Help embed a MSP in a MSI

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Help embed a MSP in a MSI

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:46 am

Any MSI editing experts out there how to embed and apply a MSP file in a MSI installer using the Patch and/or PatchPackage tables?

Image

I will use it in my .NET4 WUFix to silence KB2468871, I can manually install it or apply the patch using this command line but would prefer to embed the MSP

Code: Select all

<installer>.msi /update <path>\<patch>.msp
Here is the patch stub I created for KB2468871 using the tutorial by yumeyao, would greatly appreciate the help

http://www.mediafire.com/?knbirti54nrgxr7

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:55 pm

By this way only one msp could be embedded. Not any more.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:51 pm

Hey yy is there any way to embed the MSP as a binary then call it via the cmdline?

Code: Select all

<msi_name>.msi /update [msp.binary.property]

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Fri May 11, 2012 9:01 am

Sorry for late reply.

1.
I don't think that's possible. You have to extract the msp files first.

2.
Even if it's possible, only one msp can be specified.

3.
I don't think it's possible to run another MSI process (barely the msp) when one msi process (the installation msi) is running.

-- edit --
I don't think the vb way is problematic, I think the msp stub way itself(I use) causes various of issues on further updates. Because msp is totally messed up, even the 'official' ones. I can't figure out a way to create an 100% compatible msp as the offcial one.

Trust me, I have tried a lot of other possible ways before I started using the vbscript way.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

MichaelPeerm
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:30 am
Location: Virgin Islands
Contact:

Help embed a MSP in a MSI

Post by MichaelPeerm » Sat Jun 30, 2018 11:54 pm

I
I would like to edit a msp file patch for change the product code.

Is it possible to do such a thing ?

Regards

Laurent

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Re: Help embed a MSP in a MSI

Post by mooms » Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:51 am

Wow, resurrecting a 6½ years old thread !
Alteration of the world
Want to thank me ? If you buy something on Banggood with this link, I will earn a little %.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Re: Help embed a MSP in a MSI

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:40 pm

Yes its possible, but start a new topic.

Post Reply