Re RyanVM jre6 and jre5010 switchless installers

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
Post Reply
DLF
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:36 pm
Location: The Midlands, U.K.

Re RyanVM jre6 and jre5010 switchless installers

Post by DLF » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:24 am

@ anyone

Are these installers for different runtimes and are both required to safely run all java web content from our install CD's? Or does one supercede the other?
Can some kindly soul please explain or point me to some layman's resource that will explain. I have done the usual google searches but I am not an IT pro, just a keen amateur and the Sun resource pages just overwhelm me, I'm afraid.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:10 am

So far as I know 6.0 (or 1.6.0) should supercede 5.0 (1.5.0).. But that's just off the top of my head, I don't really have any sources backing it up.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:12 am

Java 6 is backwards compatible, if that's what you mean DLF.

DLF
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:36 pm
Location: The Midlands, U.K.

Post by DLF » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:12 am

@ViVa
@Mitsuko Aninikkou

Thanks. Seems we only really need jre6 then. Only the reason I asked was I was browsing RyanVM's bittorrent releases and he brought new versions of both these files out the same day as he released latest update pack. So I was unsure whether they had different purposes or not...

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:09 am

I did both only because I figured there may be some out there who still prefer JRE5 for whatever reason (kinda like how some prefer older Acrobat Readers)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

DLF
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:36 pm
Location: The Midlands, U.K.

Post by DLF » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:09 am

@ RyanVM

Thanks Ryan, all clear now. I wish you would do a Nero lite switchless...any plans?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:06 pm

I still use a stripped down version of the final Nero 6 release.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
laur3ooo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:33 am
Location: Constanta, CT, România

Post by laur3ooo » Mon Dec 25, 2006 4:29 pm

We use Java for OOP course in school and when compiling some older code I get deprecation warning(s). Deprecation mean that some classes and such, which I use, will no longer be available/supported in future JDK releases. This is true for JDK, can't confirm it for JRE, but I'm pretty confident. However I use the same JRE an JDK (no reason not to). I also try to re-release older classes when JDK/JRE upgrades deprecates some of the features that I use.

What that technical stuff before meant is that Java 6 supersedes earlier releases however it deprecates some of it (very small parts, tiny bits for layman usage). Unless older Java is a must at work or is used for some specific scripting support for 3rd party applications, there is no need for older versions.
To never die... to conquer all, that is winning.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Dec 25, 2006 7:04 pm

there is and probably will always be some jave code out there that is hard coded to specific releases of JRE...

I've got loads of stuff that require jre 1.4.xx. It will run on 1.5 if I manually hack the respaths through. Easier keep the needed JREs installed than to constantly hack respaths.

User avatar
laur3ooo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:33 am
Location: Constanta, CT, România

Post by laur3ooo » Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:52 am

newsposter wrote:there is and probably will always be some jave code out there that is hard coded to specific releases of JRE...
Which is generally not good programming practice. Anyway there is less fundamental difference between Java 5 & 6 then between 5 an 1.4...
To never die... to conquer all, that is winning.

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:03 pm

I use RyanVM java 6 from here http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/, how to make that totality silent without extracting progress bar

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:12 pm

You can't with mine. It's the nature of the 7zip SFX module I use.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3214
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:34 pm

You CAN! edit the jre6.exe like you edit the 7zS.sfx file to remove the Extracting dialog... (but i suspect Ryan alredy edits his 7zS.sfx to do so)

But if you want the Installing dialog you have to make your own addon with the /quiet or /qn switch

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:31 pm

Ryan, is it OK for you to share your 7zip SFX module? ;)

BTW, how small is your SFX module?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:56 pm

You can easily cut and paste the module from any 7-Zip switchless installer with a hex editor.

All 7-Zip archives start with the string "7z" in a hex editor. In a 7-Zip switchless installer the archive begins with the third instance of that string and the UTF-8 configuration text is just before it.

Ryan uses UPX on his installers, so you'll have to unUPX it first if you want to edit the dialog box.

Post Reply