[Release] Kels' Runtimes v8.8

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:12 am

Interesting.. any idea what the problem with it is? Are there many different versions of it available?

Firefrorefiddle
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:29 am

Post by Firefrorefiddle » Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:41 am

heya kel, is your runtime pack compatible with RogueSpear's big runtime pack (the one that includes everything) ?
and which one is more up-to-date? yours or his

thanx,
props for the good work

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:27 pm

Hell I dunno let me go look.

I have updated mine several times over the past couple of weeks so I suspect mine is more update.

User avatar
Tasslehoff
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:05 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by Tasslehoff » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:51 am

Holy moly, it was only 1.8 last time I checked a few weeks ago, thanks for all your work on this Kel.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:53 am

Heheheh your very welcome.

Firefrorefiddle
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:29 am

Post by Firefrorefiddle » Thu Jan 18, 2007 12:53 pm

kel about the manifest file, are you going to put it back in fixed or leave it out perm?
because the apps don't seem to be using the runtime correctly otherwise

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:19 pm

It really messed up the installs m8 I will see if I can find another way to include it.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:26 pm

Strangely enough I am getting the PFN_LIST_CORRUPT message with the runtimes pack version 2.4. Dropping back to 2.3 and it works just fine.

Firefrorefiddle
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:29 am

Post by Firefrorefiddle » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:38 am

i dunno what happened but a lot of my applications that need the runtimes are crashing since i started using 2.4..guess for now i'll roll
back to 2.3...now where did i put that previous cd build

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:44 am

Kel, maybe you could do something like adding a batch file to install it at runonce.. the problems happen during the windows install, right?

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Fri Feb 16, 2007 5:24 pm

up!

any piece of news about this great addon?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:50 pm

I pulled these out from the pack for now and worked great:
may be make these go runoce and hit for more tests
or for now just remove
test and report back :

these NET RUNtimes :
mfcm80.dll
mfcm80d.dll
mfcm80u.dll
mfcm80ud.dll
msvcm80.dll
msvcm80d.dll

and these other 16 bit :
Vb40016.dll
vbrun100.dll
vbrun200.dll
Vbrun300.dll
W95INF16.DLL

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:12 am

ok try removing just the ones that end in "d" the are for ducth windows if I have figured it out right.

Edit: after some research I found that the "d" means a debug version so I am gonna rip all of those out.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:48 pm

Attention!

Here is 2.5 test!!!

Fairly major changes!

The manifest file is back (Renamed during runonce)
All of the debug files have been removed (Shame on me)
Shaved a bit off of the overall size!

www.wpiw.net/downloads/Kels_Runtimes_addon_v2.5.CAB

Size - 8.22 megs MD5Hash = 07F2B3F4745156F0665509CCFD01A4A4

This has been a rebuild with those that have been having issues in mind!!!

Please test it as I never had any issues and cannot reproduce them!

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:26 pm

I'll let you know - just finished one test which didn't work (nothing to do with this) so I have to do another run. I'll use 2.5 this time and srr how it gets on.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:47 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:11 pm

Sorry - but getting loads of runtime errors at T13 with the new 2.5 pack. Tried twice now with the same result.

However, I am also using Kels updated Royale theme so there is the possibility that it may be messing something up and it has nothing to do with the runtimes pack - haven't tried either addon on its own yet.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:15 pm

Can I get a couple of screenies?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:16 pm

www.wpiw.net/downloads/Kels_Runtimes_addon_v2.5.1.CAB

Size - 8.22 megs MD5Hash = 48D0CADFC7C8CE112E45418EE11E4BD4

New approach now I avoided naming that dang manifest file .dll at all I think the fact I was using .dll for the temp name might have been causing some of the issues.

Thank you guys for testing this...

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:32 pm

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:57 pm

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:40 pm

the inf is bad
i think you loaded the wrong one my hush show:
FC0A416BD9493E038257495512A6D3C3

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:03 pm

HAHAHAHAHHAH The file did not fully upload. Re-upping now.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:05 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Can I get a couple of screenies?
Abandoned both installs and deleted the virtual machines so can't get them from the ones I have tried. In the middle of trying it with the new runtimes and the older Royale theme but won't be able to complete it until late tonight.

