[Release] Opera Default Web Browser Addon v8.54-070819

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

[Release] Opera Default Web Browser Addon v8.54-070819

Post by Mrs Peel » Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:19 pm

This is an opera browser addon I made specially for a friend who wanted Opera as his default web browser and default email client, so it includes all the reg entries to do that.

I wasn't intending to ever update this pack again, since I am a FireFox user myself, but as I was updating my personal version of Opera 8.54 (which I still keep to use for testing web coding) to be uninstallable I thought it would be an interesting learning curve to see if I could rebuild this "default browser" version to see if I could code the uninstaller to restore all web/mail settings back to their windoze associations. I did NOT make the uninstaller remove the user app data (in case peeps want to keep it to upgrade to Opera v9 in future)

If you do NOT want a version of Opera browser that takes over control of your web files and email then you should NOT install this addon pack and if you have used nLite to remove internet explorer and outlook express then the new uninstaller this will be of no use to you. If you are wanting to switch to some web/mail client other than IE/OE then you MUST uninstall THIS addon BEFORE you install your new default browser otherwise this uninstaller will overwrite those new default settings and restore them to windoze defaults, so do NOT come complaining to me later if you ignored these warnings.

Also please be aware that it was a mission to write the restore reg entries section for this and I have only tested it in VMware on Win2k3, so I take no responsibility if it munts anything on your system and you should consider this an "experimental build" only.

Three shortcuts will be installed - to the program menu, the desktop and the quicklaunch. Oh, and I have also included some shockwave and quicktime plugins in this updated pack.

Opera v8.54
LINK: MrsP_Opera_Default_Browser_Addon_v8.54-070819
MD5: CC225A3495C38676B3279CAAE22C872F
SIZE: 3.49 MB
Description: Make Opera default browser and email client
Op System: Windows 2000, XP & 2003 (x86 only)
Builddate: 2006/03/24
Language: English
Title: Opera Browser
Version: 8.54
License: Freeware
Website: http://www.opera.com
Installs to: "%programfiles%\Internet\Opera"
Uninstaller: Removes program files, shortcuts, reg entries and restores completely back to windoze default web/mail settings
Please note that I do not use Opera as my regular browser and because this addon (and it's uninstaller) was such bitch to make I will NOT be bothering to update this pack with future versions, so any requests to update to Opera v9 or above will be IGNORED.

Just consider it another of those "Mrs Peel Limited Edition" releases ;)

[Edit 2006/04/14] OK good news Opera lovers! I have spoken to Boooggy who uses Opera as his default browser and he has agreed to take over maintaining this addon pack as of the next version release. Thanks Boooggy, you are a sweetheart ;)
[Edit 2006/04/27] Fixed typo in the inf file and updated MD5 sums
[Edit 2007/08/19] Rebuilt with an uninstaller which restores all associations back to windoze default web/mail settings. This will be the FINAL update ever for this pack!!!
Last edited by Mrs Peel on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:46 am, edited 11 times in total.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:10 am

nice thanx!!!!

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:18 am

You're welcome Boooggy! And thanks for offering to maintain this Opera pack for us :D

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:23 am

:rolleyes: :lol:

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:46 am

it does not work in my integration iSO......
there is no opera's folder in program files

winxp sp2 english professional integrated + ryan's integrator1.2.2 with:

21/04/2006 09:48 54.292.924 RVMUpdatePack2.0.5.cab
21/04/2006 09:49 51.723 RVMAddonsSFC_1.0.cab
21/04/2006 09:49 2.450.480 RVMAddons_1.6.2.cab
21/04/2006 09:51 177.078 RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab
21/04/2006 09:57 3.546.149 MrsP_Opera_Default_Browser_Addon_v8.54.cab
21/04/2006 09:58 987.682 Foxy_WinMerge_2.4.6_Addon_v1.0.cab
21/04/2006 09:59 274.713 Notepad2_Addon.cab
21/04/2006 12:44 895.595 MrsP_Neave_Flash_Games_Addon_v1.0.1.cab
21/04/2006 12:44 1.897.712 MrsP_Absolutist_Flash_Games_Addon_v1.0.1.cab
21/04/2006 12:45 5.138.741 MrsP_FreeWare_Games_Addon_v1.1.1.cab
21/04/2006 12:50 291.136 Kels_Hoster_addon_v3.1.CAB
21/04/2006 14:35 988.686 Xable_Foxit-v2.1_addon.cab

later i added some more via nlite:

21/04/2006 14:46 1.641.577 ProgramAddons_dtoolsawx.cab
21/04/2006 14:48 969.794 dumeter.cab
21/04/2006 14:58 2.375.264 ProgramAddonsPerfectDisk.CAB
21/04/2006 15:00 4.156.516 everesthome.cab
21/04/2006 15:04 4.549.276 Macromedia_Shockwave_All_Browsers.cab


the only not-working addon was opera 8.54 :(

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:37 pm

did u try using only this addon?

