[Request] IE7 Final Addon or Silent

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

[Request] IE7 Final Addon or Silent

Post by Nightwolf81 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:01 pm

I've tried everything I can think of to integrate or even silent install the final IE7 onto my latest install disk. . . even Nlite's latest version!!

NOTHING will get this on there. . . anyone have Ideas or am I best to see if Ryan can do it???

Thank for any help :)

I'm just glad it's final (I can use it now and it's better than I was expecting)!!

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:14 pm

It doesnt seem to be integratable, maybe a silent installer can be done.

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:40 pm

I have a silent installer, but it takes at least 5 minutes to install..... and, I cannot post my version here.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5190
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:51 pm

Well, I'll be making an addon for it eventually :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:33 am

it is integrable......

User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

Post by Nightwolf81 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:44 am

boooggy - a little more information then??

I've tried the /integrate:d:\XPCD switch and nothing but a error!!

What did you do?

p.s. I've built myself an AutoIT v3 script that does it for the moment (I am impatiant from all the waiting for ie7 to release)!!

User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

Post by Nightwolf81 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:14 am

OK it appears that the way I got this to go as a switchless installer was to use an update.exe from another Hotfix (that allows you to use /quiet /noreboot). . .

and guess what I now have a switchless installer. . . Sorry I would post it BUT I know how this forum is towards edited microsoft products (as this also bypasses legit check (WGA))

Feel free to remove this Topic post (as my method is unusable by others legally. . . they'll have to wait for a RyanVM or booogy released one)

Seek and ye shall find!!

Nightwolf81

:)

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:41 am

i am not going to release one as long is integrable with nlite......

User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

Post by Nightwolf81 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:47 am

boooggy - I'm sorry but you are a man of very few words. . . I have said in my first post about NLite's lack of integrating IE7 . . . .

hmmmm unlessss no can't be. . . I think I tried to do it in my virtual machine (too scared of buggering up my OS again) AND THATS NOT ACTIVATED (WGA)!!!

can anyone confirm this to be the case?? (I gotta go out but will be back to try it out later on). . . my address is . . . (NO ONE WILL BE HOME)!.

- Edit -

Home now. . . yep working fine now (but from what I can tell Unless you enter a legit key upon setup it'll fail and bugger up the install) I think I'll stick with mine (I am not the only one who uses my Unattend Disk and most of my users use the silent install and change to their keys from within windows!!! so like I said before WGA (Windwoes Gets Annoying) is best left to people with toooooo much spare time!!!!

I MEAN WHERES THE ADVANTAGE WGA OFFERS (I haven't seen it yet)!!

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:09 am

RyanVM wrote:Well, I'll be making an addon for it eventually :P
waiting patiently =.=

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:56 am

boooggy wrote:i am not going to release one as long is integrable with nlite......
It's not - check out this Post at MSFN - I get same error.

I'm guessing it will be on the next nLite release.

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:07 am

Nightwolf81 wrote:OK it appears that the way I got this to go as a switchless installer was to use an update.exe from another Hotfix (that allows you to use /quiet /noreboot). . .
This works fine for me:

update\iesetup.exe /quiet /norestart

User avatar
theflamemaster
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:58 pm

Post by theflamemaster » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:18 am

SHO_GuN wrote:
Nightwolf81 wrote:OK it appears that the way I got this to go as a switchless installer was to use an update.exe from another Hotfix (that allows you to use /quiet /noreboot). . .
This works fine for me:

update\iesetup.exe /quiet /norestart
another switch to skip update /update-no you can slipstream it in t-13

but it seems that i have a problem after integrating it in my cd all of my runoceex entries have been ignored, strange,,, :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Just my 2 pesos...

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:37 am

Q: I found these inside TD's IE7 addons Entries.ini file, can anyone tell me why he used them? What purpose do the regentries serv?
[EditFile]
I386\HIVESYS.INF,AddReg,HIVESYS.AddReg
I386\SVCPACK.INF,SetupHotfixesToRun,SVCPACK.AddProgram

[HIVESYS.AddReg]
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment","TEMP",0x00020000,"%%SystemRoot%%\TEMP"
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment","TMP",0x00020000,"%%SystemRoot%%\TEMP"
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:58 am, edited 3 times in total.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:41 am

I did WHAT? :lol:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:42 am

Those regentries set the System Variables TEMP en TMP to %SystemRoot%\TEMP (usually C:\WINDOWS\TEMP I guess).

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:45 am

I need glasses 8)
BTW: Thanks for the answer, that makes sense

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Thu Oct 19, 2006 3:02 pm

theflamemaster wrote:
SHO_GuN wrote:
Nightwolf81 wrote:OK it appears that the way I got this to go as a switchless installer was to use an update.exe from another Hotfix (that allows you to use /quiet /noreboot). . .
This works fine for me:

update\iesetup.exe /quiet /norestart
another switch to skip update /update-no you can slipstream it in t-13

but it seems that i have a problem after integrating it in my cd all of my runoceex entries have been ignored, strange,,, :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Actually, my earlier post wasn't the whole story of how I did it.

