950126-x86
Windows6.0-KB950754-x86
Windows6.0-KB951685-x86
Windows6.0-KB953272-x86
Windows6.0-KB955519-x86

But Windows6.0-KB950125 is superceded by Windows6.0-KB950126 so Windows6.0-KB950125 needs to be removed.

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:28 am
by muiz
So Windows6.0-KB950124-x64 stays?
And what about Windows6.0-KB947172, isnt that one to old?

EDIT: packs updated to November

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:55 pm
by electrogen
muiz wrote: And what about Windows6.0-KB947172, isnt that one to old?
Yes thats too old

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:20 pm
by armond
Thank you for the Update but there is a small problem:
http://driverpacks.sytes.net/vistapacks ... k_v8.11.7z
Said that file not found. I can download your other files.

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:40 pm
by muiz
link fixed in first post.

@electrogen, i included it, but i will remove asap.

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:45 pm
by armond
Thank you for quick reply!
Another question: What about adding these small updates to make MU completely happy:
June 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB952714)
October 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB957000)
When you enable CIP these update will appear in MU.
Thanks again.

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:06 pm
by electrogen
armond wrote:Thank you for quick reply!
Another question: What about adding these small updates to make MU completely happy:
June 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB952714)
October 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB957000)
When you enable CIP these update will appear in MU.
Thanks again.
The June & October Updtes are cumulative so you will only need the later.

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:38 pm
by armond
Are you sure? Electrojen?
MU shows both updates at the same time. also when comparing the file list (in the KB articles) there are not the same.
From the October article: "This CEIP package does not supersede any other package." :wink:

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:49 am
by electrogen
sorry you are right i thought they were as there is 2 diff months

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:48 pm
by muiz
So these 2 are missing?

June 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB952714)
October 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB957000)

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:24 pm
by armond
Yes. Also, There are 2 missing update for Media Center. There are present in Fox's update pack. Unfortunately, I don't remember them now. Sorry.

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:35 pm
by shahed26
muiz wrote:So these 2 are missing?

June 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB952714)
October 2008 update for the Windows Vista Customer Experience Improvement Program (KB957000)
Muiz, i can confirm, that these 2 hotfixes are missing. They are in fox's packs, but i guess u accidently missed them both when packing the update packs.. :P

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:14 pm
by muiz
armond wrote:Yes. Also, There are 2 missing update for Media Center. There are present in Fox's update pack. Unfortunately, I don't remember them now. Sorry.
Strange it shows no more updates here, and i dont have those.

But for those who needs them, they are added now.

: 8.11.1

Windows6.0-KB952714
Windows6.0-KB957000

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:56 am
by Ben.Hahlen
I have a question concerning the integration:
If you guys integrate the hotfixes, Ultimate Extras and MediaCenter stuff, how long does it take for you?

I started an integration yesterday (using VistaTool) and thought it would take 30 mins or so. After 1h30 mins, it still wasn't finished, and had quite some stuff to do still.
Is that normal or did I do something wrong?

Thanks in advance for the answers :).

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:55 pm
by muiz
When you slip all packages...it takes a loooooooong time, also depents on your system.

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 3:38 am
by Ben.Hahlen
LOL. Yeah, ok, then it wasn't me ;).
Thought it would go a bit faster on my system (C2D E8400, 4GB RAM), but as SP1 integration also took more than an hour (did that yesterday), it seems to be a "Vista-thing".

So now I just turned on integration before I went to work, so my pc is crunching on it atm :).

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:18 am
by muiz
Just sit back and relax , and let the pc do the work :)

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:03 pm
by Ben.Hahlen
Is it a problem if my install.wim is ~4.8GB and the total ISO ~7GB?

Didn't do the clean-up thingie I read about in another thread... will try that. Does it have to be mounted to do that?

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:29 am
by Ben.Hahlen
vsp1cln.exe doesn't work on my image. Says it cannot be run on this version of Vista... Oh well...
Gonna be installing from USB drive instead of DVD, makes more sense as well :D

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:15 pm
by muiz
Yes it has to be mounted for the cleanup.


the download server is down till tomorrow, building in a bigger hard drive (1TB)

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:57 am
by Ben.Hahlen
Tried it when mounted, but it gave an error as posted above.

Now when trying to install I get the error 0x80300001 - Cannot install to the current location.
I think this might be due to the install.wim being larger than 4GB. However: this is only Vista Ultimate with SP1 + updates integrated...

Would it work if I would split the install.wim? Or does that not work?