[Addon] Updates for RVM Update Pack 2.1.11 (R13: 2007-09-06)

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Locked
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:34 am

...what exactly's the problem there?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

jeckhack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by jeckhack » Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:33 pm

hi Ryan : )
the "problem" is that i don't know what version of directx i have. i remember that you made directx as addon pack, but i didnt' use it this time i created cd, and it still looks like i had latest ver. of dx after win installing . strange...
Russian Mafia :)

User avatar
joll69
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:59 pm

Post by joll69 » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:25 pm

@jeckhack
you're lookin on the 'directx files' tab, the version is listed on the bottom of the 'system' tab. My version, for example, is 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904).

and even though it will probably say 9.0c, directx is updated every 2 months (usually) for the developers. It's not requried to install these updated dx9 files, but some games do require them.

i prefer to install the updated files. I'm weird that way. :P
Dok's Law: The simplicity of a solution is directly proportionate to its elusiveness.

jeckhack
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by jeckhack » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:58 pm

thx joll :)

Look. 4.09.0000.0904 = dx9c. if you go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Directx you can see in release history that 4.09.0000.0904 started in 2004 and there're bimonthly files updates which do not change that number.
--
Problem is in that i installed latest august direct x pack, then compared directx files versions with non-updated directx on other machine since xp sp2 released ( :) ) and there're no changes. Why ?
Russian Mafia :)

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:05 pm

@RougeSpear,

Interesting your synopsis of NTKRNLMP.EXE is missing or corrupt......I have been getting this error intermittently, and very rarely, since I upgraded to E6850 C2D and Gigabyte GA n680SLI DQ6. I run two 150G raptors striped 64KB...now...and have never had this error before on any of my previous setups; ASUS A8N32SLI Deluxe and an AMD FX55 Clawhammer and so on; same HDD-before 150G I ran four 74G Raptors, etc.
The error occurs after post and as Windows is loading; of course the system crashes and a forced reset is required. That said, the system always boots normally to Windows-XP Pro, SP2-after the first and only reset. I usually see this error some time after a fresh install and then it either disappears or, at most, recurrs two or three times there after. There are no entries in any of the system logs, of course, and a thorough checkdisk reveals no bad sectors or MBR errors. I, therefore, concluded that the source of this concern for me is the BIOS; which Gigabyte has told me through there support, will be updated, basically, when there good and ready!. I can no longer run my tried and true Terabyte software with no worries since this Gigabyte contraption. I am going to upgrade again to an X38 motherboard-ASUS-in a couple of months and will report back.
.....as you say those kinds of errors are most likely hardware, all else being equal.....

User avatar
joll69
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:59 pm

Post by joll69 » Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:15 am

@jeckhack
no clue :?
Dok's Law: The simplicity of a solution is directly proportionate to its elusiveness.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:54 am

Neu Security Update is out:
KB931906
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=931906

DeaDruiD
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Post by DeaDruiD » Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:30 am

huh, that security update isn't meant for xp, or is it?

also, new (or at least newer than the one in R13) root certificates update is available.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:44 pm

UPS yes KB931906 v2 is for BizTalk Server.
mmm strange that Windows says i should install this, because i don't have BizTalk Server.

User avatar
wazer
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:08 am

Post by wazer » Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:53 pm

code65536 Will you please update it to r14, i just goddamn love ryanvms packed and yours. It dosnt seem to me that ryan is back yet?, so why not spend the few minutes on your guys brilliant work.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Sep 28, 2007 4:28 pm

why bother with an update now when the october patches are coming out in a week or so?

User avatar
wazer
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:08 am

Post by wazer » Fri Sep 28, 2007 7:08 pm

newsposter wrote:why bother with an update now when the october patches are coming out in a week or so?
Yeah sorry your right forgot about that, im just so upset because i love there work :)

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:10 am

Yet another dependant..
The Man from Aus

CarlBerg
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:49 am

Post by CarlBerg » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:40 am

im sorry but is this update pack different in anyway from ryan's?