I really used:

msxml4-KB925672-enu.exe /quiet /norestart /nobackup

msxml6-KB925673-enu-x86.exe /quiet /norestart /nobackup

devcon disable =net pci\ven_8086

update\iesetup.exe /quiet /norestart /nobackup

devcon enable =net pci\ven_8086

I put a copy of KB925672 and KB925673, which show up as high priority updates as soon as IE7 final is installed, into the IE7 root folder eliminating the need to download them from WU or integrate them separately.

I also put a copy of devcon.exe in the root IE7 folder, then use it to disable my NIC during IE7 install then reenable it after install, so it doesn't download them again.

The reason I did that is because one of my boxes is on a wireless connection which doesn't activate until a first boot autoit script fills in the blanks for the wireless NIC, thus the updates couldn't install on it anyway.

So anyway, thanks for the /update-no tip - I could eliminate the devcon.exe stuff using that.

Edit: I read the switches again - /nobackup is not applicable to the msxml hotfixes but didn't seem to hurt anything.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:08 pm

Those of you who are getting excited about IE7 might want to let the rest of the world continue their beta testing.

There are lots of web services that are broken under IE7. Or shoudl we say that IE7 is still broken enough that long-established web services that work fine under FF, Opera, IE6, etc, etc are unaccessible with IE7.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:16 pm

I've been using Maxthon on top of IE7 for months now and it works just fine.. haven't run into a problem with a site yet.

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:42 pm

as long as ie7 works at the update site, it's fine with me. I just want to get it integrated so that it's done and over with. FF rules!!!

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:01 pm

theflamemaster wrote: but it seems that i have a problem after integrating it in my cd all of my runoceex entries have been ignored, strange,,, :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Yes, I am seeing this too. The runonceex entries are in the registry, but never execute and just remain there even after another reboot.

Edit: Ah found this:
well runonceex doesnt work after last beta....if i overwrite IERNONCE.DLL with the one from xp cd it works.....
and this:
I was curious to find that our installer failed to update our BHO on systems with IE7. I trailed it down to the RunOnceEx keys (see kb 232509). The keys added by our installer were ignored. They work fine on systems without IE7.

I moved the keys to RunOnce, and that solves the problem. I'd prefer to use the RunOnceEx, but I was mostly just wondering if this is a known problem, and whether it's by design.

User avatar
ebin25
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

Post by ebin25 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:07 pm

put a self deleting installer in "XPCD\$OEM$\$Docs\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup"

(.cmd to delete the installer afterwards with a

Code: Select all

rem del myself
DEL /Q /F %0
at the end.)

EDIT: this may be a crude method, but should work

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:36 pm

I don't know what is different betwen IE7 and IE7RC1 installer, but IE7 is not integrable via nLite.

So can somebody find way to integrate it to XP.

Thanks

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:59 pm

Wait for the next version of nLite, it will be able to integrate it.

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:34 pm

Well, personally I don't think it's a good idea to release it right now, especially since it's only available in english, and because the MUI packs aren't available.

I personally use an english Windows XP w/ French MUI, and IE7 screwed my MUI installation. I guess it's not really a good idea for now, at least to integrate it with the critical updates.

An addon like WMP10 and DirectX9 might be a possible outcome.
Image

Gabe

Post by Gabe » Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:37 am

Will I need nlite to uninstall IE 6 for IE 7 to install properly? I've downloaded the one here:

I forgot where I got it from. So I don't know who to give credit to. I think it was on a personal site from someone here.

Code: Select all

http://www.bestsharing.com/files/ms001159549/ProgramAddons%20Internet%20Explorer%207.0.cab.html

psicolizzard
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:43 am

Post by psicolizzard » Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:39 am

I have a solution, a silent intaller, somebody could make a addon with it:
First: creat a reg file with bellow lines:

______________________________________________________
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
"SearchMigrated"=dword:00000001
"RunOnceHasShown"=dword:00000001
"RunOnceComplete"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\PhishingFilter]
"Enabled"=dword:00000002

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchScopes]
"DefaultScope"="{800D344A-4874-46BB-8F1C-43367FD4437D}"
"Version"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchScopes\{800D344A-4874-46BB-8F1C-43367FD4437D}]
"DisplayName"="Google"
"http://www.google.com/search?q={searchT ... f8&oe=utf8"

________________________________________________________________________

Second: run the reg file
Third: run ie7.exe /passive /norestart

It works in my wpi install. Maybe in a addon the "/update-no" is necessary...

Sorry my English...


edited
please dont post workaround for avoinding wga check ...
those entries removed by moderator.....

