Welcome to Windows XP Service Pack 4

Forum to discuss Update Packs created by community members for the various Windows operating systems.
Post Reply
User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:23 pm

harkaz wrote:Another gift for package installer fans:
Link: https://mega.nz/#F!ddUBCJjT!sBlAhFjn88bU5xE5H2WALQ
I wouldn't even know what to do with this!

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:54 pm

That's useful only if you plan to modify gdiplus or VC runtime files on your system.
You see, with side-by-side assemblies you have to use MS catalogs otherwise the public key token won't be correct during assembly installation.

The sx2.dll is a patched sxs.dll that is called by the package installer (update.exe) to skip catalog and hash checking and install the modified dll file along with the modified manifest and MS catalog file.

Intended for *package development* only.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:20 pm

Thanks, def not for me!

User avatar
maxtorix
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:49 pm

Post by maxtorix » Sat Apr 30, 2016 7:15 pm

Offtopic:
Can this ASMS patch to be used to install Remote Desktop 7 on Server 2003 http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php? ... desktop-7/ ?

Edit:
Yes.

Image
Image

Dibya
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Sun May 01, 2016 2:44 am

All usp4 user want to play games better?
Then something from me and harkaz.
Repacked by harkaz and patched kernel & custom compability library from Me(Dibya)
DirectX10/11 Compability Library for XPx86 :: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 465#141465

User avatar
maxtorix
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:49 pm

Post by maxtorix » Sun May 01, 2016 4:26 am

Dibya wrote:All usp4 user want to play games better?
Then something from me and harkaz.
Repacked by harkaz and patched kernel & custom compability library from Me(Dibya)
DirectX10/11 Compability Library for XPx86 :: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 465#141465
Great! Some test images maybe?

Dibya
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Sun May 01, 2016 8:22 am

maxstorix
i will add as soon as possible

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Wed May 04, 2016 5:30 pm

Dibya, I may have to try this, sounds interesting! I play Unreal Tournament Classic, aka:UT99, which does have a D3d10 update, so if I can get Dx10 to work, and then use the wrapper, might be interesting to see what happens!

Dibya
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Thu May 05, 2016 2:44 am

@GHOst
please try and tell me the result

User avatar
maxtorix
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:49 pm

Post by maxtorix » Thu May 05, 2016 5:03 am

Dibya wrote:@GHOst
please try and tell me the result
There ware a problems with installing it on system updated till August, 2012 (syspreped machine) - after executing the .exe popup report error with update.inf.
Successfully installed on Harkaz's SP4 ISO, but DXDIAG does not working anymore.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Thu May 05, 2016 12:29 pm

NOTE: This update package requires SP4 to be installed.

If you have problems with update.inf cat file install the reg file in this zip beforehand: (removed permanently)
Also, it's not designed for nLite "native" (non-SVCPACK) CD-ROM slipstreaming
Last edited by harkaz on Sun May 08, 2016 6:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Thu May 05, 2016 3:17 pm

did try DibyaDX11-x86-ENU-v1 for fun once, 0n sp4 live system
windows logon is missing the sfc_os.dll when log on.
there fore unable to login.


"Static Linking
sfc_os.dll is statically linked to the following files:

ntdll.dll
USER32.dll
KERNEL32.dll
RPCRT4.dll
ADVAPI32.dll
WINTRUST.dll
CRYPT32.dll
ole32.dll

This means that when sfc_os.dll is loaded, the above files are automatically loaded too.
If one of these files is corrupted or missing, sfc_os.dll won't be loaded."



Does that reg-file fix the missing dll or is my firewall untrusting the new dlls?
ps.(thanks for your hard-work and others)

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Thu May 05, 2016 6:34 pm

@vioplujjnsjzfg What's the error message, exactly?
Post MD5 hash of sfc_os.dll
The reg file is used to make the CAT file trusted. NOT required in SP4 - it's bundled in it already.

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Fri May 06, 2016 1:42 pm

@harkaz Well,cannot exactly say that, all-ready a happy camper on a new install(sp4+16-secuppdates).

when auto-logon, os popup (cannot start logon sfc_os.dll is missing)
did try to replace a copy from i386 folder, didnt work.
the screen was black in safe-mode,but you could see the safe-mode text in the corners
and you could see the mouse cursor,nothing else did not work.

better to put this error to Pending-bin, if others have this maybe then
there is a reason to spend some time=money on it.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sat May 07, 2016 7:48 am

Is the file in System32 folder?

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Sat May 07, 2016 12:32 pm

My limited memory and know-how fail me to explain.

did a search on the missing sfc_os.dll.

'winlogon.exe unable to locate component this aplication has failed to start
because sfc_os dll was not found re-installing the application may fix this problem'

EXPAND \I386\sfc_os.dl_ C:\Windows\System32

Probably the patch failed because, if you have temp folders in a ramdisk.

