[Release] Kels' Runtimes v8.8

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Tue May 08, 2007 1:02 am

Can anyone vouch this pack being very very stable now? No issues like those in the past.. No sloppiness?

And kel, what system files does it replace as newer?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue May 08, 2007 2:07 am

USP10.dll From Vista is the only system file it replaces.

Try it for yourself...

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Tue May 08, 2007 4:12 am

This addon works great on my 3 systems not including 10 more systems @ my office.
THank you Kels for this nice update again ^_^

@biatche
I do not know why this addon doesnt work for u, it is very stable since 2.4.x. If u look in Kels's inf u will see that it is very tidy and clear. I think there's something wrong with your system or may be u installed it the wrong way.
Image

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed May 09, 2007 1:42 am

biatche wrote:Can anyone vouch this pack being very very stable now? No issues like those in the past.. No sloppiness?

And kel, what system files does it replace as newer?
Dude thats why God invented Virtual Machines... Run the test yourself and that is how you find out.

VMware 6 is out BTW

dkrus
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by dkrus » Wed May 09, 2007 2:16 am

ricktendo64 wrote:
biatche wrote:Can anyone vouch this pack being very very stable now? No issues like those in the past.. No sloppiness?

And kel, what system files does it replace as newer?
Dude thats why God invented Virtual Machines... Run the test yourself and that is how you find out.

VMware 6 is out BTW
all I can find is the beta..did you mean final?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 09, 2007 2:21 am

http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=1067

It was just barely released. I jumped over to their website and grabbed it just a second ago.

dkrus
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by dkrus » Wed May 09, 2007 2:49 am

Thanks Kel :D

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 09, 2007 3:29 am

Well, I used to have VM, didn't like the fact it slowed down my pc.
Might reinstall it on my test pc sometimes in future =(

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 09, 2007 3:37 am

VM only slows down your pc when you actually running it.

So do you not use any real programs becuase they slow down your pc?

No wonder you are always having problems.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 09, 2007 8:34 pm

Actually kel, I read an article that it slows down bootup, it was on neowin. It does install some system stuff as far as I know. I don't know what problems you're referring to that counts as a lot, but i am sure you did know that previously the runtime addon made the system very sluggish. Just for the record, I did use vmware in the past. I stopped and will probably return when I have another test box.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu May 10, 2007 12:18 am

The **point** of VMWare Workstation is that you DO NOT need a 'test box'.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Thu May 10, 2007 1:53 am

vmware did slow down my personal pc before, i dont like that. anyway, its going off topic

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Thu May 10, 2007 2:03 am

VMware Wkstation 5.x on XP installs four services. Five if you install both NAT and DHCP. At least one of those is set to automatic, and probably more. OK, back on topic now. :)
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Thu May 10, 2007 2:07 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Updated

Oh and also remember the new notepad was released a few days ago and untill then did not require msvcr70.dll...
Thanks for the update Kel.

I just love apps that require files, but don't/can't include them in the distro. I completely missed where it said that, just saw the error. :)


Kel2
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Thu May 10, 2007 4:09 am

FYI: VMware 6.0 Final uses less resource and turn out to be faster than 5x version.
Image

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Thu May 10, 2007 8:59 am

All Vmware service are disabled here... so no system resource at all are used by VMware during normal work on my pc. If you want to try something else try VirtualBox. Cheers and now lets focus on the main topic...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon May 14, 2007 5:29 am

Minor tiny update...

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Mon May 14, 2007 6:09 am

Thanks for an Update ^^
Image

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Mon May 14, 2007 2:44 pm

Thanks Kel :)

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Wed May 16, 2007 1:02 pm

There are newer versions of the 7.0, 7.1, and 8.0 runtimes that Microsoft released early in March.

VC2002SP1: 7.0.9981.0 (31 Jan 2007)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932304

VC2003SP1: 7.10.7031.4 (1 Feb 2007), 7.10.6052.0 (2 Feb 2007)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932298

VC2005SP1: 8.0.50727.805 (13 Feb 2007)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932391

Edit: Nevermind, I was able to extract the binaries. See my next post...

Update: Oh, and there are updates to the MFC/ATL libraries as well:

VC2002SP1: 7.0.9975.0 (25 Aug 2006)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/924642

VC2003SP1: 7.10.6041.0 (25 Aug 2006)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927696
Last edited by code65536 on Wed May 16, 2007 10:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Wed May 16, 2007 1:56 pm

Okay, thanks to msix, I was able to extract the binaries from the patches! So here are the latest CRTs for VC2K2SP1, 2K3SP1, and 2K5SP1:

http://stashbox.org/20879/NewCRTv3.rar

Update: the VC8 binaries were extracted from the new vcredist_x86.exe that was found in the 932391 hotfix.

Update 2: updated MFC and ATL DLLs as well.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu May 17, 2007 12:34 am

Major update al thanks to code65536!!!

Dude that rocks thanks!

User avatar
jej
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

Post by jej » Thu May 17, 2007 12:47 am

hi kels...

please, integrate this two DLL in system32...

mpglib.dll 0.92 http://mpesch3.de1.cc/mpglibdll092.zip


lame_enc.dll 3.97 final

http://www.free-codecs.com/download_sof ... =2762&s=22


only this, thanks for all your work! bye

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu May 17, 2007 12:58 am

Those are for music m8 I think you need to look into a codec addon.

