[Method] SpeedUp!

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat May 17, 2008 3:11 am

i dont understand now

previously i did things like this

ALL rvm integrations including this addon
I then make changes to winnt.sif and other unattended setup
then driverpack

unless you mean, integrate driverpack first.. then this addon?

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat May 17, 2008 3:16 am

;additional for diverpacks some laptop computers need the sata-Drivers to load at text mode!

please explain this section also what we need to do.. i notice its commented out

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat May 17, 2008 3:38 am

updated! two versions one for driverpack user
biatche wrote: please explain this section also what we need to do.. i notice its commented out
added some notes to the the entries file

efrain
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Philippines

Post by efrain » Tue May 20, 2008 1:46 am

Nice addon! works like a charm.

skrell
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:12 pm

Post by skrell » Wed May 21, 2008 9:08 am

i dont understand which one would i use for nlite?

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 21, 2008 7:52 pm

;txtsetup.sif|dac960nt.sys,4|dac960nt.sys,4,noload|1
;txtsetup.sif|mraid35x.sys,4|mraid35x.sys,4,noload|1
;txtsetup.sif|ultra.sys,4|ultra.sys,4,noload|1
;txtsetup.sif|dpti2o.sys,4|dpti2o.sys,4,noload|1
;txtsetup.sif|ql12160.sys,4|ql12160.sys,4,noload|1
;txtsetup.sif|dac2w2k.sys,4|dac2w2k.sys,4,noload|1

any reason you commented these out now? why these particular 6 files?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 22, 2008 4:02 am

skrell, these are for RVMI only

biatche, in SpeedUp -Post_DP this files pre-exist on the cd & updated after you had used driverpack slipstreamer
so these are treated as the rest of updates

for the regular release (none Post_DP)
i left it that way for evaluation so i may revert that.. but later. feel free to uncomment them as you will.

lsrkin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by lsrkin » Wed May 28, 2008 1:38 am

Terminal Services get removed(or not installed) because of this addon. Also Uberpack and CPLbonus addons(by Kel) don't install. So does IE7 by MrNxDmX).

I use WinXp Pro SP3; didn't use nlite(didn't remove drivers, components) - just integrated addons uisng RVMIntegrator 1.5.3
Without DP;
Checked several times on VM(mentioned that fast user switching wasn't working and saw terminal services missing, registry key for ts gone too)
When i integrated all my rest addons(the same as before) without this one, everything was fine.

So that's kind of problematic speedup :\.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Wed May 28, 2008 7:22 am

I'm not sure whats happening with your install lsrkin, but I use this, and have had no problems what so ever! I'm sitting here typing this out using the same IE7 addon that you have said does not install after you use this addon, after playing with some of Kels control panel addons!

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 28, 2008 8:08 am

im sure its just you having these problems.... the root of your issue has to be something else.. you best explain fuly what you integrate

lsrkin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by lsrkin » Wed May 28, 2008 1:35 pm

I integrate:

RED_XP_SP3_UpdatePack_2.1.0.7z
VMware_Tools_AddOn.cab
DotNetFx_All_In_1_Addon_v2.1.7z
DirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.3.4_-_redxii.7z
ENU_AddOns_SpeedUp_1.5.zip
ENU_Addons_BVProSvcDescriptions_SP3.7z
PatchAddon_SYSSETUP_InfSkip_v14.7z
PatchAddon_UXTHEME_v14a.7z
PatchAddon_SFC_OS_v14.7z
PatchAddon_HIVESYS-1280x1024.7z
Ricks_BlueXP_SP3_taskmgr_TweakedAddon.7z
Ricks_GenuineAdvantage_AddOn_80411.7z
BootMod (/usepmtimer add) addon
KELS_CPLBONUS_ADDON_V8.2.4.7z
KELS_UBER_ADDON_V12.5.7z
NR_IE7en_Addon_1.1.0.7z
Kels_Runtimes_addon_v4.2.CAB

Can PatchAddon_SYSSETUP_InfSkip_v14.7z be a reason? I didn't integrated it too last time when it was fine.