Will do some screenies if it fails this time.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:47 am

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:19 pm

ENU_user wrote:hush-match
I think you'll find that's 'hash'. Hushing someone means telling them (gently) to be quiet.

Kel, how does your latest pack compare to RogueSpear's Alternate Runtimes 1.4?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:48 pm

Heck I dunno. Let me find his and I will give them a look together.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:18 pm

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:20 pm

Ok his has a couple of .dlls I seem to have not found yet (Actually like 3).

Plus his updates a couple of pre-existing windows .dlls

His runs as a silent installer, mine is integrated into the disk

Both of them can be used at anytime

I include the usp10 from Vista for better windows unicode support also I have quite a few more runtimes in my pack than RogueSpear does.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:37 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Ok his has a couple of .dlls I seem to have not found yet (Actually like 3).

Plus his updates a couple of pre-existing windows .dlls

His runs as a silent installer, mine is integrated into the disk

Both of them can be used at anytime

I include the usp10 from Vista for better windows unicode support also I have quite a few more runtimes in my pack than RogueSpear does.
Okay, thanks for the info. I asked because it's originally based off your pack, but both have been updated quite a bit since then :)

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:38 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Can I get a couple of screenies?
Completed another test and it is the same as before with loads of runtime failures at T13. I have 5 screenshots taken before I abandoned it as a bad job but how do I attach them on this forum?

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:12 pm

I've also found that none of the additonal themes have installed and about half of the addon programs are missing too! It is not the runtimes pack itself but the interaction between it and another addon or addons because I tried it with just the runtime pack and a few others I downloaded recently and it works fine.
That is probably why you couldn't reproduce it yourself.
could spend hours and hours tracking down which addon it doesn't like to play with or simply drop back again to 2.3. Think I know what I am going to do but thanks for trying Kel.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:02 am

I just downloaded the 2.5.1 one... I see that some debug-version dlls are remaining, for example mfc42d.dll

is it intended?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:55 pm

no it isnt intended I am still cleaning (Too busy trying to fix the manifest issue...)

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:30 pm

I'm getting closer to finding what the bad combination is and I'm fairly certain I know which addon doesn't play well with this runtime pack - will know in about an hour. I'm getting the same issue now with the older 2.3 pack and one addon which was recently updated. Need to do a final triple check before I name it.
So Kel it looks like 2.51 may be good after all - once I can do a final test leaving out the iffy addon I will try it again with 2.51 and come back to you. (Done around 20 builds so far and it all takes time).

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:37 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:31 pm

so far what i can understand from all this is that :
file names that introduce same naming with d or are particularly NET
are files from developers or for developers and are not distributed to support other based win apps

rather can produce more problems in a long run as these are debug depended too
unlike a proper redistributed pack like NET framework that has support

on the other hand will need to leave this the way it is and see how system xp play's along on with other applications because this work's a treat ;)
curios to know how notepad ++ will work in the long run
or any other important apps
so i'm in for the test and taking this on board if there isn't more to change ..

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:30 am

No, not necessarily .NET.

MS makes 2 versions of the runtime DLLs. If I am developing a C++ in Visual Studio 6.0 (not .NET or anything), i can choose to compile a optimized release version and a non-optimized debuggable version.

The 1st exe will need msvcrt.dll and the 2nd exe will need msvcrtd.dll unless the runtimes are statically linked (sorta like including the code of these dlls inside the exe itself so it becomes bigger but possibly faster and more standalone, but .NET doesn't support this static linking.)

The difference between the 2 DLLs is that the 2nd provides more debugging information about the program.

.NET features a lot of compilers (vbc / csc ..etc.) that can create both versions of .NET Apps (Release/Debug), therefore .NET ships with both versions of the runtime DLLs (with d and without).

