anyone working on IE7 Addon?

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
Madhav
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:35 am

anyone working on IE7 Addon?

Post by Madhav » Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:42 pm

Is anyone working on an Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Addon for XP which will completely Remove IE6 from the CD when integrated over? :rolleyes:

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:50 pm

I'm planning on making one once things settle down for me IRL (I've been insanely busy lately)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:47 pm

RyanVM wrote:I'm planning on making one once things settle down for me IRL (I've been insanely busy lately)
Sir Ryan we are waiting.......... 8)

Pawan

Jay
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:38 pm

Post by Jay » Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:56 pm

If only I knew how it was done :(

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:20 pm

Quite frankly, I have no clue how complicated IE7 is going to be. It could take me an afternoon or it could be an all-day project.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Tue Oct 31, 2006 8:37 pm

Ryan just wondering, why don't you incorporate IE7 completely into the update pack instead of making it an addon. I can understand making wmp an addon because maybe some people don't want it.

But IE is a core part of the OS and IE7 is more secure than IE6 so even if people use firefox instead I think it's better that they have IE7, so it should be part of the main pack. And the people that don't want IE at all are going to remove it anyways whether it be IE6 or IE7 they are removing.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:47 pm

The plan (as I've said here a few times already) is to release it as an addon first before adding it to the main pack.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
willpantin
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Newnan, GA, USA

Post by willpantin » Wed Nov 01, 2006 2:45 am

Integrating it seems to imply it won't check for Windows authenticity during install... Will it check AFTER completion? Or on first use?

If not, I wonder if Microsoft will be ok with any such integration. I hope so.

No one here advocates anything illegal; it is just that the fewer disruptions to our unnattended installs, the better...!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:22 am

They haven't cared yet and it wouldn't be the first component included where WGA scans are normally needed. As I see it, the user is still going to have to pass WGA for any future updates they get after installing Windows, so it's a wash as far as I'm concerned.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:33 pm

Right, so they pushed IE7 through MU as it appears now.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:29 pm

I've had IE7 show up in Automatic Updates since the day it was released on computers with IE7 RC installed on them. Just not on computers with the stock IE6 SP2.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:34 pm

Aye, but that's obvious. What I meant is that they pushed it now for XP SP2 IE6 users as well.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:36 pm

I didn't notice today myself, but then again there could be a difference in countries like the WGA Notifications thing I commented on in the other thread.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:47 pm

I must notice it's an optional software update, not a critical. ;)

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:54 am

ViVa wrote:I must notice it's an optional software update, not a critical. ;)
It is now a high-priority update, not optional. So it should be included in the main pack so that users who don't know how to or don't care to look for addons will not have high-priority updates remaining after install.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:08 pm

IF it's a critical update, it *should* be included in the main pack, but it only is a critical update if you have previous betas/rcs of IE7 installed.

XP SP2 + 2.1.3 update pack shows IE7 as an optional update.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:11 pm

Image

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:03 pm

I agree. It should be integrated into the main pack.

Either that, or IE (all versions and associated hotfixes) be stripped from the main pack and two addon packs offered for IE6 & IE7 (with hotfixes). That would slim down the main pack and give users the choice.
If it's possible of course. :lol:
Have fun playing with the installer.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:31 pm

may be optional for you Viva, but on my end/my customers end it IS a high-priority .. stupid M$ -sigh-

TechnoHunter

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:58 pm

On PC's running IE7 Beta's/RC's?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:01 pm

It's High-priority here as well. It's coming in through Automatic Updates on PCs without IE7 installed, beta or otherwise.

Image

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:33 pm

I had it too via automatic updates, that still doesn't make it high-priority 5eraph. Check your MU webpage. I sometimes get hardware updates via automatic updates, those aren't high-priority either, think of it.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:37 pm

Perhaps this image is more convincing than my words. The VM this is from does not have any variation of IE7 installed. :P

Image
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:39 pm

That is more convincing. ;)

W-E-I-R-D!

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:14 pm

ViVa wrote:That is more convincing. ;)

W-E-I-R-D!
Why is it weird viva? I don't think you are comprehending the fact that IE7 is now a high priority super-critical update.

http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=06/11/02/1424203

And for the 50th time no it does not matter if you have a beta version installed. :cry:

Lastly, since it is a high-priority update it WILL be included in the main update pack just as all other high-priority updates are.
The next update pack will have IE7 in it.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:28 pm

Obviously from the two screenshots posted (one of them mine) there's some inconsistency in how Microsoft is rolling it out, but I would not consider IE7 to be super-critical. I'd prefer that IE7 be optional from MS, personally; I barely use IE.

Besides, Protagonist, Ryan has already stated several times (and once in this thread) that it'll be an addon first. It could be in the Update Pack in a few months.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:32 pm

RyanVM wrote:The plan (as I've said here a few times already) is to release it as an addon first before adding it to the main pack.
Maybe we should read the thread from top to bottom :wink:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:48 pm

Protagonist. wrote:
ViVa wrote:That is more convincing. ;)

W-E-I-R-D!
Why is it weird viva? I don't think you are comprehending the fact that IE7 is now a high priority super-critical update.

http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=06/11/02/1424203

And for the 50th time no it does not matter if you have a beta version installed. :cry:

Lastly, since it is a high-priority update it WILL be included in the main update pack just as all other high-priority updates are.
The next update pack will have IE7 in it.
Wtf? Weird is that it pops up @ 5eraph as critical and it does not here.