There must been some setting? in my reg that cause that error
and not DibyaDX11-x86-ENU-v1 patch.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sat May 07, 2016 4:22 pm

Try: EXPAND \I386\sfc_os.dl_ C:\WINDOWS\System32\sfc_os.dll

to see if there is any difference.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sun May 08, 2016 6:11 pm

Due to some ethical issues, I have removed the DX11 package from my Drive.
No support will be offered to those who downloaded it, at least by me.

aau
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:38 pm

Post by aau » Sun May 15, 2016 6:42 pm

Question about burning SP4 install CDs: I have both retail XP Home and Pro that I am using to build separate install CD1. Is CD2 the same for both? TIA

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Mon May 16, 2016 7:12 pm

CD2 differs between two versions.
Pro CD2 includes files for Tablet PC in addition to basic components found in both versions.

cc333
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:41 pm

Post by cc333 » Sun May 22, 2016 8:21 pm

Hi,

May I ask how I use the "4GB_PATCH_ALTERNATIVE.rar" file that is located here: https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

When I try integrating it using nLite, I get a "Unsupported file ... See help". Maybe I'm supposed to use HFSLIP?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

c

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Tue May 24, 2016 2:15 pm

See first post:

"Apply the patches in patches-v3.1a.zip selectively: The files inside the OC-PATCHES subfolders will change the default installation state of each respective component in slipstreamed install. The files in 4GB_PATCH directory will add support for 4GB+ RAM. You just need to copy-paste the files in a SP4v3-slipstremed installation disk and reinstall Windows."

No HFSLIP/nLite compatibility, manual copying to I386 required.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:18 pm

NOTICE: Analysis of modern Windows Update packages started here: http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/175704- ... -analysis/

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:54 pm

Microsoft released two updates for XP today: WindowsXP-KB2876331-x86-ENU.exe and WindowsXP-KB2916036-x86-ENU.exe

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:48 am

Microsoft released those in 2013 and 2014, as represented by the first two digits of their corresponding security bulletin ID numbers:

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:45 pm

At the Microsoft download location the date shown is 8/2/2016 for both - there must be a Microsoft reason as to why they were (re)released.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:58 am

I see what you mean now. The contents of those packages haven't changed. Must be something wonky with their servers.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Tue Aug 30, 2016 5:58 pm


User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:38 pm

We're waiting for Patch Tuesday.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:46 pm

Until then, I will Share this with you all!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:53 pm

I'd rather have shrubbery. :)

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:12 am

No no, lets not fear the word "it", but the Killer Bunny!!!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:40 am

I soiled my armor, I was so scared.

I've done it again!

User avatar
Atari800xl
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:46 pm
Location: NL

Post by Atari800xl » Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:42 am

...
Last edited by Atari800xl on Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:09 pm

Beware of this CryptoAPI weakness (MSFT does not consider this a security vulnerability): http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10594

It affects all versions of Windows since 1998.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1ty35N1ay0

NEVER run installers/software with admin rights unless you fully trust its source!

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:02 am

10-4 Boss!

User avatar
Atari800xl
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:46 pm
Location: NL

Post by Atari800xl » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:43 am

sorry...

Zboard
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:21 pm

Post by Zboard » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:58 am

Hello! first of all, thanks for this sp4 and the hard work you invested on it.
Now one question: after install, and read some posts here, i dont know why i dont have/cant install/cant run office 2007, even if i download it from microsoft it says is already installed, so im a bit confused, plus this is new to me. My original language is spanish, but i changed it all to english like in the page 34, so i could install this SP4. It all installed succesfully but.. What i need to do to run/install office 2007?; sorry that my first post is asking for help but i dont really know what to do. Thanks for your time

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:43 pm

Sorry to hear of your problem, I personally don't know why this is ... but Harkaz will read this later and my have some information to help here. Hang in there and welcome to the forum!

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

@Zboard Can you send me a screenshot? Office 2007 is not pre-installed, only one of its components required for Web folders update.

Use PM if not comfortable posting the image here.

Kurt_Aust
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Kurt_Aust » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:02 pm

I don't think it's a problem inherent to XP SP4 as I've successfully scripted an install of Office 2007, both Home + Student and Small Business editions, on it.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:24 pm

I have had 2007 installed, past install, 2003 this install. No problems with either

Dibya
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:22 pm

office 2007 Enterprise installed fine on usp4

Zboard
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:21 pm

Post by Zboard » Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:49 pm

Forgot to mention that i also cant use search, have missing .dll, ill try to post screens as soon as possible. Another edit: i didnt download the mui pack posted in page 34, having trouble with it because 1gb ram only

harkaz
Posts: 684
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:40 pm

@ ZBoard Try reinstalling SP4. Remember that this is not a 'proper' installation scenario (only intended for testing!)

The search companion error shows that there might be more unresolved issues with your install, making a reinstall/clean install necessary.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:42 am

Is the only modification needed to registry, to receive POS updates from MS ....

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\PosReady]
"Installed"=dword:00000001

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:46 am

Correct, GH0st.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Sat Oct 01, 2016 2:30 am

ty

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:19 am

Totally borked my system, I tried to install a unofficial patch, which totally screwed my system and since I deleted my last OS which was on a Rufus thumb drive, I couldn't repair.

Last install was from January 2016, uSP4, was still tight and very fast. Shame I didn't back up my stuff prior, but so it goes.

Fresh format and install starting now!

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1345
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:26 pm

It might be helpful for others if you could share what the problem update was, so they can avoid it.

Cheers and Regards

Post Reply