Took it from http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2274

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 28, 2008 2:19 pm

close enough

try, with out BVProSvcDescriptions_ for now

i found some weird thing going on with this ,something with how the inf is applied and what it is changing, probably a typo

will look into it

lsrkin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by lsrkin » Wed May 28, 2008 2:24 pm

I disabled it too last time, but mmm didn't even think that reg file could've done this 0_o.

TY!

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 28, 2008 3:12 pm

well looking back at it again it seems to work fine
i am currently using a modified BVProSvcDescriptions addon which got me puzzled there for a minute sorry

you can integrate each addon on its own if the issues are absent go on integrating the others ...start with speedup ;)

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 28, 2008 4:46 pm

use winrar or some archiver to test each addon file.. one of those files might possibly be broken

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 28, 2008 4:47 pm

one more thing, make speedup your very last integration

lsrkin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by lsrkin » Wed May 28, 2008 8:22 pm

Tested on VM with SpeedUp addon and the rest i already mentioned without BVDESCRIPTIONS and everything went OK!!!

There's some problem with BvDesckriptions addon(already pmed ENU_user my theory)

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Thu May 29, 2008 2:11 am

Why do you use the BootMod (/usepmtimer add) addon? This addon was a fix to a problem with SP2, this issue was addressed in SP3, so you really should not use this addon anymore.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Thu May 29, 2008 4:00 am

stimpy you don't say.. /usepmtimer isn't required anymore in sp3?!?! ive been using it on every pc i format lol that's dual core

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Thu May 29, 2008 8:17 am

That's right, MS fixed dual-core behaviour in SP3, it is in the list of SP3 fixes, but I don't have it to hand. Plus I can confirm that my system plays games properly without this patch, that before SP3, needed the /usepmtimer option.

Hope this helps.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Thu May 29, 2008 8:39 am

i've been googling to see where it states that SP3 doesn't require usepmtimer anymore, but I can't find it anywhere... as far as i can see, this KB896256 or something is included in SP3, but what it does is, it adds /usepmtimer to the boot.ini file .. mind showing me relevant links that SP3 doesn't require this usepmtimer switch anymore?

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Thu May 29, 2008 8:58 am

You have me thinking Biatche, and I have to admit that beyond MS including the hotfix in to SP3, as well as a kernel update that was aimed at fixing power management features on multicore CPUs, I can't actually find anyone saying that this swich is needed or not, so I have to say I am confused.

Fragbert
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:59 am

Post by Fragbert » Thu May 29, 2008 9:34 am

Easy way to test is to run a benchmark with and without the switch.

lsrkin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by lsrkin » Thu May 29, 2008 11:42 am

Thx for usefull info, Stimpy! Will test without /usepmtimer switch.

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Thu May 29, 2008 6:48 pm

First, thanks for the time that was put into this addon! :)

Question...
I didn't have much time to look over the addon, but it looks like it just expands all the .sys files... is this true? and if so, can't we just change the coding to expand the sys files?

Also, would there be any advantages to just expanding everything in the root of the I386 folder?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 29, 2008 9:25 pm

only a few drivers that are loading the setup can be expanded and the other SCSI ones loading in text mode, whether they are to be loaded or not ...
the setup doesn't agree with having more then these few expanded ..

the rest are on their way to the HD like "copy" & expand does a good job transferring the files &so ..

maveric73ph
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Asia

Post by maveric73ph » Sat May 31, 2008 10:49 am

Since this is only usable via the integrator, can anyone please post another link or send me by email Siginet's RVMi 1.53??? (maveric73ph@yahoo.com). I can't seem to download the rar file from Siginet's site. I have tried all day with different browsers to no avail. I am now very desperate. I need to create a new XPCD tomorrow morning for a job. Thanks!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat May 31, 2008 11:20 am

Email sent, maveric73ph. You also have a PM.