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:04 am

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:52 pm

Just as an update something screwy is going on. After 30 or so builds I was convinced that I had tracked the addon down that wasn't playing with this and I could reproduce the error. But now even leaving that one particular addon out still gets a srewed up install. Builds that worked previously don't install correctly any more so the problem must lie elsewhere. Rapidly running out of ideas cos the results I am getting don't seem to follow any logic.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:28 pm

i think im having the same problems mandarin.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:59 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:31 am, edited 3 times in total.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:44 pm

I think that time, for now, is about bug fixing! because it's very annoying, this addon isn't 100% guarantee today...

anyway, I've made some research for my own purpose, but 2 things can interest you:

1) MMVCP70.DLL and MMVCR70.DLL are anything but crap. you can safely remove them from the addon. as more, they could cause conflicts, with MusicMatch for example.

2) ADVPACK.DLL, W95INF16.DLL and W95INF32.DLL are 3 files used by some installers (created by iexpress, old-style microsoft hotfixes, etc)... the 3 work together. your addon has the last 2 only... anyway, they are completely useless outside of an installer package. you can drop W95INF16.DLL and W95INF32.DLL.

I know it certainly won't fix your addon, but it'll clean it a bit ;)


------ BIG EDIT following! ------

I started inspecting about VB 8... and I found THIS !

it looks like your addon perhaps miss some files :
- Microsoft.VC80.ATL.manifest
- Microsoft.VC80.OpenMP.manifest
- localisation files: mfc80enu.dll, etc... + Microsoft.VC80.MFCLOC.manifest
- mfcmifc80.dll (it needs to be installed in the Global Assembly Cache... I don't know this stuff... should be better not to try to add this one for now!)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:06 am

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:38 am

Argh,

I'm considering removing this pack altogether.

v2.4 didn't cause any problems on my machine but I will be installing it on other machines too and I'm concerned issues could arise.

Mandarin you appear to be having error after error, may I suggest Prime95 and Memtest86? I'd hate to think your dodgy hardware is causing foundationless concerns, especially as installations that worked previously no longer do?

laze.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:50 am

Nothing wrong with any of my hardware though I am still on the case with this. Now done over 40 builds and still getting the same issues. Be interesting to find out what the cause is eventually.

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:39 pm

Ok... :-/

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Sat Mar 10, 2007 3:09 pm

problems began with VB8 runtimes integration...

many versions (x86, x64, ia64) for each DLL file, problematic manifest files, etc... looks like VB8 runtimes are far harder to integrate than we expected ;)

may be a good choice to remove the VB8 stuff until fixed?

personally, I use the 2.5.1 addon, but I remove those files:
- remaining debug files: mfc42d.dll ; msvcirtd.dll ; msvcrtd.dll ; msvcp60d.dll
- "garbage" files: mmvcp70.dll ; mmvcr70.dll ; w95inf16.dll ; w95inf32.dll
- VB8 stuf: *80.dll ; *80u.dll ; vcomp.dll ; the manifest file ;)

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:07 pm

Finally managed to get a working build with the themes working, the quick launch bar showing and Kels control panel addon all present and correct. But that was by integrating only 8 or so addons.

Out of curiosity I tried integrating the whole lot in nLite, missing out the Integrator altogether and I get an error message that my driver cab is corrupted in my source. It then goes on to tell me that this can cause problems!! So for whatever reason I am not getting a clean copy of 2.1.7 integrated into my SP2 source and it looks like some random corruption is taking place but I don't get any errors with the Integrator but nLite may be picking up the route cause.

Gonna try a different source and see what happens next. By the time I get this sorted the next update pack will be out anyway so this is time well spent.

One thing I have noticed in the Integrator log is that is says 7004 files copied - I am sure it used to say 6998 files on all the previous logs but I don't have them available. Can anyone confirm the number of files that the integrator reports using an untouched SP2 source and integrating just the 2.1.7 addon pack please?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:16 pm

Kel, I'm just curious if you'd ever considered using the asms directory on the CD for your SxS needs
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Post Reply