User avatar
jessry
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: Australia

Post by jessry » Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:10 pm

After a clean install of XP, i also get IE7 as a high priority critical update, and i dont have any beta's or previous IE7 installed.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:27 pm

Haha, I just checked again and still optional @ MU. Freaks. :P Could it be just Europe?

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:26 am

you mean optional in europe? cause i am in the us of a here :) and alas.. high-priority update.. (stupid M$)

-grumble-

and yes.. this is with both machines using windows update AND microsoft update.. with plain vanilla windows xp and ryanVM's updatepack xp as well :)

nuts even

smc1979
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 3:52 am

fix

Post by smc1979 » Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:35 am

by default mine where coming up as a high pri. update.

after putting this key in before updating it moves it to optional downloads

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Setup\7.0]
"DoNotAllowIE70"=dword:00000001


just thought you would like to know

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:16 am

ooooh! pretty! thanks muchly!

TechnoHunter

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:16 am

Thank you, smc1979. :)

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:46 am

Any update on IE 7 addon ?

We are going off topic now.

Pawan

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:57 am

I just use nLite to integrate IE7...

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:08 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:I just use nLite to integrate IE7...
nLite integration method is not good, its make svc folder I think... and that takes more space in CD, takes more time to install.

Ryanvm integrate method is good, its overwrite new files on old one.

Am I wrong? suggest.........

Pawan

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:15 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:I just use nLite to integrate IE7...
Err, cough, choke, me too. The latest version of nLite finally passes all my requirements (it has to produce a result that conforms to Microsoft standards). As a bonus, nLite does not disable runonceex when integrating IE7. I still use RyanVM Integrator for almost everything else. I don't use nLite for unattended or tweaks and only use a very few of the safest removals. But, the final result conforms to standards.
Last edited by techtype on Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:29 pm

Will it going to be with next update pack (November version).........
Ryan sir, I check your site 3/4 times daily to find an update on IE7 addon........ :)
Please......

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:52 pm

I'm bet if you make a new post every day that he'll make it even faster.

User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

Post by Nightwolf81 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:44 pm

RogueSpear wrote:I'm bet if you make a new post every day that he'll make it even faster.
Yeh come on already. . . what more important. . . work or RyanVM IE7 addon pack v1.1 (as v1 will have all the flaws that microsoft haven't fixed yet). . .

I've heard they've made major advances in chryogennics mabey they could put me out until this happens?? :)

User avatar
Spiritus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:59 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by Spiritus » Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:08 am

Well I already integrate it with nLite and works fine. (Not installed on Computer, only on Virtual Machine) But I feel more confident and comfortable with Sir Ryans Addons :)

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:24 am

nLite integration method is not good, its make svc folder I think... and that takes more space in CD, takes more time to install.

Ryanvm integrate method is good, its overwrite new files on old one.

Am I wrong? suggest.........
I also use nLite and I see no IE files in svc...
However If I use nLite to intgrate all the add-ons ( RyanVM, Media Player, Zune DirectX and IE7 and some others ) I get an corrupted XP - no shortcuts in menu and no theme after boot, but programs are installed corectly. Works fine without IE integration, or If I integrate everything without IE and I integrate IE7 in an secon integration.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:52 pm

please dont post nlite issues here ....
this is not nlite forum....

roweezy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:58 pm

PLEASE. I BEG YOU.

Post by roweezy » Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:14 pm

ryanvm please do not include ie7 in the upcoming update pack. i understand earlier in this thread you said you wouldnt. however, due to some others begging for its inclusion, i beg for its exclusion.

look at all the various issues ie7-final users have. obviously ms is just rushing it out like vista. lets wait until there is a greater understanding of the ramifications of using ie7 (especially for 'corporate' programs like quickbooks) before it is included in the update pack.

thanks.

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Re: PLEASE. I BEG YOU.

Post by Protagonist. » Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:31 am

roweezy wrote:ryanvm please do not include ie7 in the upcoming update pack. i understand earlier in this thread you said you wouldnt. however, due to some others begging for its inclusion, i beg for its exclusion.

look at all the various issues ie7-final users have. obviously ms is just rushing it out like vista. lets wait until there is a greater understanding of the ramifications of using ie7 (especially for 'corporate' programs like quickbooks) before it is included in the update pack.

thanks.
I don't see the point of not including IE7 in the update pack because of one or two people out of thousands that have an issue because they are using a really old version of quickbooks and can't get their autoupdate thing to work. I'm sure that there's users who wish this was a post-sp1 update pack because they are still on SP1. So why isn't this a post-sp1 update pack? Because it's stupid to never progress because of a few people that are behind.

The people that have the issue can either not use the update pack if they refuse to upgrade their quickbooks, or they can use an old version of it (like 2.1.3).

I don't see the logic in decreasing the security for quite possibly hundreds of people that use the update pack but don't use addons and leaving them with a high priority update after install, for the extreme minority that have a minor issue with IE7.

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:52 am

About the where it is and isn't high priority, here (Canada) it's Optional, but I set up the blocker registry key. Do any Americans have it as an Optional update? Microsoft might just have it as High Priority down there.

the_guy

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:59 am

It becomes optional with the blocker key. ;)

Did you apply the key before or after checking MU?

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:18 am

before checking.

I checked on a VPC after posting, and it was critical.

the_guy

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:17 pm

Any of the addon pro's going to attempt an IE7 addon?

Ryan's might be a while so I think a lot of people would enjoy having an IE7 addon from someone.

Post Reply