User avatar
rsadix
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:33 pm

Post by rsadix » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:37 pm

I need to use nLite to integrate a particular promise sata driver that I use (or else I can't install onto my 'c' drive), and I'm not interested in the driver packs.

Should I use the DP version of Speed up or does it matter ?
Whether you think you can or you can't, you are always right.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:40 pm

as long as ",noload" isn't applied to you're drive's
when needing the specific sata drives to load i could say you are safe.

if you are not using DP you can use the standard version of SpeedUp addon
DP actually updates some original files,disabling them from loading will be pointless .... thats why the PostDP version is offered...

Ktrapz
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:45 pm

Post by Ktrapz » Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:59 am

are there any drivers that were added by sp3 that are not pre-expand after this addon? or it expands all possible drivers during setup

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:04 am

AFAICR, if sp3 holds any extra files ,they are referenced to be processed in this addon.
if in reference; (in edits) there are files that point to sp2 & missing on sp3 then they aren't intended for sp3 but sp2 ...etc
either way , the addon should be pretty compatible for both sp's

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:11 am

i have a question about Post_DP Slipstream. it has the word post in it, so i take that to mean i have to integrate this after driver packs? what happens if i did it before the driver packs? or does it matter the order?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:39 am

ccl0, you got it all right!

the only way available is to integrate it after slipstreaming the sata driverpack.
in short: doing this otherwise will screw both speed_up and driverpacks settings and most likely the setup.

User avatar
Jamshed_11946
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:34 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by Jamshed_11946 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:27 pm

Hi.ENU_user
thanks for this nice addon but i have stupid question that is this addon compatible with xp sp3 5512???

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:45 pm

Jamshed, I could not tell you about the addon specifically, however the method is compatible with sp3. The "method" just allows the textmode setup to not load certain drivers when first starting up.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:54 pm

Jamshed YWC , yea absolutely compatible, with SP2 as well!

Salad
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:48 am

Post by Salad » Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:56 am

Can I use this method with DP MassStorage nightly build ?

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:21 pm

Salad wrote:Can I use this method with DP MassStorage nightly build ?
Does the "DP MassStorage" add additional textmode drivers to your startup?

Mostly what this addon does is reduce the amount of textmode drivers loading so that the setup process is quicker. If you need some of those drivers that this addon tells the setup not to load, that might cause trouble.

Now, you can probably use this addon with added drivers, however the easiest way to find out is just to test it. Use a VM if you have to.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Salad
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:48 am

Post by Salad » Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:47 pm

Okay I understood what I need to do
Thanks

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:40 pm

Topic updated ..
Last edited by ENU_user on Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:30 am, edited 22 times in total.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Nov 20, 2008 4:07 am

removed

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:02 pm

SpeedUp Addon wont work with DP Nightlies - http://driverpacks.sytes.net/driverpacks/Nightlies/
When this addon integrated after DP - there are many "xxx.sys" not found. W/o addon all works fine. (DPMS addon was used sure)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:33 pm

ok, will change it to work with nightly version as well ...

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Dec 15, 2008 5:56 pm

there is now an update for the post_DPMS_speedup_addon to work with the Nightlies build. ;)

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:24 am

hey ENU_user is there a way to use this after an install? i completely forgot about this addon you made and only remembered after i had finished installing (i always seem to forget something lol)

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:46 am

ccl0 wrote:hey ENU_user is there a way to use this after an install?
After INSTALL??? This addon decreases time of 1st text phase of install, after there is no need for it.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:29 pm

its just the FIRST???? (see i can post in caps and use exaggerated number of question marks too) i thought it was something to help speed up boot times

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:11 pm

ccl0, the intent of the addon is to reduce the amount of drivers loaded *only* when starting up the install program for windows.

If you have already installed windows, then this addon will not do you any good. You may need to look other places for information regarding reducing your boot up time.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:19 pm

(at the very beginning of the setup) this only aids speeding-up quite noticeably the text phase along with the extraction-"copy" of files to the system disk (in preparing the setup )

after which the pc reboots to start the windows system setup install (from the system-Disk) .. where everything continues as usual ...

Post Reply