[Solved] Help find a Paint.NET switchless addon

Forum for anything else which doesn't fit in the above forums. Site feedback, random talk, whatever, are welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

[Solved] Help find a Paint.NET switchless addon

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:53 am

I am looking for a certain Paint.NET addon or the author (if anybody knows who it was) that had a advanced way of doing config.txt that was sorta like RTF (Rich Text) formatting in the prompt. It had colors, bold, size, font codes

I am working on a .net4 aio sfx maker I would like to know how he did it (I tried doing something in write.exe then copying it in config.txt but cant get it to work)
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Wed Sep 21, 2011 5:57 pm

I am looking for a certain Paint.NET addon or the author (if anybody knows who it was) that had a advanced way of doing config.txt that was sorta like RTF (Rich Text) formatting in the prompt. It had colors, bold, size, font codes
ricktendo64,

I never dl'd that Paint.NET addon, but I do have a copy of nacnay's Winamp addon and the config.txt appears to have at least some of what your looking for.

Hope this helps.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:18 pm

Thanks a million!!!

I finally figured out why it was not working for me, I was using the wrong sfx module

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:16 pm

Thanks to you and nacnay I was able to make a nice .net4 installer that resembles the original

Image Image

Image Image

Image Image

Image Image

http://www.mediafire.com/?air2tflkbfl6thk

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:55 pm

very cool Rick 8)

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:11 am

little known fact: i wrote that config.txt that nancay uses.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:24 am

dumpydooby wrote:little known fact: i wrote that config.txt that nancay uses.
wasn't that from your Adobe Reader installer ?

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:52 am

My first ever public release of it would have been VCP 5.4.2 (Sept 14, 2009). Prior to that, I had repackaged some of RogueSpear's stuff and had been using the config privately for about a month.

It's funny because I had been toying around with it for a while and got some stuff mixed up. So VCP 5.4.2 has the font sizes all screwed up. VCP 5.4.7 (Oct 19) has them fixed, but both 5.4.2 and 5.4.7 say "A RogueSpear Installation" up at the top. It wasn't until 5.4.8 (Nov 6) that I finally got my ducks in a row. lol

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:28 am

Thx

The thing is I knew how it was done (with wordpad) but could never get it to work, I was using the wrong sfx the whole time

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:44 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Thx

The thing is I knew how it was done (with wordpad) but could never get it to work, I was using the wrong sfx the whole time
ya you need the one "with dialogs".

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:00 pm

I wrote mine with notepad. RTF syntax is simple.


Using something like wordpad would probably give you some unnecessary stuff and possibly screw up your layout with things like margins. But then again, mine would probably look better with some margins. lol.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:16 pm

Hey does anybody know how to do this (scrollable list box) with word and can it be saved as rtf and implemented in the gui of the sfx?

Image

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:55 pm

In Word it should be simple, something like tools->insert->text (I don't actually remember the Word menu layout, so that's probably not exactly correct). But translating that into RTF probably isn't going to happen. But supposing that it is possible to do that with RTF (and again, I really don't think it is), 7zsd.sfx module likely wouldn't be able to interpret it (you'll note that my config.txt file actually has a hyperlink RTF syntax in it, but the 7zsd.sfx module isn't able to interpret it properly and simply displays it as text). The module is too basic for that functionality. You'd be better off hacking it yourself or enlisting the help of someone that can hack it for you.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:33 pm

Yea I managed to do it with restorator but the hard part is getting the text in it and formatting it

You are right about the sfx, its basic. I tried adding pictures but it would not recognize them either

Post Reply