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:13 am

psicolizzard
i removed those entries.....and please read the rules of this forum before posting. consider this as a warning!

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:58 pm

:?
Last edited by RaGhul on Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:42 pm

Here's my take on the whole WGA/IE7 thing:

You're stuck with IE7. No way around it.
If you try to remove it, XP cries. Not only will you seriously corrupt your XP, but neither MU or WLM will work either. In fact, M$'s integration of IE into XP is what's TRULY illegal. (The courts proved it.)

I'm a huge FF fan. The only reason I still have IE is because of what I just mentioned. IE7 rips off FF, as well as Safari. Everyone knows this. But because of this, it's MUCH safer. Since you're stuck with it anyways, might as well upgrade, right?

I predict that eventually, IT's and NetAdmin's will be clamoring for the WGA to be removed anyway. When M$ first rolled out WGA, and included it in the Critical Updates, techs everywhere cried out about the security risk to EVERYONE. After that, M$ relented.

WGA and DRM are just disasters waiting to happen, like SonyMusic's big mess earlier this year. They're going to wind up irritating the PAYING customers as well. So what's the REAL crime here?

Nuhi has done a great job. However, nLite's integration of IE7 just doesn't cut the mustard. I sincerely hope my arguments here will convince one of you to release an IE7 Addon, with or without WGA.

I apologize in advance for my rumblings :D

User avatar
nuhi
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by nuhi » Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:26 pm

RaGhul, while I don't have any objection to an addon objectively do tell what is wrong to IE integration in nLite, you can send me a PM or post on nlite forum.
Works fine for me and majority of users. If you disabled direct integration it won't integrate.
nliteos.com|vlite.net
Remove components and customize Windows

underdone
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:59 pm
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Post by underdone » Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:02 pm

I've used Nlite to intergrate IE7 into XPPRO, Server 2003 and XP x64 it worked flawlessly with every version.

Lemonzest
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:19 am

Post by Lemonzest » Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:08 pm

Same here, nLite Install of IE7 is flawless, except missing "Show desktop" icon missing, but that's an MS bug not nuhi's
AMD Athlon64 3000+ @2.4GHz, DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb, 2x1024MB Geil Value Ram PC3200
ATI Radeon X800XT VIVO, SyncMaster 913N LCD, Logitech MX518, Creative Audigy2 ZS
Enermax Noisetaker 485W, Western Digital SATA 160GB, Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:31 pm

nLite's integration of IE7 is even a little better than "flawless" since it fixes the Microsoft bug mentioned above where runonceex is disabled! :D :D

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Mon Nov 20, 2006 6:26 pm

Well, I expected a lot of responses from my last post, but I didn't think they'd all be rallying support for Nuhi.

Let me be clear on this:
I was in NO way dumping on Nuhi, nor on his excellent app. Quite the contrary. Instead, I was trying to point out the ridiculous policies of MicroSucks.

I know those of you who posted may have had no problems whatsoever with IE7 integration, but many of us have, and it's not due to our own stupidity. Although the IE7 and WMP11 install packages are named as if they were hotfixes (ie, xxxx-x86-enu.exe), they clearly were not made to be slip-streamed into an XP installation cd. Their restrictive WGA policies further hinder integration.

Nuhi has done incredible work to even be able to get this thing to integrate, but IE7 on an XP cd will cause problems such as OOBE, sticky reboots, etc. These are because of M$, not Nuhi. Which is why I feel so strongly that a trimmed-down addon is ABSOLUTELY necessary.

Thank you.

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:14 am

The Man speaks truth...:)

slobodan
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:37 pm

Post by slobodan » Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:14 am

I saw somewhere a standalone version made of the IE 7 browser, Like you can run from a usb stick kinda thingy (can't remember where).
Personally I hate apps that integrate to deeply into the OS.
The fact that IE 7 does it (and perhaps even more than before) is truly a step in the wrong
direction.
Myself i'm an Opera fan cause of it's speed.
If I don't like it I simply uninstall it, then I don't need to be bothered by it anymore.
Not so with IE 7, once there, you might as well re-install the whole OS if you plan to
remove it...

User avatar
Yurek3
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: USA

Post by Yurek3 » Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:20 pm

Image

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Sun Dec 24, 2006 7:23 am

Any progress on this, or is only way via nLite


retalion
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:34 am

Post by retalion » Tue Dec 26, 2006 12:05 pm

underdone wrote:I've used Nlite to intergrate IE7 into XPPRO, Server 2003 and XP x64 it worked flawlessly with every version.
After installation you have checked your setuperr.log, haven´t you?

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:05 pm

IE7 + the one hotfix so far for it would make a nice addon. :)

bumpalu

arkan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 10:44 am

Post by arkan » Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:29 pm

hi..

i integraded my ie7 using nlite 1.2.1 .....

in section of addon....and well installation...

Post Reply