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:54 am

READ the first post! it's and update to Ryan's update pack... Those two must be installed together.
If you see dinosaurs, stop using drugs. But, if you don't use drugs, GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!

Broly10000
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:41 pm

Post by Broly10000 » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:55 am

Yes, it is meant as an update to ryan's pack integrated as an addon along with ryan's pack.


Edit: My answer entered a few seconds late

CarlBerg
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:49 am

Post by CarlBerg » Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:44 pm

yes i knew that but i was asking if this update pack is different in a way which not updates all ryan updates usually
i mean to ask if this update pack updates just the important stuff (microsoft updates) or also the basic stuff that ryan did (shockwave and others) ?

User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

Post by DizzyDen » Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:53 am

This is an update to Ryan's UpdatePack.... it makes the UPDATE pack current and has nothing to do with Ryan's other ADDON packs
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:58 am

wtf men.. be gratefull, thankful for these packs & a nuff chitter chatter. Simple search will tell ya how to use em & with what.

Cheers
The Man from Aus

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

WScript 5.7 Oddities

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Oct 07, 2007 5:21 pm

I've come across something a little strange when I integrate WScript 5.7 into my source. It took me quite a while to discover this because I don't do too many installs on units with a floppy drive enabled anymore.

My post setup scripts, which are all in VBscript, search for an .ini file in the root of all available drive letters. It seems that computers with an enabled floppy drive will always throw the following:
Image
I've Googled it and haven't come across anything helpful. If I don't integrate WSH5.7 the error does not pop up, so it seems to be isolated to WSH5.7.

Here are some additional strange findings: usually when there is an error in the script itself you get a dialog with what the error is and the line number in the script. And the script is toast at that point. With this it does not seem to be throwing a WSH error at all. It seems OS level because if I hit "Continue" the script will carry along like nothing happened. Also this isn't confined to RunOnceEx - it will happen if execute one of these scripts by double clicking on it or via command line post RunOnceEx.

Considering the shoddy workmanship in the WScript 5.7 package by Microsoft as outlined by Code, I'm wondering if this is yet another bug. On the flip side, if this is going to be included in XP SP3, is it a part of some new security mechanism?

kof94
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: UK

Post by kof94 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 2:48 pm

I've also seen this error but only on systems that have an internal card reader (SD, XD, CF etc) connected and I didn't integrate WSH5.7.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:50 pm

Heres another way to make sure Windows Update link does not get added (tested works 100% of the time)
Added to the RVMUpPck.inf it edits syssetup.inf during windows setup.

Code: Select all

[RVMUpdatePack]
UpdateInis = WU.DelShortcut

[WU.DelShortcut]
%17%\syssetup.inf,StartMenuCommon,%%windowsupdate%%=*
%17%\syssetup.inf,Strings,windowsupdate=*
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:05 pm

kof94 wrote:I've also seen this error but only on systems that have an internal card reader (SD, XD, CF etc) connected and I didn't integrate WSH5.7.
In my search for answers regarding this issue, I saw a lot of discussion about what you describe, except it's a different set gibberish in the dialog box. This is actually another reason that it seems like an OS level error as opposed to a WSH error. Whatever is throwing up the error seems to be the same component (not WSH). The error that you describe unfortunately seems to be so prevelant that it made my searching a bit difficult. But I can say for certain that with everything else being identical, WSH5.7 is the difference between error and no error.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:33 pm

does WSH 5.7 update the PnP drivers at all?

kof94
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: UK

Post by kof94 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:17 am

RogueSpear wrote:
kof94 wrote:I've also seen this error but only on systems that have an internal card reader (SD, XD, CF etc) connected and I didn't integrate WSH5.7.
In my search for answers regarding this issue, I saw a lot of discussion about what you describe, except it's a different set gibberish in the dialog box. This is actually another reason that it seems like an OS level error as opposed to a WSH error. Whatever is throwing up the error seems to be the same component (not WSH). The error that you describe unfortunately seems to be so prevelant that it made my searching a bit difficult. But I can say for certain that with everything else being identical, WSH5.7 is the difference between error and no error.
Fair enough, I gave up looking for a complete answer with my issue since so few PC's I come into contact with have card readers anyway.

