Addon pack qeustions.

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Addon pack qeustions.

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:55 am

Mainly for RyanVM and Siginet:

When building addon packs at the point where it says:

[dosnet_files]
d1,%addonscab%
d1,%addonsinf%

;This section contains entries that need to go into the [SourceDisksFiles] section of txtsetup.sif
[txtsetup_files]
%addonscab%= 100,,,,,,_x,,3,3
%addonsinf%= 100,,,,,,,20,0,0

Shouldn't the variables here be unique for every pack to avoid paradoxes?
If every addon pack uses the same variable won't some be ignored or not implemented?

Also in this line:

;This section contains entries that need to go into the [Components] section of sysoc.inf
[sysoc]
HTAddons=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,%addonsinf%,HIDE,7

What if the pack that is being built does not have a .inf file?
What should be used in place of the %addonsinf% variable (nlite seems to need this entry now to work).
The royale pack I buit does not have an .inf and in the first 2 versions I ommited this line. However I had to add this line for it to work with nlite 1.0 rc1.


I really love the ability to make custom addon packs and am ready to build some more but I need these questions answered first please...

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:32 am

With the integrator I made it so that if you do not need a certain section you do not have to have it in the entries.ini file. Also the way the integrator works you shouldn't matter if you use the same variable in seperate entrie files. Because it reads them 1 by one. If you had 3 addons you were installing it would read the first entries file by alphabetical order. It would read the variable set in that entrie file and integrate it... then it would go to the next entrie file and set that variable and integrate it... so on and so fourth.

I can't speak for NLite. That would be a question for nuhi.

BTW don't forget to look at this section:
;This section contains the variables used for the RyanVM filenames
[filenames]
addonscab=addons.cab
addonsinf=addons.inf

You would want to make sure the files here are named different. In each pack. You would basically name them addonscab=WGAaddons.cab or whatever you want. A good habit to use would be to name this file after what the packs name is.
But the variable can be the same in every entrie file. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:48 am

[filenames]
addonscab=addons.cab
addonsinf=addons.inf

Oh so this section denotes the value for the variables right?

It just seemed to me if they all had been named so similar that there would be a conflict.

Ok now I get that but what about here:

HTAddons=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,%addonsinf%,HIDE,7

What value should be used in here if no inf exists???

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:53 am

By the way thank you very much!!!

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:03 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:By the way thank you very much!!!
If you aren't using an inf... I don't think you need to add that line.

I could be wrong. Like I've said before... I haven't learned everything about making a pack yet. But I don't think it's needed.

BTW... Great questions! :D
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:08 am

My pack would not work with the new nlite untill I added that line.

Thanx again I am going to do quit a bit of my stuff I had previously done on my cd's this way it makes it waaay to easy to pick and choose I love it!!!

P.S. Can you make a sticky and put all of the created addon packs in it for ease of access to others as I have more coming and I am sure others will come.

User avatar
Paul_365
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:38 am

Post by Paul_365 » Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:22 am

Create a blank inf file and include it in your pack, point that variable to the blank image so Nlite is kept happy.

When windows processes the sysoc file it should hand off to the the blank file, do nothing, return and carry on with its business.

If the Blank file fails or causes an error then try adding

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature=$Windows NT$

[Optional Components]
To the file, or try it like that to start with.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:20 am

Good Idea tahnks.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:55 am

Kelsenellenelvian and siginet thanxs, i`ve learned a few more things here :D

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:07 pm

Paul_365 wrote:Create a blank inf file and include it in your pack, point that variable to the blank image so Nlite is kept happy.

When windows processes the sysoc file it should hand off to the the blank file, do nothing, return and carry on with its business.

If the Blank file fails or causes an error then try adding

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature=$Windows NT$

[Optional Components]
To the file, or try it like that to start with.
That's a great Idea! I will make a sticky that will list all of the custom packs. :)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Post Reply