I really don't wanne get into encoders in this pack.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu May 17, 2007 6:09 pm

Something is wrong with the ams cat file, I get an error during setup

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu May 17, 2007 7:23 pm

I've used this pack 2x now and no error what is the actual name of the error so I can pin it down better?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun May 20, 2007 12:20 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun May 20, 2007 2:41 pm

Thank you very much enu_user for a very clear and concise post.
I agree that should be added and is in the test build I am doing right now. Look for a new version soon (if all goes well)

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun May 20, 2007 5:09 pm

as long as 'frogaspi' doesn't conflict with the more common aspi layers (MSFT and/or Adaptec) that are considered mainstream......

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun May 20, 2007 5:10 pm

as long as 'frogaspi' doesn't conflict with the more common aspi layers (MSFT and/or Adaptec) that are considered mainstream......

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun May 20, 2007 6:21 pm

It won't from my understanding. If another program installs its own aspi it will just overwrite the existing one I am adding in.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun May 20, 2007 7:45 pm

removed
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun May 20, 2007 7:59 pm

Updated.

Also it has been suggested that I follow suit with RogueSpear and update some of the pre-existing I386 files with more current versions. However if I followed RogueSpear the pack would grow by 3.5 megs or more.

I only include usp10.dll because the one from Vista adds MUCH better unicode support to Windows. I would be happy to add these other files in I just am concerned about the file size especially when I see no obvious advantage to the newer files yet.

Polat Alemdar
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:58 pm

Post by Polat Alemdar » Sun May 20, 2007 9:40 pm

Who care about the size, I like your addon very much. If you think that your addon will work better with that updates, you should put it.

Size isn't serious issue.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun May 20, 2007 11:34 pm

ENU_user, you have no idea if frogaspi is a clean implementation or not. The developer refuses to release the source code.

And for the record, I have never had the kinds of aspi problems you claim to have had with either the cannonical Adaptec release or Neros substitute. I install using the mkgrs packages or Booogys addon from Dec 2006.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon May 21, 2007 1:23 am

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

seinfeld
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:21 am

Post by seinfeld » Wed May 23, 2007 8:36 am

what does this even do, you say it makes things work properly. but what things is what I wanna know, would you be so kind Kel to tell us what this does?

cheers
Seinfeld

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 23, 2007 9:21 am

Alot of freeware and open source programs and some installers require your windows to have certain files installed. Have you ever ran a program and gotten an error like blah.dll cannot be found? That means it needs that file to run (Hence the name runtime) Honestly if you really have never needed it or run into on of those progs then this pack isn't for you. The only file in there that really affects your standard windows installation is the usp10.dll and that greatly enhances your systems handling of unicode files (Multilanguage)

All apps written in Visual Basic require runtimes, Booteditor requires runtimes, The last notepad2 needed one.

dziubek
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Lodz

Post by dziubek » Wed May 23, 2007 9:37 am

GIMP requires GTK+ 2 Runtime Environment

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Wed May 23, 2007 3:03 pm

"it makes things work properly"

Nonsense statement without specific proof via an analysis others can repeat.

Just because **you** like it doesn't make it better.

And shouldn't an aspi layer driver belong in a device driver pack??
Last edited by newsposter on Wed May 23, 2007 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Wed May 23, 2007 7:05 pm

-twiches violently-

SHUSH!!!! arguments like this are for PMs :) not a thread about kels work.. far as i know neither one of you are Kel so again, respectfully.. SHUSH!

TechnoHunter

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Wed May 23, 2007 10:16 pm

I think the next release should go on the tracker so we can count the supporting numbers
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 23, 2007 11:20 pm

Around 600 d/ls of the runtimes this month.

189 of v2.6.5.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Mon May 28, 2007 11:39 pm

small update!

autoitx3.dll v3.2.4.6

jamesdean
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 am

Post by jamesdean » Tue May 29, 2007 7:20 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Also it has been suggested that I follow suit with RogueSpear and update some of the pre-existing I386 files with more current versions. However if I followed RogueSpear the pack would grow by 3.5 megs or more.
I support that suggestion and I would not mind the addition 3.5 megs.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue May 29, 2007 10:55 pm

jeez, if everyone starts replacing i386 files it completely changes the 'direction' of the more established packs from Kels and Ryan and Rogue.

A big contributor to the stablilty and usefullness of the packs is that they DO NOT screw with i386 without an officially released MSFT update as the source.

I believe that that it would be a good idea for the packs to remain pristine and that some effort be made to educate those who keep calling for more and more obscure changes on how to make their own packs or how to modify packs for their own use. I do that with atleast five packs now.

There are a lot more people using the packs AS THEY ARE than there are people calling for (in my opinion) bizzare and obscure changes to suit their own points of view.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Tue May 29, 2007 11:22 pm

The alternative should be making an "I386 folder upgrade" addon. But keep the newer usp10.dll in the Runtimes Addon (or best, in both addons), because this one is proven to be useful.

I also think FrogASPI should be in a separate addon, but that's only my personal taste. in fact, I use Nero ASPI instead.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 30, 2007 12:42 am

Updated

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 30, 2007 5:04 am

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 30, 2007 5:06 am

ENU_user wrote:and YES i agree kel is notty :)
HUH!?!?!? :shock:

Post Reply