Sorry if this has convoluted your search RoughSpear, I couldn't exactly remember the error code (gibberish) just the error message.

Happy hunting.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:41 am

Has this Addon been abondoned or can we look forward to an update with this months hotfixes?
Last edited by Sanjay on Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:04 am

Just for you Sanjay. The rest of us have access to the addon via a secret web site.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:11 am

newsposter wrote:Just for you Sanjay. The rest of us have access to the addon via a secret web site.
Very funny. Ha! Ha!
I did not suggest that an update was available, all I asked was "Will one be made?". The question still stands.

User avatar
c400
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:15 am

Post by c400 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:18 am

newsposter wrote:Just for you Sanjay. The rest of us have access to the addon via a secret web site.
really Very funny. But i am also interested about updates

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:42 pm

Can somebody post links to any official/unofficial updates they think should be in this updatepack update addon?

Let me see what I can do (I can make it but I am not really sure what updates to add)

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:56 pm

Be careful Ricktendo! There are types in here that don't like these sort of offers :twisted:

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:07 pm

Here are the Official October Updates:

Microsoft® Windows® Malicious Software Removal Tool (KB890830)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... b8eb148356
Security Update for Outlook Express for Windows XP (KB941202)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer for Windows XP Service Pack 2 (KB939653)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
Security Update for Windows XP (KB933729)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
Windows Update Engine v7.0.6000.381
http://xable.net/board/index.php?showtopic=49
Cannot find this update at the original Microsoft Website.

And this Updates are for the Windows Components (Like FAX, IIS ...):

Security Update for Windows XP (KB926247)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
Security Update for Windows XP (KB939373)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
Security Update for Windows XP (KB917537)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

User avatar
TripleA
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:38 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Post by TripleA » Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:43 pm

I just did a fresh install using my unattended CD with RVM v2.1.11 and update pack R13 to check what updates show on Windows Update.

Stimpy's list pretty much covers everything. There is just one other optional update (KB920342), but it requires WGA verification. I don't think those are integeratable, right...?

An updated release would be most appreciated indeed, if someone who can cook it could find the time to do it.

Thanks!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:53 pm

That update is included in the Update Pack, TripleA.

Just be patient, everybody. The wheels are turning.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:45 pm

don't forget the sept fixes.....

User avatar
kontini
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:00 am

Post by kontini » Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:55 pm

I think the last three will be not included, two seem obsolete and the third requires a component not included in XPCD.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Re: WScript 5.7 Oddities

Post by roirraW "edor" » Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:51 pm

RogueSpear wrote:I've come across something a little strange when I integrate WScript 5.7 into my source. It took me quite a while to discover this because I don't do too many installs on units with a floppy drive enabled anymore.
I haven't gotten this error on any of the 3+ machines (with floppies enabled) that I've integrated WScript 5.7 on.

User avatar
kontini
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:00 am

Post by kontini » Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:38 am

@5eraph: only for knowledge:
NEW EDIT:
I've created the italian RVMUP and my changelog since code65536's addon R13 is:
KB932823 - Replaced KB938032
KB933729 - Replaced KB925623
KB935879 - Replaced KB927802
KB936071 - Replaced KB932597
KB936357 - Updated to v2
KB937357 - Replaced KN906866 (Obsolete KB924270)
KB939653 - Replaced KB937143
KB939786 - Replaced KB916595
KB941133 - Replaced KB925066
KB941183 - Replaced KB933579; Updated MSXML 6
KB941202 - Partially updated KB929123
KB941248 - Replaced kb941598
KB941603 - Partially updated KB925876
KB941715 - Replaced KB933876
KB941833 - Replaced KB936181; Updated MSXML 4
KB941837 - Partially updated KB884575
KB941880 - Replaced KB939884
September 25 Root Certificates Update
Stubbed the Malicious Software Removal Tool (version: 1.34)