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Sat Apr 22, 2006 2:44 pm

no... but i will try this:

just winxp sp2 english professional integrated + ryan's integrator1.2.2 with:

RVMUpdatePack2.0.5.cab
RVMAddonsSFC_1.0.cab
RVMAddons_1.6.2.cab
RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab
MrsP_Opera_Default_Browser_Addon_v8.54.cab

if it fails again, i gonna post it ASAP.


PS: anyway, other programs i have add it can be installed later :)

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:04 pm

Sho if i'm right i can rip out the explorer and explorer core and ad this addon as default brouwser?

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:24 pm

UtCollector wrote:Sho if i'm right i can rip out the explorer and explorer core and ad this addon as default brouwser?
If you are using nLite it is STRONGLY recommended that you do not remove the IE core as there are a number of programs that rely on it to function, eg: windows help files and a number of security & networking applications.

I wrote this addon as an alternative for Internet Explorer and to take over the file associations which IE would otherwise claim - just don't remove the IE core and it should be fine.

Hope that helps.

Cheers ;)
Last edited by Mrs Peel on Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

badboy05
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:05 pm

Post by badboy05 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:00 pm

It does not work I tried it and it doesn't work... so check what you did wrong..

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:59 pm

It does not work I tried it and it doesn't work... so check what you did wrong..
There are peeps for whom this is working perfectly OK so here's an idea... you check what you did wrong.

My guess is you use nLite and removed some networking components that you shouldn't have, which would explain the problem you have with my other internet addon.

Like I said in my other thread, there's no point complaining unless you accompany it with some specific details :rolleyes:

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:45 am

While almost entirely unrelated, I can definately understand both points of view in regards to what can or cannot be considered "wrong". I myself have, upon occasion, been so absolutely certain that I was right.......and sometimes I even was, if only for all the wrong reasons that had nothing to do with being right.

And while I myself had a relatively embarrasing learning curve for the whole addon making process, because of that I've always made triple sure of something before I call somebody on it or let them know about it simply because the error may be more mine than thiers, or an error of uncontrolable circumstance.

I now do my best not to assume that I must be right by the fallacy of knowing what I'm doing. I also try not to let myself become overly amused by assertions of others that they know what they're doing as well as or better than I.

Just recently, I spent 11 days doing indiviual addons under standalone image installations (as in, integrator, Update Pack and ONE addon. I didn't even make it unattended) for two reasons. 1: Learning curve and 2: debuging where my framedyn.dll and srclient.dll (along with a whole host of other files missing) came from. 11 days. 46 seperate integrations to ISO. 54 seperate clean installs.

And in retrospect, I can sort of understand why other people may not wish to, want to or be able to do the same thing. I know I certainly wouldn't want to do it again, but I felt that such action was what it would take to really figure the problem out.

And it also shouldn't have taken me 11 days to do it, either, but I've already spammed enough methinks. Point is: There is no such thing as too far when it comes to learning and to progress, but both will only come to those who try.

(PS: Mrs Peel, rocking addon! I so love Opera, though I'm still iffy-ish about 9, hope it works out well enough to see this addon updated when 9 goes live!)

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Wed Apr 26, 2006 3:20 pm

error:

Image

file not found... in the cd

just 205 + some addons..... shall i select Cancel ?

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Wed Apr 26, 2006 9:16 pm

Oh SHIT! I see the error now. I'll have it fixed in a jiffy.

Thanks for posting the proper details to help me see the problem there gab!!!

Hey BTW, what program did you use to make this screencapture in DOS? I've never found an app that successfully captures screenshots in DOS before and I surely could do with one.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:59 pm

The only way I know is to test in a virtual machine and capture the VM screen from the host.

User avatar
mgadallah
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Egypt - Cairo

Post by mgadallah » Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:26 am

what about the latest version?
Thanks :)
Mohamed

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:31 am

which is?

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Sat Jun 03, 2006 2:17 pm

8.54 is fine

9.0.xxx is in beta status yet :)

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:19 am

In case there are still some peeps out there (like me) who are using this old v8.54, I have updated it with an uninstaller.... please read my release notes carefully!

But be advised this will be the last update ever for this pack and if I don't get some indication that it is still needed it will end up in the Nuke Bin very soon.

So if you still need this older Opera v8 addon you better speak up now or don't come whining to me after it is gone.... tick-tock.... tick-tock....

Post Reply