I hope this will help you during creation of new pack.
Last edited by kontini on Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:05 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: WScript 5.7 Oddities

Post by RogueSpear » Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:31 am

[quote="roirraW "edor""]
RogueSpear wrote:I've come across something a little strange when I integrate WScript 5.7 into my source. It took me quite a while to discover this because I don't do too many installs on units with a floppy drive enabled anymore.
I haven't gotten this error on any of the 3+ machines (with floppies enabled) that I've integrated WScript 5.7 on.[/quote]
Are you running any scripts that query the floppy drive?

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Re: WScript 5.7 Oddities

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:37 am

RogueSpear wrote:Are you running any scripts that query the floppy drive?
False alarm I guess :oops: , I didn't realize that was a part of what caused the problem to rear up. I'll read more closely next time! :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 am

kontini wrote:@5eraph: only for knowledge:
I've created the italian RVMUP and my changelog since code65536's addon R13 is:
KB931678 - Replaced KB938032
KB933729 - Replaced KB925623
KB939653 - Replaced KB937143
KB939786 - Replaced KB916595
KB941183 - Replaced KB933579; Updated MSXML 6
KB941202 - Partially updated KB929123
KB941248 - Replaced kb941598
KB941715 - Replaced KB933876
KB941833 - Replaced KB936181; Updated MSXML 4
KB941837 - Partially updated KB884575
KB941880 - Replaced KB939884
September 25 Root Certificates Update
Stubbed the Malicious Software Removal Tool (version: 1.34)

I hope this will help you during creation of new pack.
Thanks kontini but sorry guys looks like were going to have to wait for code or ryan to come back

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:04 pm

does Flash registration issue, when integrating with nLite, still occurs when integrating with latest nLite RC?

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:52 pm

Thy all go away. :cry:

@OuTman
YES

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:30 pm

Try changing

Code: Select all

[Flash.Register]
11,Macromed\Flash,Flash9d.ocx,1
To

Code: Select all

[Flash.Register]
11,,regsvr32.exe,,,"/s %11%\Macromed\Flash\Flash9d.ocx"

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:05 pm

When is code or ryan coming back. :?

FrizzleFry
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:32 pm

Post by FrizzleFry » Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:45 pm

OuTman wrote:does Flash registration issue, when integrating with nLite, still occurs when integrating with latest nLite RC?
Yes.

nuhi is aware of the issue so hopefully it will be fixed before nLite goes final.

nLite Forum

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:21 am

I wouldn't count on it! There are many outstanding bugs with nLite. about 10% of the reg tweeks dont work, and on a clean XP SP2 cd image, I get this extra account turn up after Windows finnishes setup, meaning that I have 2 user accounts, and have to delete it from within Windows after. Also every now and then, nLite spits out a CD Image that is slightly corrupt with a handful of missing files.

Please don't take this as me disrespecting Nuhi, as nLite is a fantasic idea, and Nuhi is a very talented guy, and i'm sure he will get on top of these things one day.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:40 am

If ther is a ASPNET account. Then it is normal if you include Framework 1.1

Command to disable this account is:
Net user ASPNET /active:no

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sat Oct 13, 2007 1:31 pm

Thanks for the info Outbreaker. But that is not the account name, I think it is called private or user or something like that. It's been a month or 2 since I last tried nLite. But the error I got a month ago was the same as what I used to get intermittantly about 6 months ago using nLite, and this problem has been mentioned by others on the nLite forum, but most bugs that are mentioned over there seem to get ignored, or at least buried by other posts.

I will give it another try once the final 1.4 comes out. But it's been a long time since I have seen any of the bugs in the reg tweeks get addressed.

User avatar
TripleA
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:38 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Post by TripleA » Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:20 am

5eraph wrote:That update is included in the Update Pack, TripleA.
So it is...

I wonder why it still shows on Windows Update for me, then...? We'll see.

Thanks.

Locked